• Pho - Covent Garden

  • (13)
    25
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Juice bar
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Asian
Vietnamese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. UK chain of Vietnamese restaurants. Vegan options are marked on the menu and include: vegetable summer rolls, spring rolls, Vietnamese salad, pho soup with tofu & mushroom, hot and spicy soup with tofu & mushroom or pak choi, vermicelli rice noodles with tofu & mushroom or veggie spring rolls, curry with vegetables & tofu served with rice, wok-fried noodles with tofu & mushroom. For dips, get the peanut sauce or soy-ginger sauce instead of traditional nuoc cham (contains fish sauce). Feb 2020, reported to have a separate vegan menu with mock chicken and prawnless crackers. Drinks include veggie and fruit juices made to-order. Open Mon-Wed 12:00-22:00, Thu-Sat 12:00-23:00, Sun 12:00-22:00.


Venue map for Pho - Covent Garden
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by marikaweinhardt

LittleAliceFell

Points +1743

Vegan
20 Jan 2024

Gluten-free saviour!

Can’t explain how much I love pho! Pretty much everything can be made vegan by switching to veggie broth, tofu and/or ‘This’ chicken alternative. The food is incredible and it’s so freeing to know the whole chain is celiac society approved, so no need for anxieties around food being contaminated with gluten. The Covent Garden branch is as good as any other! Couldn’t recommend more.

Pros: Tons of vegan options , Almost 100% gluten free

Advertisement

Izzyveg

Points +1788

Vegan
29 Nov 2023

Awesome Pho chain

Great place to try out vegan Pho or vegan Pho with special vegan meat as well as vegan spring rolls. Cozy atmosphere, good service and well-priced. Very authentic flavours and generous portions makes it the perfect place for your Vietnamese lunch.

Pros: Great flavours , Generous Pho portions, Fast service

foxporter

Points +518

Vegan
28 Aug 2023

🧡 Vietnam

I love vietnamese food, and here's a good place to eat it 😍

jhaertter20

Points +513

Mostly Veg
09 May 2023

Love this place

I get their tofu and mushroom pho and it’s great!

hoppycow

Points +508

Vegan
20 Oct 2022

Good Pho, bad sides

Good vegan pho, lots of noodles which is good and a nice light flavour. Not the best I’ve ever tasted but it’s reliable! The vegan sides are disappointing and not worth the price. Busy early on as In the theatre district, so recommend booking. Service can be a bit slow because of this.

mira-bai

Points +14

Vegetarian
08 Jul 2022

Definitely coming back

This restaurant was a hit to the whole family! Very good food and juices

Pros: Lots of vegetarian options

dorahomoki

Points +175

Vegan
04 Oct 2021

You get what you pay for

I tried Pho Cafe at different cities in the UK, so this place wasn’t a big surprise. If you are looking for a good, but not too expensive Pho it’s your place. They offer original and spicy versions as well, both worth a try! But be careful, the waiting time is horrible, I had to wait 1 hour to get my food. Also, it’s very dark in there.

Updated from previous review on 2021-10-04

Cons: Very-very long waiting time

·X·

Points +17183

Vegan
13 May 2021

Pho

Pho is a great option when you're looking for a vegan clear broth noodle soup and don't have time to go through all the mom-and-pop listings to find something a bit more authentic (and vegan). What's nice about Pho is they offer at least two vegan broths, one is closer to normal pho broth and the other is a spicy broth (but tends to be very limey). I've honestly been a bit underwhelmed by both broths at multiple Pho locations, but you can always add loads of sriracha and other toppings to your tasting. I love their tofu, which is very porous and holds a good volume of broth inside. The pho soup is made with the very thin pho noodles (not my favorite) and the spicy soup is made with the thick/round noodles, like spaghetti noodles (I love this noodle option).

My overall verdict is, this is great if you're in a pinch or need to find a place that will satisfy vegans and non-vegans alike, as there are Pho locations everywhere and this is quite convenient. However, I'm more inclined to choose a local mom-and-pop if it's an option. Moreover, I've found the execution to be inconsistent across Pho locations.

Overall Rating: 3-3.5

wilsonschneidg

Points +2588

Vegan
04 Feb 2020

It’s okay

The food is relatively tasteless. There is a substantial number of vegan options though, and it’s good if you are with a meat eater. When I visited the staff were really not great, hopefully that is not always the case!

Bob.Sacamano

Points +336

Vegan
13 Aug 2019

Great Pho

Although it’s a chain it was really good. My pho was delicious and had lots of veg and tofu!

RachelJenkins

Points +2512

Vegan
11 Jun 2019

Great vegan and gluten free options

Pho has fab vegan and gluten free options, as well as being a good place to go with non-vegan family/ friends. The peanut sauce and ca’ri with Tofu are personal favourites in addition to the enoki mushroom pho

mgauthier4

Points +28

Vegan
13 Apr 2019

Really yummy vegan options

We got salad rolls to start and the curry rice option was really flavorful and coconuty. Pho was good but better when I added chili oil.

marikaweinhardt

Points +5134

Vegan
01 Jan 2019

Come pho the curry

Long, low-ceilinged dining room in brown tones studded with large wicker lamp shades. Unobtrusive dance music playlist. Excellent Vietnamese curry offers delicious mushrooms and generous tofu in a mild sauce of satisfying silky richness to complement the al dente broken rice. The chopped peanut garnish lends crunch and flavour on the finish. Find vitality in the fresh, sour and sinus-clearing 'spicy green' broth. It comes with an appealing customisation aspect of a separate plate of coriander and beansprouts, and goes down great with a splash of the chilli oil provided on tables.

Pros: Prompt, friendly service




This page has been viewed 3018 times.