• Providence NZ

  • (21)
    Loading...
  • Health-food-store Health Store
    Vegan
Western
Fast food
Salad bar
Take-out
Bakery
Fusion
Australian

Specialty foods grocery store with fresh fruits and vegetables and a variety of plant-based organic products. Reported no longer a cafe as of Dec '22. Est. 2019 originally as Taste and See NZ (same ownership). Previously located at 2 Normanby St. Open Tue 10:00am-4:00pm, Wed 10:00am-6:00pm, Thu 10:00am-4:00pm, Fri 10:00am-3:00pm. Closed Sat-Mon.


Venue map for Providence NZ
© OpenStreetMap contributors

21 Reviews

First Review by DonnaPatterson

wasabipea

Points +966

Vegan
06 Dec 2022

No longer a cafe 🥲

FYI this place is no longer a cafe (guttered as the food looks amazing from previous reviews!) just a plant based/organic product store. New address at 54 Victoria street for the shop.

Advertisement

JoseHarris

Points +16

Vegan
04 Jan 2022

Scrumptious

We had the most delicious lunch from Providence yesterday. We were too late to eat in but bought a few dishes to take away and ate them in the park. Being vegan and gluten free is sometimes a challenge to find somewhere to eat out where healthy food is served but Providence had choices galore. And their passion fruit vegan cheese cake is to dìe for. We will be back for more for sure.

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-04

Sro

Points +16

Vegan
05 Aug 2021

AMAZING

LOVE LOVE LOVE this place! I cannot praise this place enough! They have the most amazing delicious food! Its all vegan too! They are very eco conscious as well,they have a huge range of products available,even supplements etc and the staff are absolutely amazing,they are so kind and helpfull,they even went above and beyond and helped give me some tips on pregnancy plant based food etc,they are honestly amazing! Such a beautiful atmosphere as well,i urge ANYONE who is vegan (or wanting to try plant based foods) and who cares for our planet to come to this amazing store! ❤

Pros: Amazing customer service, Delicious plant based food, Beautiful atmosphere

sean-g

Points +70

Mostly Veg
31 May 2021

Lucky gem, on the bend near Caltex

Really authentic place with healthy products, homemade cuisine (excellent salad bowls) and spacious clean cafe dining area

BKind5691

Points +75

Vegan
27 Nov 2020

Great cafe and counter food

Lovely place and people. Had plant based burgers and potato flats, really tasty. Great selection of plant based counter meals.

Pros: Great location, Lovely people

SagaVigreBohinen

Points +938

Vegan
10 Sep 2020

Vegan haven in dairy county

I’m so impressed by this store, in what seems like miles and miles of dairy farms this place is incredible. I would say this is the best vegan place in NZ. Beats every single place in Auckland and everything looks so delicious and the cafe is so neat, clean and staff is wonderful.

Pros: Amazing and abundant options , Healthy ish vibes , Great staff

Bryny

Points +23

Vegan
26 Jun 2020

Yummy plant based food and health shop. Now named “Providence” and still awesome

Great to choose a big range of vegan food.
We made the trip from Auckland specifically to try out the food and we weren’t disappointed
Visited there April 2019.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Great range of health products

saneas

Points +206

Vegan
16 Mar 2020

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!

I met Sam late last year and was keen to get to her cafe and store. I was more than impressed as she not only feeds everyone well but at a very reasonable price. Everything was wholesome and delicious and for a whole foods devotee like me, I had more options than I've had anywhere else. 10/10 xx

Pros: Great variety, Excellent price, Stunning service

@ndy

Points +1276

Vegan
01 Mar 2020

Made an effort but....

...didn't make it! Travelling through Dargaville we were keen to get one of their ice creams and a few supplies for our road trip around Northland. They had closed early at 1.30 on a Sunday afternoon & I see that they don't even open Saturday's!

Those are crazy weekend hours for a peak, tourist , summer travelling season but oh well!....we tried!

Cons: Hours advertised open didn't reflect reality!

HannahDavidson

Points +13

Vegetarian
31 Jan 2020

The perfect lunch stop

The food was delicious, with such a great variety from the cabinet. Super friendly people with lots of local knowledge to share. An absolute gem 🌱

mynamavegan

Points +31

Vegan
18 Jan 2020

Beautiful food and lovely people

Absolute must if you're in Dargaville. Food is delicious, we ate in and took a sample of everything in stock away with us on a camping trip. The Mac and Cheese, lentil patties and sweet potato pie were particularly good. Would also recommend getting a scoop of ice cream too!

There's a small shop too with a lot of organic food and local products. Staff were friendly and we had some great chats.

Pros: Lots of different vegan options, Ice cream, savoury foods, sweet foods, salads., Eat in or take away

Rachiem

Points +161

Vegan
10 Apr 2019

Awesome plant based cafe and shop with purpose

A gem of a cafe serving a great range of plant based options including interesting salads, panini, lentil patty, burger, pies and a range of desserts and ice cream

Pros: Very reasonably priced , Quality of food - much organic, Exceptionally clean cafe

alanametzener

Points +34

Vegan
22 Mar 2019

BEST CAFE

Best vegan cafe ever! So blessed to have this little gem in Dargaville. The workers are all so lovely and sweet too, Sam is catering my wedding in November and i’m so excited. Check out taste and see if your around town😄

Nickelmouse

Points +57

Vegan
04 Mar 2019

Fantastic

Well worth the visit!

kirstyhughes

Points +16

Vegan
18 Feb 2019

A fabulous plant based oasis

Delicious food served by friendly people. The ice cream is amazing!

DavidHan

Points +8

Non Veg
24 Jan 2019

Amazing place. Top notch.

Awesome vegan food. I'm primarily a meat eater but the salad and their bean sausage roll was just amazing. Crazy affordable and would love to come back anytime.

Pros: Lots and lots of options, Has a mini store for healthy goods inside, Lovely staff

Cons: NONE

Verena01

Points +47

Vegan
22 Jan 2019

Hidden gem on the Kauri coast

We spotted this little (coffee free) café by chance on our way back to Auckland and had a great impromptu second breakfast with vegan ice cream and cake. Lovely (volunteer) staff and good treats. The connected store also had a nice selection of vegan product. Not what we expected to find in dargaville!😄

Pros: Vegan ice cream! , Reasonably priced, Lovely people

Cons: So healthy they don't sell coffee😉

KiaBarnes

Points +47

Vegan
17 Jan 2019

Amazing whole food

Brilliant friendly service with a smile
Range of food to please everyone
Little shop inside too and can Takeway
Really affordable healthy food

Pros: Entirely vegan , Mostly Gluten Free, Cheap!!

Yummyplants

Points +78

Vegan
10 Jan 2019

Calm, yummy oasis

Amazing, fresh plant-based food. Really unexpected pleasant surprise in Dargaville. Highly recommend. Vegan & low use of refined sugar. Simply incredible

Some of the staff are volunteers, so as to reduce overhead costs & make the food affordable to a wider audience. This aspect makes the cafe extra special. E.g.a pie costs about $4.

Pros: Lots of vegans options & affordable , Bulk shop , Plenty of seating

Cons: Not one in every town!

HannahWade1

Points +15

Vegetarian
08 Jan 2019

Delicious

Heaps of vegetarian options! Delicious, fresh food and lovely staff. I will definitely be returning regularly. The salad portions could be a little bigger is all - but not the end of the world.

A yum!

Pros: Lots of options for vegetarians! All fresh food. , Very yummy, Friendly staff

Cons: A tad expensive, but worth it.

DonnaPatterson

Points +15

Vegetarian
02 Jan 2019

Healthy planted based food⭐️

Awesome plant based vegan food.
Friendly happy welcoming staff. Serving Healthy food with a great amount of choice. Vegan ice cream that
Is a real treat. Eat in or takeaway 👍⭐️😁

Pros: Welcoming , Great food, The best ice cream




This page has been viewed 3034 times.