Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Pizza
Italian
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Catering
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Markets itself as vegan but is a normal meat pizza place with vegan option. Offers plant-based toppings and ingredients including impossible meat and Beyond meat as well as vegan cheese and fresh vegetables. In addition to pizzas you'll find other options like garlic knots, cheezy sticks, roasted buffalo cauliflower, roasted trumper mushroom, flatbread elote, several salads, and cinnamon flatbreads. Beverage selection includes beer, wine, and sodas. Est. 2020. Open Mon-Thu 11:00am-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:00am-10:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-8:00pm.


Venue map for Pizzeria Halt
© OpenStreetMap contributors

20 Reviews

First Review by cvWise

DaughterSparrow

Points +95

Vegan
22 Feb 2024

Nope

Let's set aside the (sadly) omnivorous nature of this place and focus on the food which is... Meh? It's edible but that's kinda it, which is disappointing when I paid $97 for two XL pizzas (including delivery fee and tip). The sadest thing here is the crust. They say it's "freshly made" so they must have a machine doing it because the crusts are 100% uniform, somewhere between thin crust and pan style, and pretty tasteless. The topings on our vegan sausage pizza were VERY sparse and while the artichoke pizza toppings were MUCH better, it was still just ok. There is just nothing to get excited over. It's fine. It's food. Not again.

Pros: Vegan options, Artichoke pizza toppings were good

Cons: Pretty tasteless, Expensive for sparse toppings, Omnivorous

Advertisement

MaayanMon

Points +18

Vegan
20 Feb 2024

Would have given 5* but it won't let me

Everything on the menu can be vegan

Pros: They were so nice, So many vegan options, Pizza

normadrost

Points +30

Mostly Veg
23 Jul 2023

Geweldige glutenvrije pizza

Wat was dit lekker! Heerlijke knapperige bodem en verse groente. Saus apart dan kan ik zelf bepalen hoeveel. Echt een aanrader!

tracy-the-vegan

Points +215

Vegan
20 Jul 2023

Tasty pizza!

We tried two different pizzas—the Bianca and the Curry. Both were yummy and we will definitely be back !

Pros: Lots of vegan pizza options, Tasty aioli, Friendly

Zombiecynthia

Points +4660

Vegan
14 Jul 2023

Spendy Vegan Pizza in the Central Valley

Update:
I’ve been heartbroken learning of this place starting as fully vegan/plant-based and feeling like they couldn’t survive without having conventional items available on their menu.
Management is still friendly and their menu still includes a plethora of vegan items but it is a bummer. Just a reminder to support local vegan spots if we’d like to keep them!

I’ve previously enjoyed the Vegan BBQ Chicken Pizza (10”) and today ordered the 11” but it looked even smaller somehow?! Maybe I ordered the 7” instead? Oops.

While they do have tasty vegan options and much of their original vegan artwork is displayed - the establishment no longer feels the same. I’d recommend if in a pinch or in the area but wouldn’t go out of my way for it.

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-14

Pros: Friendly Ownership w/Lots of Vegan Options, Vegan/Plant-Based Artwork and Signage Still Up, Kombucha Available for Purchase

Cons: Spendy (Expensive) for Portions, NO Longer Fully Vegan (After Advertising As Such)

vkeegan

Points +18

Vegan
25 Jun 2023

Best Vegan Pizza in Modesto

Good pizza and great options.

Reserving 5th star since they started serving non-vegan food. BUT:

Would you rather have a fully-vegan place in Modesto that closes for lack of sales or a place that has vegan options and stays open?

Also, the owners/operators seem very nice.

gmuro

Points +152

Vegan
28 May 2023

Best vegan pizza in town!

This is by far the best vegan pizza I have had in Modesto! Every pizza they offer is also offered vegan. So many creative and unique options are also available. The seven inch pizza is the perfect personal size which many places do not offer. There are always offers available on their website. Can’t wait to go back and try them all!

Pros: Plenty of vegan options , Clean facility , Great customer service

CalebDThiebaud

Points +26

Vegan
09 May 2023

Amazing!

The vegan mango lassi! I have missed lassi since I went vegan and finally got my fix. The vegan pizza was very good as well. He made me a custom order and it’s was all on point. I like It

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Knows what vegan is

JakeFuller

Points +1166

Vegan
13 Feb 2023

Solid!

Some say it’s expensive, but $23 for a 12” vegan pie isn’t exactly out of touch. The tastes were great, texture too. I’d recommend if you’re hungry and around Modesto. It may have some non-vegan stuff, but the majority of the menu IS plant based.

Mike Weinberg

Points +245

Vegan
19 Jan 2023

Not 100% vegan

Called the restaurant to confirm their menu was 100% vegan. They assured me it was. But when I said their posted online menu listed dairy & regular options, they said yes, they offered that, too. This is either a case of outright deception to draw in vegan business or, more likely, just not knowing any better. Reported this to HappyCow a week ago, so I expect the current "Vegan" designation will be changed to "Veg-Options."

Cons: Not 100% vegan

softballheart

15 Apr 2023

It changed. Used to be 100% vegan but I think they now carry meat and cheese to stay afloat. I hate it and will not be going back.

Veganomad

Points +377

Vegan
01 Nov 2022

Worth it!

I hesitated to check this place out since so many people had mentioned that it was overly expensive… but in the end my pizza craving won-out.

I exited the interstate on my way through, and braved the Modesto traffic for some seriously good chicken bbq pizza. I mean GOOD.

It turns out there was a lunch special for $10. I ordered the 7” pizza with a drink.

Service was friendly and fairly quick. A good place, well worth it.

jappey17

Points +40

Vegan
27 Aug 2022

Yummy but takes money

Delicious pizza, delicious food. But a bit on the pricey side. I ordered tandoori pizza, and I think the flavors were pretty authentic.

Pros: All vegan, Lots of choices, Cheese melts (vegans, you know what I mean)

Cons: Expensive , Portion size

DianaFaithAbeyta

Points +22

Vegan
16 May 2021

Good food❤️lots of options

Lots of options and all are plant based. I bought a chicken pesto pizza and garlic knots, pizza was great and garlic knots were good too but just a bit too much garlic for me. This was my first try at a vegan restaurant and I wasn’t disappointed. It was more than I was expecting to pay but worth the cost to have all menu items be plant derived. I will definitely return again.

Updated from previous review on 2021-05-05

Amonavis1

Points +31

Vegan
04 Mar 2021

Kind of expensive but worth it.

Tried the Buffalo chicken, pepperoni, garlic knots, and cheesy pesto bites. The garlic knots were fine, but the rest was delicious. Was especially surprised that the pepperoni pizza was good because vegan pepperoni is usually pretty gross.Wouldn't recommend going every weekend, but it is nice to spend on every once in a while. Especially because of the pandemic, I want to help out smaller business. (4.5 stars though, just can't do halves)

Pros: Great food., Lots of options.

TaraMoon

Points +20

Vegan
27 Nov 2020

Great taste

The food tasted great but I honestly feel like I was robbed when it came to the portions based on the price. I paid $30 for a large pizza (pesto & vegan chik'n) and the size was just a bit larger than a small paper plate. I have attached a photo for reference. When I visited Cruisers in LA I got three times the amount for the same price. The pizza is also a very thin crust. Overall the taste was great but the price tag is why we always hear people say "It's too expensive to be vegan".

SRocha

Points +98

Vegan
07 Nov 2020

Awesome vegan pizzeria

The pizza is really good. I got to try the Chipotle chicken and chicken pesto. Both where good. I think chicken pesto was a little better. Staff made me a special half and half pizza with both flavors.

Pros: Friendly staff, 100% vegan

Cons: Small portions

vegan209

Points +20

Vegan
04 Mar 2020

A Gastro Gem

Wonderfully fresh and tasty surprise for Modesto vegans that satisfies the palette without breaking the pocketbook. Door to door via Grub Hub was a blur. So far, we are two for two for take away dining and look forward to working our way through the menu.

nanglca20

Points +18

Vegan
29 Feb 2020

Best freaking pizza in the 209

I am a meat lover but have to follow a dairy free diet. I had the extreme veggie pizza and I realized I wasnt eating any meat after my 3rd slice because of how satisfying each bite was. Their crust was so fluffy and the sauce was better that any non vegan pizza I've ever had. I also had their cheesy bread sticks with mozzarella and they surely did not disappoint. Absolutely love that they serve beer and wine. It made the experience 10x better. The staff was very attentive and friendly. 10/10 would recommend.

Pros: Best pizza sauce, Fluffy crust, Wine and beer

BrittanyHowze

Points +338

Vegan
17 Feb 2020

100% vegan pizza place!!!

So far, I have had the chipotle chicken pizza and the pesto pizza, and garlic knots. I can highly recommend all of these items. I especially liked the creme fresh sauce on the chipotle pizza, very creamy and sooo good. The restaurant is in a strip mall where Marshall’s is the anchor store. There are a few tables and counter seating inside, I believe the total max seating is 17. They serve beer and wine. Im so happy to have a vegan pizza place in Modesto!!!

Pros: Nut free daiya cheese

Cons: Not an easy seating situation for larger groups

cvWise

Points +16

Vegan
17 Feb 2020

Yum!

My vegan wife and I took our omnivore sons here on the night of their "soft" grand opening, and everyone loved the pizza so much they ate it all. No leftovers!
The staff was very helpful and the menu has a lot of non-pizza options, including several types of breadsticks, salads, cauliflower "wings," and beer and wine. Be aware that seating is very limited, as they are in a small storefront. We will be back!

Pros: Food is delicious, Menu variety, Friendly

Cons: Very limited seating (only 3-4 tables), A little pricey (appropriate for the ingredients.)




This page has been viewed 4812 times.