• Pho Play

  • (6)
    5
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Asian
Vietnamese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Locally owned Vietnamese restaurant specializing in pho noodle soups. Has vegan pho soup and vegan vermicelli bun. Note that there are a number of tofu dishes but they're not vegan. Check with staff for options. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Pho Play
© OpenStreetMap contributors

6 Reviews

First Review by SFRobbie

super_marisa

Points +259

Vegan
15 Aug 2023

Vegan Pho!

The Vegan Pho was delicious!

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-16

Pros: 3 clearly labeled vegan options , Delicious food, Friendly, fast service

Advertisement

GoodCook

Points +155

Vegetarian
20 Jul 2023

Not bad

Not many veg* options and not much flavor to my taste. For great vegan Vietnamese and fusion dishes consider instead golden lotus in oakland or golden era in sf.

vegangrocerygrabs

Points +1457

Vegan
21 Nov 2021

Tasty Vegan Pho 🌱

Loved the vibe at Pho Play! They had three clearly marked vegan options on the menu. The vegan pho was tasty and delicious! Filled with tofu and lots of veggies. Great portion sizes for the price.

SoyCoffeeFTW

Points +619

Vegan
29 Jul 2021

Delicious and healthy

The vegan vermicelli is great and comes with peanut sauce. It’s not very flavourful, but it’s just what I need when I want to eat something healthy (ex: not high in fat or salt).

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-29

Pros: Vegan-friendly, Healthy, Affordable

Cons: Limited vegan options

horrorqueen

Points +60

Vegan
11 Aug 2019

The vegan pho is soooo good

The vegan pho is amazing!! The broth is very flavorful & the tofu is thick, firm, & doesn’t fall apart. I always crave it!!

Pros: Pho is amazing , Big portion , Vegan without modification

SFRobbie

Points +1060

Vegan
12 Jan 2019

Dedicated vegan pho in Castro Valley!

Brand new restaurant opened in early Jan 2019 that has two dishes that are delicious: Vegan Pho Soup and Vegan Vermicelli Bun. They are already labeled vegan and do not require any alterations. The pho is especially yummy and filled with lots of fresh veggies and lightly fried and marinated tofu. The "vermicelli bun" dish is pretty much just the pho dish without the broth with some fresh greens mixed in, so it's more of a bowl served chilled. Both dishes were very generously portioned so you probably won't need any sides. The kitchen staff came out with a vegan sauce and a vegan broth that they said we could add to both dishes if we wanted to enhance the flavors, and they perked up what were already very flavorful dishes. I asked the staff if any of the other tofu dishes could be made vegan and she said no, that some ingredient that they get from their supplier has "animal product" in it and they can't remove it. Until that is clarified, we will definitely stick with the two dedicated vegan dishes. The interior is very clean, modern and comfortable. Easy parking because it's part of a strip mall right off of I-580.




This page has been viewed 2515 times.