Lacto
Pizza
Italian
Fast food
Delivery
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Carryout and counter order pizzeria with a few tables and patio in summer. Thin crust, deep dish, and gluten-free crusts. Pizza can be made vegan. Seasonal menu with specialty pizzas or create your own. Sunday brunch menu 11:00am-3:00pm. Limited bike delivery option for neighborhood residents. Open Mon-Thu 11:00am-10:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:00am-12:00am, Sun 11:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Pie-Sci
© OpenStreetMap contributors

31 Reviews

First Review by PolkaDot

TreeGoddess

Points +24

Vegan
27 Oct 2023

So effing good

Have eaten many different vegan pizzas here and all of them have been amazing. You can’t go wrong getting this pizza! The vegan Reuben pizza has been my fave and I hope to get it the next time it’s on the menu.

This is the only place that one of my kids loves. They said that all the other places have greasy vegan pizzas.

Super excited that they’re planning to open a second location that’s a little closer to home. Going to eat there even more often!

Pros: Delicious, Creative pizzas, Just about every vegan topping you’d want

Advertisement

briannamaphis

Points +3035

Vegan
29 Sep 2023

amazing detroit pizza

so so bussin and literally so many vegan options and most things can be modified ! (for an upcharge oof) but seriously, this is really freaking good pizza. and there are like 3 vegan desserts too like whhhaaaatttt

313Vegan

Points +22

Vegan
26 Sep 2023

Vegan options galore.

Many vegan options, always a new weekly special. Veganize a pizza with one word. Try a couple pizzas. Make at least one of them square.

Desh

Points +1135

Vegan
11 Sep 2023

Good pizza Detroit style

Not bad. I like that their pizza has multiple options plus it’s next door to Woodbridge pub that also has vegan options

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-08

Tofuttib00ty89

Points +1067

Vegan
19 May 2023

I love pie-sci

Pie sci was my first love moving to Detroit. The first pizza I tried was tempeh of doom. Since then I have ate there dozens of times. Each week there is a different special to keep things fun. And the menu changes throughout the year, plus they have Sunday brunch pizza! Everything can be made vegan and they make seitan in house! You can never go wrong with pie-sci! Highly recommend!

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-18

Pros: Anything can be made vegan , Gluten free options

Cons: Not 100% vegan kitchen

cyle

Points +315

Vegan
17 Apr 2023

We're very happy

Soooooo good! Loved that nearly everything could be made vegan. We had the vegan pizza slice of the day in addition to a square taco's modern life pizza and vegan cheesy bread sticks with both dipping sauces (one was a vegan mayo thousand island type sauce which was to die for. Pizza crust was perfectly crispy. We were visiting but if I lived nearby I'd eat here all the time.

Pros: Friendly, Plethora of options

KorbenVlasak

Points +28

Vegan
11 Apr 2023

Amazing Detroit style pizza!

My girlfriend and I shared a small square of vegan bbq got back and it was wonderful! We debated on coming back the next day just to bring some home with us

Pros: Many pizzas have vegan options, Reasonable prices for the quality, Very friendly staff

Cons: Not really a con but we were hoping they had beer

ARODTHEGOAT

Points +28

Vegan
17 Jan 2023

5🌟YOU WONT REGRET

All time favorite pizza place vegan options are Incredible You will be going back I promise you that. Lol

Pros: Has options for everyone

Cons: I can’t eat pizza everyday 😥🤣

badgirlsvegan

Points +2016

Vegan
01 Jan 2023

This deserves more stars

Love the vegan options and the house made cashew cheese

along112

Points +291

Vegan
20 Dec 2022

Best brunch pizza

Went here for brunch on a Sunday and it was AMAZING! Pretty much all of their pizzas can be made vegan and on Sundays they have brunch pizzas!! We got the Sonny and Rancheros and the Cajun Against the Machine and they were both delicious. I crave those pizzas and wish it wasn’t so far away!

Pros: Many options, Anything can be made vegan

Seatown_vegan

Points +6799

Vegan
02 Oct 2022

Choices

Plenty of vegan options at pie sci. I ordered a small kimchi and a large Indiana Jones and the tempeh of doom. The kimchi one was good but I enjoyed the latter more. The Indians Jones was quite delicious and came Detroit style which I was certainly seeking. I would certainly visit here if in the area.

giantvegan

Points +495

Vegan
18 Jul 2022

Best Vegan Pizza Ever

Super impressed with this place. Lots of vegan options and while I know pizza can be subjective, the best crust ever. Can get pizzas in a circle or square. Lots of unusual combinations. It’s fighting for the title of best vegan pizza I’ve ever had.

Momof6

Points +198

Vegan
26 Mar 2022

Variety of Vegan choices

Husband and I ordered a pizza and it was nice to see they had more options than most other pizza places we’ve been to. Got a pizza with veggies and cashew cream. My husband loved it, I wish they would of put more veggies on top, but I’m sure they would have if I asked because the staff was very nice and accommodating. The crust was thick, chewy on inside and crunchy on outside, the best!

Pros: Lots of Vegan choices, Nice staff

StinkyVeganFarts911

Points +51

Vegan
14 Feb 2022

Wish I could give 5 stars. Worth a 30 min drive.

My fiancé and I OFTEN drive 30 min round trips for this pizza so you know it’s good.

Pros: Lots of creative vegan options, Cute pics of dogs, Pretty easy to get in and out

Cons: Street parking

laura8it

Points +516

Vegan
13 Feb 2022

So many vegan options!

Super accommodating to vegans! I personally don’t like their round crust, but the square is incredible. Don’t miss the cheese bread or cloud bites (chocolate chip cookie ice cream sandwiches)!

pottsj198

Points +89

Vegan
19 Dec 2021

Omg

One of the best vegan pizzas ever!!

ndines

Points +551

Vegan
21 Aug 2021

One of the best vegan pizzas I’ve ever had

There are less than 5 vegan pizzas I’ve had in the US that I would rank as the best and this is one of them. Not a fully vegan restaurant but the pizza is out of this world good. Their house made cashew cheese is amazing, and I had a large square half cashew rules everything around me and half fennel countdown. Oh, and the crust is like a focaccia it is SO GOOD. Shame I can’t give 5 stars

melodymcc11

Points +30

Vegan
28 Jun 2021

Awesome little pizza place

Clearly marked vegan options, and two different vegan cheeses available to make any pizza vegan - one a house-made cashew cheese, and the other with no nuts in the ingredients. Staff was very friendly and helpful - they even read me the ingredients on one of the vegan cheeses! We got garlic bread sticks and individual pizzas, and they were delicious!!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Great staff, Delicious food

Cons: Kinda sketchy neighborhood?, Not great parking

MaticusT

Points +36

Vegan
17 Jun 2021

Best pizza ever

I have had a lot of pizza, and this is the best by far that I have literally ever had. Their vegan options are varied and amazing. The crust alone is worthy of praise! 5/5, will go again.

RachelRavenna666

Points +178

Vegan
13 May 2021

Would give 5 stars if could

They offer the most inexpensive and delicious vegan pizza in the area and possibly the US in general. All the vegan pizzas I've tried of theirs are delightful. I stay in Bloomfield hills but drive out to Detroit for this place for whenever I'm craving pizza. They offer amazing vegan cheese(s) that are not daiya 😋 very friendly staff too.

Pros: Inexpensive , Delicious, Friendly staff

Cons: Parallel parking

ChelsJones

Points +111

Vegan
12 Mar 2020

Not great but would love to try other options there

Tried the pulled pjork (not sure if it’s still on the menu) & it was..ok. Not my favorite taste for vegan pizza but love that they have vegan options! I’d like to try more because maybe it was just that particular pizza choice

Pros: Vegan pizza! , Open late

Cons: Didn’t care for bbq

XOXO

Points +1760

Vegan
19 Oct 2019

Plenty of GF and Vegan options!

It can be too crowded but it’s worth it. Lots of options. Enjoy!

purelycarmen

Points +130

Vegan
16 Sep 2019

Creative Vegan Pizza’s

Great service, the pizza came out fast, and we was able to sit out in the patio. They have about six picnic tables with their little green space. It was a beautiful day. It was very relaxing. The pizza was very creative for vegans. The insane cauliflower was my favorite. The Detroit city soda (free refills) was so good! The rock and rye and orange cream soda should be first to sip on.

Pros: One of the few vegan pizzeria’s around Detroit, Tasty pizza for every diet

Cons: None

Davesw

Points +3213

Vegan
06 Jul 2019

Great pizza, most can be vegan

Unusual flavors, and great vegan options. Everything is marked, meat, veg, or vegan.

Great flavors, round or square.

Pros: Multiple vegan cheeses and faux meat options.

KendraAlas

Points +100

Vegan
25 Mar 2019

Best Vegan Pizza 🍕🌱

Hands down best vegan pizza have had to date 🤤😭

Pros: Lots of vegan options , PIZZA

tobby54

Points +113

Vegan
16 Apr 2018

Some of the best vegan pizza.

Great pizza starts with a great crust, and Pie-Sci has some of the best crust I've ever tasted. Their variety of pizzas are great. I really enjoyed the Freaks and Greeks, and the Pear necessities. Pizzas were so delicious that I wish I had them back home. Staff were friendly and helpful.

jlawdev

Points +38

Vegetarian
08 Mar 2018

Totally Fun/ Creative combos

I love these folks.

They have really fun seasonal menus with lots of veg options, but I think their true strength is in their weekly specials. The specials tend to have wacky bob's-burgers-style-pun names, and usually include ingredient combos that seem super goofy, but they (almost) always pull it off!

Their summer menu includes a pizza with strawberries on it, which I though sounded revolting, but was actually great (it also had balsamic reduction, vegan chicken, and basil).
The thin crust is fine. I think their thick crust is better (sort of sicilian style/ in the vein of local institution Buddy's), but it can be a little much if you don't want quite that much bread (or oil)

Pros: Great Variety , Good Taste, Really nice people and shop

Cons: Little Oily, No beers at shop




This page has been viewed 5347 times.