Pizza
Italian
Organic
Delivery
Catering
Fusion

Vegan pizzeria est. 2020 in the Chico State area turned caterers August 2023. Uses a wood-fired oven, and makes the dough in-house along with some of the mock meats and cheeses. Offers different flavors of pizza, calzones, and "sunflowers" which are a pizza-calzone hybrid. Also has cottage-made branded products for sale at stores locally and on the west coast. Open Thu-Sat 12:00pm-8:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-4:00pm. Closed Sun-Wed.


Venue map for Pizza Riot
ยฉ OpenStreetMap contributors

20 Reviews

First Review by alexbaldi

Vegan_Hiker_Foodie

Points +2665

Vegan
28 May 2023

Super creative and delicious food

We had a hard time deciding but got the Good Foot pizza and the Whittier salad! Both were so good! Even my bf enjoyed the salad and he is not a salad fan normally. It had sweet potatoes and potatoesโ€ฆwhich was different but amazing! The pizza was yummy but pretty garlickyโ€ฆso you better be ok with that. Luckily the weather was nice so sitting outside wasnโ€™t badโ€ฆbut it would be nice if they had a indoor dining room otherwise.

Advertisement

MelissaHorsefeathers

Points +1420

Vegan
16 Feb 2023

SO good!

Just fantastic food! Loved everything I tried. Easily one of the best vegan pizzas Iโ€™ve ever had. The salad was delicious, and the dressing had me second guessing that they are even 100% vegan. Get the Herbivorous Butcher Korean BBQ Rib with the Riot Salad - you wonโ€™t regret it! ๐Ÿ˜‹

Pros: 100% Vegan, Great quality food, Really delicious options

Cons: Take-out only

cuteveganfreakxo

Points +16

Vegan
12 Nov 2022

Delicious food, thoughtful staff

My boyfriend and I were both happy with our meal and the service we received here. I had a Sunflower while he had some Asian fusion tacos. Everything was delicious and satisfying. The staff were so helpful and efficient. This place is currently mobile order and pick-up only, but they set a table up for us outside when they saw us looking at the menu.

VirgoVegan

Points +86

Vegan
21 Sep 2022

Best vegan pizza in NorCal

I have eaten here so many times in the last year of living here and I have never been disappointed. Let me start by saying that quality ingredients ALWAYS matter and you need to be okay with paying extra for that. This ainโ€™t Little Caesarsโ€ฆ This is a locally owned and operated pizzeria using organic, non gmo ingredients. Many of their meat substitutes are house made and their crust is ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿฝ. My personal favorites are the Shaka and the Korean Cholo, but Iโ€™ve never disliked anything from here. The cheesy pesto breadsticks are a game changer and if youโ€™re feeling like treating yourself even more, try their non pizza menu items, including their desserts. ALL VEGAN! All amazing, all delicious.

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-21

Pros: Locally owned, Quality matters with organic, non-GMO ingredients, Melty cheese and fantastic flavor

Cons: Curbside pickup only, One size pizza option, Wish they offered more veggie packed pies

Brycew

Points +220

Vegan
30 Aug 2022

Amazing creative vegan pizza

Best pizza anywhere on the west coast! The sunflower is an incredible creation, a novelty in between a pizza and a calzone. That would be an attraction at any pizza restaurant, but the fact that pizza riot is 100% vegan makes this restaurant a wonderful find. The family who runs the place are also some of the most personable and kind restauranteurs Iโ€™ve ever met, and they went out of their way to make a genuine human connection with us. During a road trip, we drove significantly out of our way to Chico to eat here, and I am very glad we made that decision!

Pros: Very friendly personable owners, Fresh and healthy ingredients , Large menu selection

Cons: Only outdoor seating

JennyYouker

Points +15

Mostly Veg
03 May 2022

Amazing food and very kind staff ๐Ÿฅฐ

My husband and I absolutely loved it! The staff was very sweet and attentive which we appreciated a lot โ˜บ. We ordered bbq wings and margherita pizza ๐Ÿ•; both food items were so delicious! We can't wait to come back again ๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿฅณ๐Ÿ’š!

Pros: It's all vegan ๐Ÿ˜๐ŸŒฑ!, LOTS of yummy options ๐Ÿ˜‹. , Very kind staff โ˜บ.

Cons: None ๐Ÿค—.

SherryMorgado

Points +17

Vegan
10 Apr 2022

Yummy Vegan Food

Itโ€™s amazing to have a 100% vegan restaurant that serves such delicious food that is really high quality. I personally love their fusion tacos-the Korean and the Banh Mi are delicious!

areoandmilk

Points +42

Vegan
10 Mar 2022

The BEST Vegan Pizza EVER

Pizza Riot really does have the best vegan pizza ever. nothing I've ever tried has beat it. they have amazing options, and even the more unconventional ones are still delicious, like their mac and cheese pizza!

The owners are super sweet and I am so happy they took the chance of opening a restaurant at the very start of the pandemic to bring delicious vegan pizza to our Chico Vegan community. They are a bit on the expensive side, but ill do anything to support a local vegan business.

Pros: excellent food, friendly staff, creative options

Cons: expensive

grace_face

Points +292

Vegan
24 Jul 2021

So GEWD!!

Wow, just wow. The calzones are 100% amazing and the staff is really friendly. Some of the best vegan pizza I've had in a long time. If I'm in town again, I'm coming back!

TiffanyWorthington

Points +136

Vegan
21 Jul 2021

Creative and Delicious!

We ordered spicy drumsticks and the Dirty Burger Sunflower pizza. It sure didnโ€™t smell like a pizza (it smelled like a burger, HA!) I love trying unusual, creative things and this is one of them for sure! I only wish there were more sauce in the points of the โ€œflowerโ€, which were stuffed with ricotta (vegan, of course).
I canโ€™t wait to try their Zapata!

They also had their first-ever vegan Special Sunday Brunch which we came back for: waffles with bacon, potatoes with gravy, waffles with berries, Aqua Fresca and Elotes!!! OMG! The line was loony and they made it into a mini-festival with booths various vendors and even a DJ! It was hot and they had some outdoor seating and the misters were pumpin! Everyone was in a great and eager mood and the staff again was wonderful! A one-person show! YEA PIZZA RIOT!!! Just make some much thicker, richer marinara and Iโ€™m there every night!

Pros: Awesome staff, super-creative pizzas, Special Sunday Brunch!

Cons: Wish Marinara was much thicker & richer!

vtating23

Points +30

Vegan
12 Jul 2021

So Delish!!!

Best Pizza ever! I live in Red Bluff and the food is definitely worth the drive!

Rainbowwarriorlove

Points +81

Vegetarian
11 Jul 2021

Amazing!

Amazing food, great people, great atmosphere. Treat yourself to their gluten-free Viva Zapata. You deserve it. :-)

Pros: Lots of gluten free options

Adventurechica

Points +969

Vegan
11 Jan 2021

Good

Satisfied my pizza ๐Ÿ• craving

Pros: Full of vegan options

BackyardFarmerGirl

Points +66

Vegan
22 Oct 2020

So wonderful to order pizza!

Easy to order, fast pick up, friendly staff, melty pizza - yummy and fun combos.

Pros: Unique combinations , Easy and friendly service

Cons: Not a health food place.

evenloveflows

Points +232

Vegan
09 Oct 2020

All Vegan Pizzeria ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ‘

Pleasantly surprised on how good their house made vegan cheeze is! Mostly everything is made from organic ingredients and if not, itโ€™s at least non-gmo.

Decently priced considering other pizza places and good friendly service. Overall, this will be my main place for pizza whenever Iโ€™m in the area again.

Pros: All vegan menu , Mostly organic, if not the non-gmo

Cons: Could have more option for sizes of pizza , More options for veggie toppings

Mattleonard

Points +191

Vegan
09 Oct 2020

Amazing vegan pizza

Excellent pizza, with creative toppings, wood fired. Vegan cheese, multiple vegan protein options. Highly recommended.

Pickledginger

Points +20

Vegan
11 Sep 2020

Chico Vegan Must

This place is amazing. Try one of the sunflowers, with their ricotta stuffed crust petals. The "Dirty Burger" pizza hommage to Trailer Park Boys is delicious. Extra pickles!

Kbjamjam

Points +175

Vegan
03 Jun 2020

Pizza riot is definitely worth the visit

Easily the best vegan pizza option in chico, Pizza riot does everything super well and gets pretty creative with their flavors which is very important in my book. I honestly canโ€™t wait to eat pizza riot again.

Also, has gluten free options!

thatblackbat

Points +144

Vegan
29 May 2020

The Best!

One of my absolute favorite restaurants! Everything I've had here has been delicious and satisfying. Plus it's all vegan! The owners are also the nicest people and you can tell they really care about the food they're putting out. A gem of a restaurant in a small town like Chico.

Pros: All vegan everything, Organic, Gluten free options

alexbaldi

Points +79

Vegan
29 Mar 2020

Wonderful Neapolitan-style all-vegan Pizza joint in Chico!!!

First all vegan restaurant in Chico, enough said. Their Neapolitan-style pizza cooked inside a self-built wood-fire oven is literally otherworldy. Plus they offer amazing calzones and sunflowers, a pizza/calzone hybrid. Best restaurant in Chico, period!

Pros: Wood-fired oven, Friendly staff, great value for the quality!

Cons: None




This page has been viewed 3026 times.