• Pine Box Rock Shop

  • (9)
    31
    Loading...
  • Other Other
    Vegan

A vegan-friendly bar that offers a few snacks and cocktails like white russian and bloody mary. Since 2010. Sometimes hosts pop-up vendors selling food and things. Open Mon-Tue 4:00pm-2:00am, Wed-Fri 4:00pm-4:00am, Sat 2:00pm-4:00am, Sun 12:00pm-2:00am.


9 Reviews

First Review by turtleveg

rabuco.quiroga

Points +784

Vegan
19 Jan 2022

Very bad attention, no vegan food available

We went to this bar on Monday and we were expecting to find something vegan to eat, but they only had packed snacks, not even french fries or something like that. The barman was kind of rude with us, and he was always outside so you had to go there to ask for a drink. Also, he started closing around 10.30 pm (their website says they close at 12.00), so the atmosphere wasn't really cool.

There are much more better bars than this one in the neighborhood.

Pros: Cheap.

Cons: No vegan food, bad attention, closes early.

Advertisement

nafanc

Points +1615

Vegan
25 Oct 2018

Vegan Shop Up

This is a review for Vegan Shop Up, which is hosted at Pine Box.
It’s a cool event where you can try lots of vegan offerings from local vendors. The day I went, Vegicano was there and they were serving amazing burgers. That said, the other vendors look really good as well, and I’d be eager to come again.

Raesock

Points +634

Vegan
11 Dec 2016

Loved it!

We came here while on vacation so we could watch the last presidential debate with a crowd. This bar was perfect. Great cocktails, and we loved all the empanadas! We tried one of each, then went back for seconds on the spinach. If we were local we would hang out here a lot. Great vibe.

yup

Points +112

Vegan
05 Dec 2016

Yes, those bloody marys

Towards the bottom of the bloody mary menu, there's one that is spicier, and I think it has "devil" in its name. That's the one you should get.
They make a bloody mary with basically any kind of major liquor you could want, and you can't go wrong. Ridiculously towering garnishes.

Pros: All vegan all the time, Not just mr. and mrs. t mix and liquor, Garnishes are basically a meal

Cons: Can be hard to find seating

rollercoastervegan

Points +40

Vegan
24 Oct 2015

my favorite bar, and yes it's vegan

to the person who said they have jameson and guinness. jameson is vegan and they only carry craft beer. i'm there all the time for nearly 3 years and i've never seen guinness. you can look up their menu on beermenus. they make their own bailey's irish cream here. this bar is owned by two vegans. they have delicious warm vegan empanadas from v spot as bar snacks and the vegan shop up happens monthly here. also awesome trivia on wednesdays and my favorite karaoke in nyc on thursdays.

Pros: really fun events weekly, all vegan, vegan empanadas!

F666

Points +64

Vegan
23 Feb 2014

ATTENTION!!!

Pine box absolutely does NOT research what they sell, I've seen Guinness and Jameson for sale. If you're a serious vegan who does their research this faux-vegan bar shouldn't fool you for a second.

On another note.. Pine Box hosts the vegan pop up sales with a couple dozen vegan vendors selling otherwise hard to come by local vegan products.

SonjaCPA

Points +5270

Vegan
25 Jul 2013

all vegan bar!

During our NYC trip, we wanted to hit up Pine Box and it was our good luck that they were hosting the Vegan Shop Up event on the same day. Lots of vegan vendors of all sorts combined with vegan drinks made for a very fun visit. We were the first customers to arrive, so we sat right at the bar. Later on, there wasn't a seat to be found. We purchased food from the vendors which means we didn't buy their empanadas, but they looked good. As for drinks, they specialize in multiple different Bloody Mary's, so we had a few. They are spiced to your request level and piled high with garnishes. Absolutely fabulous! They also make their own Irish cream, so they made me a martini with it. Yum! They also serve other cocktails and beer which I look forward to trying on my next visit. The place has a great vibe and the bartenders are super friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Pros: all vegan drinks, great bartenders, close to subway station

hdeweyh

Points +113

Vegan
12 Nov 2012

More love for Pine Box

Great bar, all vegan, delicious snacks and the best vegan bloody mary's ever! Seriously they are toweringly high and over flowing with garnishes - well worth the price tag.

Pros: all vegan bar, bloody marys, empanadas

turtleveg

Points +1590

Vegan
22 May 2012

fun

This is a good place to hang out, and I love knowing that everything is vegan. Empenadas and warm pretzels are tasty snacks.
I wasn't impressed by the nudie photos all over the bathroom though.
Close to the subway.




This page has been viewed 4185 times.