Lacto
Pizza
Italian
Beer/Wine
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Restaurant located upstairs. Vegan and vegetarian options on the menu. Vegan choices include grilled vegetables, tomato salad, pizza, and dessert. Open Mon 11:00-15:30, 18:30-22:30, Wed-Sun 11:00-15:30, 18:30-22:30. Closed Tue.


Venue map for Pizzeria Donna Stella
© OpenStreetMap contributors

31 Reviews

First Review by Sophster

Lauraleec

Points +11789

Vegan
11 Jan 2024

Favourite in Amalfi

Amazing vegan pizza, as well as vegan friendly wine. Came here twice while staying in Amalfi. The pizza is really good and won't let you down. I really like the setting of the restaurant too. Without HappyCow I don't think I would have found it.

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-11

Advertisement

chlomattner

Points +160

Vegan
13 Oct 2023

100% must visit

Super beautiful space, limoncello spritz was delicious. Vegan cheese available! Best pasta we’ve had in Italy so far. Service was good too

AshleyMarkham

Points +38

Vegan
22 Sep 2023

5 stars

This place is delicious. Hands down favorite meal and they have vegan cheese, pepperoni and plenty of options. I had the salad with grilled zucchini, bruschetta, a vegan pizza with cheese, tomatoes, mushrooms and vegan sausage. I’m from Long Beach, and I’m not gonna lie we have way better options but this was a pleasant experience in a town without any options really for vegans. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting. More on the romantic, date vibe.

Pros: Ambiance, Vegan pizza, Location (quite and quant)

Cons: Service is slow, No signage for waiting guests , Little difficult to find

jess!e97

Points +1048

Vegan
15 Jul 2023

Good but pricey

We had the vegan pesto gnocchi (you have to request this and if they have a batch they will accomodate you and it will be €3 extra because it’s the vegan option). It was delicious. We also had the vegetarian pizza without cheese because they charge €5 for vegan cheese substitute which is a bit too much for us to justify. We also had the bruschetta which was lovely.

chatreuse

Points +2240

Vegan
07 Jul 2023

Good pizza

We arrived at 8pm hoping to get a table for dinner but unfortunately they were completely booked out. A customer with a booking behind us said we should definitely come back as it's really good. We were very disappointed as the dining area looks so cute with a huge lemon tree over it.
We ordered a takeaway Napoletana pizza, and that was very good.
I've now seen the other HC reviews that people have mentioned a pesto gnocchi and vegan sausage pizza?? I don't remember seeing that, but it sounds amazing.

SophiePilati

Points +39

Vegan
29 Jun 2023

Vegan pizza and gnocchi!

On the menu it has vegan pizza option, basically any pizza can be made vegan, they have vegan cheese and also vegan sausage ! We went back the following night and had the pesto gnocchi as they said it can be made vegan and it was really delicious!

The staff were really lovely and I suggest making a reservation, we were able to get a table just walking in around 6;30 but after that they said they were fully booked!

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-28

Pros: Vegan pizza with vegan cheese

Cons: Expensive

kendallgee1313

Points +853

Vegan
23 Jun 2023

So cute and good food!

The patio is like sitting in a lemon tree! Hours say they open at 11, but they asked us to come back at 12.
Pizza was good—and good vegan cheese!

abbyjayne

Points +16

Vegan
10 Jun 2023

Vegan cheese and options clearly stated

Vegan cheese option clearly stated on menu, not too expensive very cute and pretty scenery

ManuaeEvans

Points +70

Vegan
21 May 2023

Happy Dance

Found this gem whilst walking around, staff were nice, and we were able to walk in and grab a table for two without a reservation. This was around 6.30pm, but at 7.15pm queues started to form, and people had to wait half an hour for a table. It was so nice to find a place with vegan options, and pizza that had vegan cheese on it! Portions were large and filling. The location was beautiful. I loved sitting under the lemon trees!

Pros: Staff, Venue, Options

Jamielee8453

Points +223

Vegan
08 May 2023

Great find!

We ate here almost every day on our adventures! I never knew I needed lemon pepper fries in my life!!! The pizzas are great, they even have vegan gnocchi. The restaurant is super cute with lemon trees hanging above the tables!

Monymo

Points +161

Vegan
12 Apr 2023

Vegan mozzarella

It is very rare to find vegan cheese on pizzas in italy so we were very excited for Pizzeria Donna Stella. And we really liked the pizza. You can exchange the normal mozzarella with vegan mozzerella on every pizza. Pleace note that they have a new menue which doesn‘t show the vegan mozzerella option any more. We told the staff about it, they were a little surprised. Also not every staff member knows about the vegan cheese, so don‘t hesitate to ask.
Update: we went there again and had a menue which had the vegan cheese option written on it. So it depends.

Updated from previous review on 2023-04-08

Pros: Vegan cheese

Cons: Vegan cheese option is not on the menue

Ali.T

Points +491

Vegan
08 Apr 2023

Delicious!

Friendly staff, could add vegan cheese to any pizza. They also had vegan mayo. Beautiful setting underneath the lemon trees. I would definitely recommend!

Pros: Friendly staff, Understood vegan

cameronStott

Points +44

Vegan
21 Oct 2022

Best vegan pizza in Italy!

The staff were extremely friendly and the atmosphere was gentle and very beautiful! It made us at ease asking about vegan options and the menu clearly states that they can add vegan cheese for an extra €3, the pizzas were delicious and we were both very happy!

Pros: Vegan cheese!, Friendly staff, Good portion size

Cons: Extra cost for vegan cheese

sophiefp

Points +799

Vegan
28 Sep 2022

Wonderful

So good to at last have vegan versions of local specialities, especially pizzette, deep fried dough with tomato and parmigiana vegana on top. Amazing! The gnocchi with pesto was so creamy nutty. Very special. Pizza was nice too.

Make sure you read all the vegan options in the reviews here as some servers do not know what is possible/available, so get them to ask and all will be fine. They are very nice about it.

Lovely tucked away setting withplenty of outdoor seating.

Pros: Pizzette, Vegan cheeses are great, Vegan pesto gnocchi fab

Cons: Need to know what is possible to ask, If it rains heavily they close

Julia3283

Points +73

Vegan
26 Sep 2022

One of the best vegan pizzas I’ve ever had

The food and the ambiance were fantastic. So glad we found this place.

KarelleGenest

Points +194

Vegan
17 Sep 2022

VEGAN CHEESE

We had dinner there and we were so excited about our first pizza with vegan cheese in Italia and it was worth it! All the pizza can be made vegan with vegan cheese. We splitted the gnocchi for starters with vegan pesto and parm and it was delicious also! Would highly recommend! It is also a quite crowded place so you should maybe make a reservation or be wiling to wait!

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-17

Pros: Vegan cheese, Many options, Sick terrasse

Cons: Crowded

Cesak

Points +16

Vegan
31 Aug 2022

The worlds best pizza

The simple Napoliatana pizza is delicious and full of flavor
Lovely setting and staff. I love this restaurant

Updated from previous review on 2022-08-31

Pros: Amazing pizza., Owned by women , Wholesome local ingredients

megcawthorne

Points +40

Vegan
28 Aug 2022

Must Visit for Vegans. Will be visiting for our dinner every day of our stay!

Absolutely loved it here. Food was the best I’ve had in Italy. Staff really welcoming and helpful in informing us what can be made vegan. Plenty of options from gnocchi to pizza. I had the gnocchi and my boyfriend a pizza. Then lemon fries to share. Beautiful setting under lemon trees.

Updated from previous review on 2022-08-28

Pros: Staff very diligent to make sure meal is vegan., Plenty of options., Vegan Mayo, Vegan mozzarella and vegan Parmesan

Cons: Maybe vegan dessert?

titaschl

Points +32

Vegan
20 Aug 2022

Lovely!

What a beautiful lovely place! It‘s a bit hidden, but you can enjoy veganized pizzas under beautiful lemon trees. The staff is very nice. I fell in love with the patates frites aka fries with lemon and pepper. They also had vegan mayonnaise. Would definitely like to come back!

Pros: Vegan cheese, Beautiful location, Friendly staff

Cons: bit expensive , 3€ extra cost for vegan pizza

GoreRegen

Points +21

Vegan
06 Aug 2022

A very good vegan pizza!

Donna Stella is the only pizzeria in Amalfi that does pizza with vegan cheese. I gave it a try and i liked it very much! You can choose basically any pizza and veganize it: they have vegan "mozzarella" cheese, vegan parmesan and vegan pesto of basil or pistachos. Recommended!!

Pros: Vegan cheese available, Good food, Amazing place

Cons: Expensive

meeripihlstrom

Points +36

Vegan
16 Jul 2022

Delicious pizzas & super friendly staff!

Loved our vegan pizzas, the staff was so lovely and helped us pick our meals from the menu 💗 menu has no spesifications about what’s vegan or not but just ask, they’ll help ☺️ we also ordered the lemon fries for starters and they were TO DIE FOR, also got vegan mayo to dip them in 🥰😍

Pros: Lovely staff!! Super helpful and friendly, Knowledge about veganism & allergies, Such a pretty place and a hidden gem

Cons: Vegan cheese has nuts

mianuttgens

Points +23

Vegan
14 Jul 2022

Delicious pizza and happy to accommodate to allergies (nuts in the vegan cheese)

The pizza was absolutely delicious and they were totally happy to customise pizzas to suit our dietary needs. My boyfriend is allergic to nuts and they took the allergy seriously, checking ingredients of the vegan mozzarella and which oil the vegetables were fried in. The vegan cheese had nuts in sadly but it was great that they were willing to make sure for us.

The location is beautiful in a lemon grove a bit off the Main Street in Amalfi so it feels like a hidden find.

I didn’t enquire about other vegan dishes like pasta because I assumed it would just be pizza that they could veganize, so maybe there would be more options if I did more digging.

Having loads of vegan options doesn’t matter though when the pizza is that good- super pillowy and crispy with fresh luscious toppings, perfect when paired with a local beer or an aperol spritz. Would recommend!

Pros: Delicious pizza, option of vegan cheese, They were helpful in explaining vegan options, Happy to adapt to make things vegan

Cons: Didn’t seem super varied for vegans , The vegan mozzarella is made with nuts

RuthHolroyd

Points +49

Vegan
02 Jul 2022

BEST VEGAN PIZZA EVER

Such friendly staff. The most delicious vegan pizza. If you are in amalfi, I cannot recommend this restaurant higher. I was eating with non-vegans and they said that they couldn’t tell the difference between the two pizzas. They also thought it was delicious

vanebe2904

Points +151

Vegan
23 Jun 2022

Beautiful restaurant in a lemon rooftop garden - hidden gem

We found this place on Happy Cow as we didn’t want to eat in one of those very touristic places with rather bad reviews. From outside it looks rather unspectacular, but super cool inside. It feels like dining in a lemon garden up on a rooftop. The staff was extremely friendly, I mentioned the word vegan when inquiring about a pizza without cheese and then was told they have three different vegan cheese types. Besides pizza, they also offer vegan pasta, salads, sides such as different salads, grilled veggies, fried pizza that they can veganise. The food was great. We were super happy and are already planning to return for the vegan gnocchis. 😁 10/10 can recommend

Update: we’ve been here for the third time now, by now we have also had the fried vegan pizza & the gnocchi with vegan parmesan as well as the mixed salad with avocado and grilled zucchini. Everything was delicious. They now also have vegan pistachio pesto, which we unfortunately didn’t manage to try anymore. The owners are really nice & want to veganise more dishes in the future. 😊

Please be aware that the prosciutto & funghi pizza & lemon pasta in the background are not vegan.

Updated from previous review on 2022-06-19

LaylaRodgers

Points +48

Vegan
23 Jun 2022

Best Pizza and nicest restaurant i’ve been to in Italy

staff were very aware or veganism and even let me try there new pistachio pesto.

Pros: Fresh and delicious , reasonable price, cute restaurant

Suzieg

Points +486

Vegan
20 Jun 2022

Very good pizza

Good pizza, they had run out of vegan mozzarella but can make the pizzas without cheese! As well as the mini fried pizza starters. They were able to explain what could be made vegan!
Book ahead as it is very popular and our Airbnb host even recommended it as the best pizza place in Amalfi (not knowing we were vegan and it was already on our list to visit from happy cow).

Updated from previous review on 2022-06-20

BenHallėtt

Points +24

Vegan
10 Jun 2022

Vegan cheese and pesto!

Friendly and willing to veganise dishes.

Pros: Friendly and willing to veganise dishes




This page has been viewed 5084 times.