Poppo's Taqueria

  • Veg-options Veg-options
    ( 11 reviews )

Find

212C Pine Ave, Ana Maria, Florida, USA, 34216

Serves meat, vegan options available. Mexican street food inspired by San Francisco's Mission District. Assembly line style setup. The tacos, burritos, and bowls can be customized to be vegan. Bbq tempeh is a filling option. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-8:00pm.

Categories: Lacto, Fast food, Beer/Wine, Take-out, Mexican, Non-veg

11 Reviews

First Review by craigmc

lenalikestea

Points +29

Vegan
14 May 2020

not very good

i went a couple years ago before i was vegan and it was amazing. i just went again today and got a vegetable and rice bowl. not sure how it’s possible to mess up rice and vegetables, but they sure managed it. super greasy & mushy. as a vegan, i was very let down.

JoshColwell

Points +34

Vegan
31 Dec 2019

Tasty

Went here twice over the holiday. They were out of the tempeh the second day. Not a lot of vegetables but tasty salsa and fresh guacamole and good tempeh when they have it.

Pros: Tasty tempeh meat substitute , Accommodating staff

Cons: Not a lot of veggies for a taco bar. , No vegan cheese

TheVeganPotter

Points +99

Vegan
27 Feb 2019

Best vegan food around!

This place is the bomb! Build your own vegan burrito or bowl and fill it with tempeh, brown rice, black beans and tons of vegan veggie topping options including guacamole! Not to mention they make the tortillas to order. Super helpful staff and casual seaside charm indoor or outdoor seating. We visit every time we are in town and it’s always the best food we eat in Florida!

Pros: Vegan protein options and large portions , Helpful and educated staff, Food prepared as you watch

Advertisement

paulotta

Points +11

Mostly Veg
10 Oct 2018

My favorite place on AMI

Poppo‘s has been my favorite place on the island for years. They have divine tempeh and Kombucha from the tap.

Pros: Divine Tempeh, Kombucha

momveganlove

Points +34

Vegan
05 Aug 2018

Very tasty and fresh

Delicious, fresh vegan tacos. We also liked the atmosphere, very family friendly. We’ll be back!

ShannonMangon

Points +46

Vegan
17 Aug 2017

A la Chipotle

Pretty much Chipotle with tempeh instead of sofritas. A few slight differences but not enough to make me go back. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Pros: Vegan options

Cons: Nowhere to sit

Katie Le

Points +482

Vegan
18 Mar 2017

excellent unique tempeh & fresh veggies

This was my favorite place on the island to get healthy, fresh, delicious food! Very casual, order at counter like a chipotle. Black beans are vegan; pinto beans are not. Delicious fresh guacamole, green & purple cabbage, etc. you can do tacos, burrito, salad/rice bowl. The tempeh was absolutely divine!!!

VeggieAmySue

Points +108

Vegan
10 Feb 2017

yummy

Had burrito bowl with seitan, cabbage black beans guacamole and rice. Kombucha option. Mango green tea is amazing!

Pros: tasty

Mpveg

Points +328

Vegan
15 Feb 2016

good food

Everything we got to try was delicious however they don't get 5 stars because they were "out of" tempeh at 11:30 am. Also while the food is worth the trip, the staff is a bit disorganized.

Pros: made to order tortillas , made to order chips! , try the slaw

CuriousMe

Points +28

Vegan
19 Jan 2014

Thank you, Poppo's

It was great to find quick but delicious food with vegan options on vacation. The kale was a great addition to an already delicious burrito with vegetarian black beans, brown rice, fresh pico, onions, and cilantro.

Pros: Excellent food, Fast, friendly service, Affordably priced

craigmc

Points +14729

Vegan
21 Dec 2013

okay for a non veg place

more of lunch/takeout restaurant.

limited for veg choice, with salad and one set of beans and tempeh. staff were good, and once you said you were veggie were pretty clued up.

Although limited the food was quite tasty and they had a good selection of beers and soft drinks. My biggest concern was the food area, which was a little messy and on a busy day I think the veggie options could get compromised, although I didn't see it happening on my visit.

As always with meat serving restaurants I tend to give a bit of slack, although not fantastic, its okay on a limited choice anna maria.

Pros: staff, drinks

Cons: meat, tidiness

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Ana Maria Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Poppo's Taqueria closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2628 times.