Lacto
Ovo
Australian
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Australian restaurant/coffee shop serves breakfast and light lunches with plenty of vegan choices, plus most meals can be made vegan. Open Wed-Fri 8:00am-4:00pm, Sat-Sun 8:00am-3:00pm. Closed Mon, Tue.


Venue map for Picnic Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by RobBohmer

Daisy_jane

Points +53

Vegan
19 Sep 2023

Incredible choice!

There were several well thought out and delicious items on the menu, plus lovely coffee and several really good cakes, staff are super friendly and location is great

Pros: Multiple options , Great flavour , Good price

Advertisement

TasNN

Points +104

Vegetarian
01 Jul 2023

Mixed experiences

I’ll get the food out of the way - our first visit here was pretty good! So much so, that we wanted to come back. To try some of the sweets in particular, which we didn’t have room for.

However….

We’ve tried to come back. Twice. Both times we didn’t feel particularly welcome or wanted. They were busy, sure, but we were willing to wait. Both times we ended up going elsewhere, and I’m not sure we’ll be back.

To be clear, the service we received while eating there was fine. It was just the way we were handled as prospective customers which felt a bit ordinary.

Pros: Food is good, with a strong vegan selection, Good coffee, Central location

Cons: Small place, sometimes hard to get a spot

Tacocat

Points +130

Vegan
16 Jun 2023

Cute Cafe with Great Food

A really cute pastel-hued Cafe with lots of very tasty savoury and sweet vegan options, including most of the freshly baked cakes and biscuits. I had the vegan tofu florentine and my partner had the soup of the day - mushroom and black pepper. Then finished with a couple of slices of cake. Can highly recommend all these things!

Pros: Lots of tasty vegan options, including cakes, Great coffee, Cute pastel-hued surroundings

HappyHare

Points +740

Vegan
12 Jun 2023

Picnic in the city.

Great sweet and savoury vegan brekky items. Lovely staff who are proud of their food, make their own vegan cakes, very happy to talk about their ingredients, and happy to add or substitute items on a dish. They’re good at working with vegan milks, too.

Open of a Sunday by the Farm Gate Markets.

Updated from previous review on 2021-03-29

Pros: Savoury vegan dishes., Right next to the Sunday Farm Gate markets., Friendly staff, easy to make substitutions.

Cons: Menu includes animal flesh.

aislingwood

Points +107

Vegan
17 Jun 2022

Gluten free goodness!

Such a cute little place with an excellent array of vegan options and gluten free too

Pros: Gluten free , Vegan choices, Affordable

nev

Points +100

Vegan
06 Jun 2022

Food looks better than it tastes

Went here for breakfast one day. Ordered a breakfast, avo with vegan feta on toast, two coffees and two waffles. Came to almost $85 by the time they’d added all the surcharges for swapping regular to vegan options.
Coffee was good, but felt the waffles were more instagrammable than edible. Very pretty and photogenic but tasted quite bland and the coconut ice cream didn’t add anything to it as it was almost flavourless.

Pros: Lots of options

Cons: Very expensive, Surcharges for everything to be made vegan, Bland tasting

RileyHefron

Points +194

Vegan
25 Mar 2022

Cosy & Unique atmosphere

Tucked away in an alley with brick walls and a courtyard surrounding a lone tree, this cute cafe has many vegan options, alternative milks, and outrageous coffee options!!

The beetroot coffee with oat milk was a must!
The chef said he will make any combination of toastie I ask for incl vegan cheese.

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-25

Pros: Chef can make anything to order, Vegan cheese, Creatively tasty

Cons: Not 100% vegan, Limited parking

AmyRenae

Points +218

Vegan
25 Mar 2022

Lovely Cheap Breakfast

Great atmosphere, menu of mostly Vegan options. Very affordable as well.

sprocket41

Points +150

Vegan
07 Jan 2022

Yum

Small cafe with lots of vegan options including standard brunch fare (smashed avo, baked beans, tofu Florentine and waffles) also have vegan ice cream for thick shakes :)

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-07

Pros: Lots of options

Kat4Paramed

Points +665

Vegan
28 Nov 2021

Lots of vegan options

Lots of vegan options. Food was 5/5, however the coffee was rather 1/5.

Wintersahara

Points +193

Vegan
21 Feb 2021

Lots of vegan options and super yummy

Great food and coffee, and friendly staff

Pros: Sweet and savoury waffles

RobBohmer

Points +249

Vegan
29 Jan 2021

Great breakfast

Small pleasant cafe with plenty of vegan options, great breakfasts and light lunches

Pros: Vegan options , Intimate




This page has been viewed 1621 times.