Pfannenzauber

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 38 reviews )
Contact
0241-9610569
Find

Suermondtplatz 12 (at Harscampstraße), Aachen, Germany, 52062

Contemporary vegan cuisine. English is spoken but the menu is only in German. Reported reopened January 2017 under new owners with a slightly different model although still vegan. Please let Happy Cow know details. Open Mon-Sun 12:00pm-10:00pm.

Category: Vegan, Western, Beer/Wine, Take-out

Reviews (38)

First Review by ewecs

Superbe - Edit

Premier restaurant testé en Allemagne et très belle surprise ! Service rapide, serveurs gentils et patients (parlent parfaitement anglais), et bien sûr c'est bon !

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Rein veganes Restaurant in Aachen - Edit

Gemütliches Restaurant mit monatlich wechselnder Karte. Das Essen ist lecker und der Service gut. Die Portionen könnten etwas größer sein.

Pros: Alles vegan

Cons: teilweise etwas kleine Portionen

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A REAL NICE ONE!!! - Edit

There was a concert on the night we ate there, we had a really good time!! The crew is really nice and the food was satisfying :) a place to return to definitely!!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good food for a good price - Edit

We ordered different dishes and both had a wonderful meal. I had a burger with fries and my friend had a pasta made from vegetables. Both were great. The staff was very friendly and helpful and because we came in very late we were allowed to stay there after closing time. I would definitely go there again when I'm around.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cozy Place, Friendly Owner, Good Burgers - Edit

Pfannenzauber reopened in 2017 under a new concept. Still vegan, but now there's some kind of event (live music, lectures etc.) on some evenings. We found it to be a cozy retreat from the cold weather, and were offered some delicious burgers by a sympathetic owner. They also have a variety of great lemonades. The dessert was ridiculously tiny for the price though, that needs to change! All in all, I definitely recommend this place and would surely go there again myself.

Update: I've been there again, and I tried a green curry. It had no flavours, was a small portion, and definitely too expensive for what I got. This needs some work, please.



Updated from previous review on 2017-04-25

Pros: Friendly, Comfy, Delicious (burgers)

Cons: Dessert overprized (or undersized)!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great (again) after owner changed - Edit

Visiting the Pfannenzauber for years on a regular base, I got kind of weary of the same old dishes. So when the owner changed at the end of 2016, I gave it some months and came back again in April 2017.
The place has changed completely. It has become brighter, more comfy and has still the same warmth as before, without the countless decorations and stuff everywhere. I ordered a large starter, a burger and a soft drink and payed around 22€ which is, compared to the portion size and the tastyness more than fair.

The staff was friendly as usual and I like the new dishes and atmosphere very much, as well as the food-sharing concept. Will be back soon!

Pros: Tasty food, Fair prices, Friendly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

leider nein! - Edit

Die Portionen sind riesig aber es ist alles sehr fettig. Die Räumlichkeiten sind mit massig Deko vollgebombt und es ist ungemütlich.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

delicious - Edit

went there about a year ago, great food back then

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great! - Edit

Just before Christmas we decided to take a little detour to Aachen, on our way back home from Phantasialand.
Via HappyCow we found this 100% vegan restaurant.
It was a very good experience! We found out that the restaurant was opened for only one week. Because of that there were a couple of minor glitches in the service. For instance: with my soup I got normal bread, instead of something gluten-free, which I specified I must have while ordering our food. But to make up for it I received a tea, free of charge. That was nice!
But the most important thing was: the food was great! We enjoyed it very much. The cauliflower soup with cocos was very tasteful.As was my curry. And the dessert... oh my...!
We are not close by Aachen. But if we would be in the neighborhood, looking for a place to eat, we will definitely visit again!

Updated from previous review on 2017-01-03

Pros: Very tasteful food, Owner is very friendly, 100% vegan

Cons: Minor glitches in service (will improve I'm sure)

2 Responses
Read More

EvaBelgium 06 May 2017 - Could you easily find something gluten-free to eat there...?
Thanks in advance!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Luapske82 08 May 2017 - Hi Eva,
It was easy yes.
But I have to add: I don't have a Coeliac disease.
I needed to test a gluten intolerance, but by now I know I don't have that as well.
So I can't say for 100% sure it was completely gluten free.
What I was certain about is that none of the ingredients on my plate contained any gluten.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best burgers - Edit

Even my omnivore mother said their burger was the best one she ever had!

Pros: delicious, inexpensive, friendly staff

Cons: none

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

wonderful! - Edit

A very nice Restaurant. offers 4 different dishes changing every day. You can choose a menue out of the 4 daily and get an appetizer, the Main dish and a desert. the taste was really good and everything was inexpensive. i can highly recommend this cute Restaurant!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yes, Yes and Yes! - Edit

I love ordering anything on the card because its 100% vegan and I don't have to think about it.
The food does often have higher fat/oil ingredients.
Occasionally I've had problems with everything on the plate being warm/hot but this rarely occurs.
I always found the food delicious and I am happy to go back again and again!

Pros: Vegan, Homemade, Friendly staff

Cons: Not the largest selection, Not always open (Carnival,mid afternoon), No delivery

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good and 100% Vegan - Edit

Arrived 7/4/16 without a reservation and had good service and an enjoyable meal overall.

There is a different menu every day which I gather they normally put on their Facebook page every day. You choose one of 4 main courses and then have the option to add a starter and a dessert (or both) if you wish.

The food was mostly good but not fantastic (one of our group said their food was bland). Overall it was a good experience but some of their dishes could be tastier.

The only main criticism is that the menu was only in German.

Pros: Everything is 100% Vegan, Plenty of choice

Cons: Menu only in German

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice place but not inexpensive - Edit

The menus are a nice option in this calm, relaxing atmosphere. For a small menu, they offer some nice variation in tastes. Staff spoke english. HappyCow lists this place as inexpensive but I would say it's moderate.

Pros: Nice dining experience, Great dish presentation, vegan!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

nice restaurant - Edit

Arrived on Friday evening without reservation, got a small one person desk with vegan books and magasines. Staff was very nice, offered a menu with 3 courses. Overall food was okay but not very tasty. I recommend this place if you are bored with eating falafel in the city center.

Pros: friendly staff

Cons: a bit expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Omnomnom - Edit

This super cute restaurant is easy to find and an absolute GO GO when visiting Aachen! The restaurant has some beautiful artsy pictures as decoration (who are also for sale).

The menu changes every day and it shows you what products are in the drinks the serve. My visit was on an Thursday so me and my boyfriend both choose the 'Pfannenzauber Burger', it was served with potato wedges, ketchup and vegan mayo.
It was DELICIOUS!! If I could, I would go back every day to choose something from their menu.

Pros: Menu, Atmosphere, Location

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Pfannenzauber Aachen - Edit

Super, dass wir hier gelandet sind!!

Die Kombinationen der einzelnen Gericht-Komponenten waren super. Wir haben das 3-Gänge-Menü bestellt, dazu einmal Rhabarber-Schorle und einmal Maracuja-Schorle.

Wenn Ihr wirklich gutes Essen mögt, solltet Ihr zum Pfannenzauber kommen.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Topp Tipp in Aachens Gastronomie - Edit

Die abwechslungsreiche Wochenkarte mit täglich wechselnden Gerichten, der super nette und engagierte Service, sowie die Sonderveranstaltungen sind der Hit und machen den Besuch zum Erlebnis. Unbedingt hingehen. Nicht nur für vegan lebende Menschen sehr zu empfehlen!

Pros: Leckeres und abwechslungsreiches Essen, Enorm freundicher Service, Gemütliche Atmosphäre

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar
Mostly Vegetarian

  Contributions +9

köstliches essen! - Edit

Tu dir einen gefallen... gehe im pfannenzauber essen. Es ist großartig! ! :-) :-)

Pros: leckeres essen, nette bedienung, gemütliches Ambiente

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

heel tevreden/ lekker - Edit

ik heb in dit Restaurant geeten en ik vind het eten heel goed en lekker. De Service is heel vriendelijk en aufmerksa.
Ik kann dit Restaurant Aanbevelen.
Ik ben tevreden.

Pros: lekker, service is top, sfeer

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar
Vegan

  Contributions +14

Abwechslungsreiches Essen und schönes Ambiente - Edit

Ein absolutes Muss, bei jedem meiner Besuche in Aachen.

Pros: alles vegan, freundliches Personal, kreativ

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Still Aachen's no. 1 choice for vegans - Edit

Okay, I've got to be honest: The intérieur looks like some witches are living here, the font of it's sign looks like being stolen from Harry Potter, and the overall atmosphere in this restaurant doesn't seem to be "professional".

Nevertheless, the waitresses have always been very friendly and helpful, the food has always tasted good (not an apocalypse, but really solid yummy), and the diversity of a daily changing menu is gorgeous.

I am pretty new to Aachen, but Pfannenzauber made my start here become very easy. I really enjoy the familiar atmosphere and the specials like sunday brunch buffet with scrumbled tofu or italian dinner buffet with Pizza and Tiramisu.

In my hometown Berlin, this place would just be one of many, but in Aachen it's your first choice as a vegan! Go vegan, go Pfannenzauber!

Pros: Totally vegan, Friendly stuff, Specials like brunch and italian dinner

Cons: Cheesy furnishing, Closed on sunday, Portion sizes vary depending on cookee

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lovely Restaurant in a lovely city - Edit

Pfannenzauber ("pan magic") is located close to the very center of Aachen, at a pretty little square. The interior of the restaurant is just as nice, it's very relaxed, but still beautiful and attention is paid to every detail. I was served quickly and very friendly. However, I was a bit disappointed by the menu: There is a daily menu with a set starter and a dessert, and you can choose from four mains. I really think there should be more choices! In the end I opted for the carrot and potato balls with salad. While the balls were delicious, they were small and there were just four of them. On the other hand, the salad was huge, but totally boring and bland.
The starter was a lentil and capsicorn soup which was very good, and the dessert was pineapple and vanilla ice cream - and it really was to die for!

With my tea, the bill came to 16,50€, which was ok.

Altogether, I really enjoyed my lunch at this restaurant. There are a few things that could be improved, but I still totally recommend it!

Pros: Great food, Friendly service, Lovely atmosphere

Cons: Lack of choices

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Would be worth going to anywhere - Edit

Splendid place. Simple menu but with enough variety to please many tastes. Tasteful decor. Very reasonable prices (but cash only). Friendly staff. Enjoyed every aspect of the experience. A great vegetarian choice!
Updated from previous review on Saturday June 28, 2014

Pros: food choice and quailty, prices, staff and decor

Cons: doesn't take credit cards

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great vegan restaurant - Edit

Love, love, love this place! The atmosphere is really familiar. It is a small restaurant, which feels more like you were sitting in someone's living room. On each table there are some games (Mikado, card games) or books to pass the time while you wait for your delicious meal.
They work with daily menus. There are 4 main dishes to choose from, one starter and one dessert. You can also pick one main dish and make it a 3-course menu (which include the starter, the chosen main dish and a dessert). The menu changes every day. So if you're a picky person it might be a good idea to look at the online menu first ( http://www.pfannenzauber-aachen.de/Speisekarte/SK.pdf ). The menu also comes in two size (normal, small).

Pros: Nice staff, great atmosphere, Good food, Good price

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good vegan food. - Edit

We ate here on 4 December 2013, pleased to find a completely vegan restaurant in Aachen. The food was good and reasonably priced. The menu changes daily. The waitress spoke English but the menu was only in German. However, she lent us a German food dictionary so we could translate most of the items.

Pros: Good, vegan food, Friendly and welcoming

Cons: Menu only in German

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Pflanzenzauber - Edit

Sehr nette Bedienung. Man wartet zwar ein bisschen auf sein Essen aber das Ambiente und die Geselligkeit können bei etwas zu trinken genossen werden. Es wird auf alle Wünsche eingegangen. Der Preis ist gehoben aber ok.

Very friendly waitresses. You have to wait a little bit for your food but the atmosphere and company with a something to drink make up for that. Every wish is taken care of. The price is sophisticated but ok.

Pros: Sehr freundlich/very friendly, Lecker/tasty, Ambitioniert/ambitious

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Aachen Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Pfannenzauber closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 6808 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support