• Pu Xiang Vegetarian 普香素食

  • (9)
    31
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Vegan-friendly
Chinese
Fast food
Take-out

A vegetarian stall located in the red section of Chinatown Complex Food Centre serves fried mee hoon, fried rice, mixed hor fun, sliced "fish" mee hoon, hokkien mee (noodles), shredded "chicken" vermicelli. Open Mon-Sun 6:30am-2:30pm.


Venue map for Pu Xiang Vegetarian 普香素食
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by vegan mikal

acinomonix

Points +108

Mostly Veg
18 Aug 2023

Good food, lots of choices

Came here for lunch the other day and there was a line! Lots of choices, all looked good. I just pointed to 3 viands plus 1 spring roll, for me they tasted great!

Advertisement

r.lopes

Points +304

Vegan
07 Aug 2023

Ok food in a food court

Food stall in a busy market. Was not the tastiest asian food we have had, but noodles were ok (although not warm).

Pros: Price, Some of the flavours were nice, Nice to see a V option in food market

Cons: Not warm, A bit dry

ATWIVE

Points +243

Vegan
17 May 2023

AMAZING authentic plant-based food

This Hawker Centre has a great atmosphere, and the Vegetarian Stall has so many vegan options. The mock meat is homemade and really delicious - and the price is so cheap for a big plate full of tasty, authentic, plant-based goodness.

Check out our full reviews here:
VIDEO: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ECAmfNtMtAg
BLOG: https://www.aroundtheworldinveganeats.com/post/top-places-to-eat-vegan-in-singapore

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-15

SharonChua蔡妼㛔

Points +19745

Vegetarian
12 Sep 2021

Wok hei fried bee hoon

Saw everyone is queueing and ordering their bee hoon, so i decided to take away their bee hoon mee with 3 dishes ($3 only), surprisingly their bee hoon got very strong wok-hei, very delicious, mee tastes normal. They do sell vegetarian chicken rice on every Thursday and Sunday as well, close on Saturday.

ChuaKahgay

Points +66

Vegetarian
10 Aug 2020

Economic Tasty Meals

$3.00 for rice/noodle/beehoon with 3 choice of side dishes. Economy and tasty. Warm friendly staffs.

restoringshalom

Points +82

Vegan
23 Jun 2020

Mixed vegetarian rice and noodle store in Chinatown

Friendly staff, great options, delicious food in the heart of Chinatown. What more can one ask for?

hitchcube

Points +55

Vegetarian
19 Oct 2018

Local & friendly

Run by a couple of very friendly & local Cantonese/ Mandarin/ English speaking middle age women who would patiently listen & customise your order - more/ less noodles, rice, tofu, chilli, veg etc. Very inexpensive dishes starting at $2.50, so I usually order more. No MSG aftertaste.

Pros: friendly service, tasty food, local market

Cons: food portions can be small for large eaters, so or

Ilana99

Points +13

Vegetarian
03 Jun 2015

All great

I concur with the first reviewer, just updating that it's still the case! Great food, friendly staff, agree that the $2.50 version was more like a snack so I had a second (opportunity to try more flavours!) which I struggled to finish so all round great deal. In a food court so you have the atmosphere of all the other eateries

vegan mikal

Points +542

Vegan
23 Aug 2013

Get there early!

The food level at the Chinatown Complex has to be one of the most popular in Singapore. There are so many food stalls that one can easily get lost! We stumbled across this lovely buffet venue after finding another veggie stall (which is a la carte) just a few stalls down from it closed. Little did we know that we had actually struck gold!

All the food, apart from the daily special, is prepared in the morning and stands in the display case (not bain-marie) until sold, so by the time we got there at midday, the food was lukewarm, not hot. However, this is the practice at this type of stall all around Asia, and should not be viewed as dangerous to the diner.

The display case contained a selection of mock-meat dishes, one tofu dish, some vegetable dishes, and a range of deep-fried snacks. Three buffet choices plus rice (white or brown) cost a super-low $2.50, though such a plate would have clearly not been very satisfying for lunch. Therefore, I asked for a sample of all the dishes that took my fancy, and my huge plate cost only $5.20, with some healthy herb broth thrown in for good measure free of charge. Overall, all the food was quite healthy - low in oil, definitely low in sugar (an oft-used ingredient in Asian buffets) - and quite flavorsome.

Most of the people running the stall spoke reasonable English, and we had no problems ordering or finding out the ingredients of our meals. All the food is vegan.

By the time we left at 12.30pm, the food had almost run out. I would recommend coming here for a brunch or an early lunch. There would be little food left by 1.00pm.

Drinks (such as juices) are available all around the complex, local desserts are found on the corner of this level four stalls away, and there is even a fresh tofu dessert stall just nearby.

On the whole, the Chinatown Complex, despite being a mad, 'watch-where-you're-going' kind of place, is a heaven for lovers of meat-free food, whether for a quick snack or a three course meal (sourced from various stalls).
Updated from previous review on Friday August 23, 2013

Pros: Tasty food, English-speaking staff, Very low prices

Cons: Food runs out by 1pm




This page has been viewed 9058 times.