Vegan
Japanese
Organic
Mediterranean
Beer/Wine

Vegan cafe offering Mediterranean and Japanese pre-fix menu, soft drinks, natural wines, sake, beers and spirits. Also offers house-made vegan cakes and desserts to take away and hosts monthly vegan events. Uses seasonal vegetables from local farmers. Fully vegan as of May 2023. Previously located at Tominokōjidōri Shimogyō-ku 92-2. Open Wed-Sun 11:30am-2:30pm. Call ahead for holiday and irregular closures.


Venue map for Pettirosso
© OpenStreetMap contributors

44 Reviews

First Review by makiko64

anna2468

Points +64

Vegan
15 Nov 2023

Really special

Pettirosso is such a beautiful experience - thoughtfully prepared food, warm service, and diverse and interesting dishes; each bite is a flavor bomb. I’m so glad I stopped by!

Advertisement

YokeMunLim

Points +973

Vegan
12 Jul 2023

One of the best restaurants in Kyoto

I can't believe it took so long to write a review since I go there so much, but hands down one of the best restaurants in Kyoto. The vibe is cozy and warm, while the food is always fresh and flavorful, prepared with much love and care by the very talented chef Ayako. The owners are so welcoming and lovely and I always have an amazing time while I'm there.
I love this place so much and would recommend them to everyone! Please pay them a visit if you are in town, but call ahead to make a reservation as they are always full.

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-12

Pros: Delicious food made with local produce, Generous portions , Friendly and cozy atmosphere

pettirossokyoto

29 May 2019

Hello Yukilim, we are super proud to have supporter like you! Thank you for coming here and we hope we will be always getting better and better! Stay safe and see you!

Libby Ann

Points +96

Vegan
24 May 2023

Fantastic Food and Adorable Little Place

I loved all the food. So delicious and so full of vegetables. I got pasta and my partner got the Pettirosso plate, which was Mediterranean with hummus and eggplant. Service was great and great atmosphere.

Pros: Food , Service, Atmosphere

itsrinokt_

Points +3348

Vegan
25 Dec 2022

Such a fantastic place! 10/10

My friend and I went there for Christmas lunch, and had a delicious plate lunch with a piece of home-made bread and beats soup. One of the best lunch plate I’ve ever had. Definitely recommending this place
for a visit if you’re in the area. Booking a table in advance is recommended.

Updated from previous review on 2022-12-25

SakuraJennifer

Points +1569

Vegan
25 Dec 2022

Amazing place

Healthy vegetarian and vegan place full of flavor. The place serves a varying menu which is so good. All organic and non gmo and healthy. Would recommend 10/10. Cozy atmosphere too! Oh and the home made bread with Italian herbs is yummy.

Aubrey.Lynn

Points +47

Vegan
02 Aug 2021

Absolutely delicious.

Delicious and refreshing with a fun atmosphere. The staff speaks English and there are tons of gluten free options as well!

Pros: Tons of vegan options, Gluten free options, English speaking staff

pettirossokyoto

12 Aug 2021

Thank you for your review, Aubrey! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our place, we hope that you are having a good continuatiion! Thank you!

DanielleRivera

Points +47

Vegetarian
27 Jun 2021

5 stars if the app would allow

Their food is flavorful and healthy. Best meal I have had since moving to japan. I will send all my friends here. They also go by Pettirosso Kyoto. I had trouble finding them on the app with just Pettirosso.

Pros: Flavorful, Lovely staff, Cozy atmosphere and great coffee

Cons: None

pettirossokyoto

01 Jul 2021

Hello and thank you, Danielle. We are very happy that you enjoyed our place even in those days that we have a short business time and a reduced menu! Thank you for your support and we hope to see you again!

anand.s

Points +51

Vegetarian
25 May 2020

Lovely little joint, especially if you're looking for Italian food

Cosy place that has limited seating. I was served a vegan pasta of sorts as "omakase" (chef's choice) that tasted insanely good. Married couple owners speak very good English, one is a Japanese and the other is Italian. They were super helpful with guiding you through the menu as well as pairing a great cup of sake to go with the meal. Wish I had space for one of their vegan deserts!

pettirossokyoto

04 Jun 2020

Hello Anand, thanks for spending your time on writing this comment! We are waiting for you to come back one day, maybe just for a dessert! Thank you again and stay safe!

Danielaila1

Points +74

Vegan
07 Feb 2020

Delicioso!

A good surprise on Kyoto streets! Gourmet and innovative, good flavors and service

Pros: Tasty food and different , Complete menu, main dishes salad and great bread, Friendly staff, English available

pettirossokyoto

16 Feb 2020

Muchas gracias Daniela! Thank you very much, we are super happy that you liked our place! Que les vaya bien, buena suerte!

umu

Points +60

Vegan
28 Dec 2019

5 stars (if I could)!

Definitely one of the best meals I had in Japan! LOTS of vegan options. I'm not a very healthy eater, and it absolutely blew my mind how good the food was here, even though all of it was so healthy.

pettirossokyoto

06 Jan 2020

Hello Umu, thank you ! We really focus very much on Veganism, and we are super happy when positive people like you enjoy our place! Have a nice continuation!

spodaddyo

Points +25

Mostly Veg
18 Dec 2019

Five Star Review

If the Cow allowed PettiRosso would have 5 stars; think of it as a vegan restaurant with accommodations for omnivores. Think of it the way you’d consider a omnivore restaurant that works with you to provide a healthy dining choice when you want to eat there. We ate there tonight, all vegan dinner and desert, and it was fantastic: lovingly prepared, delicious, fresh, healthy, perfect. House vegan bread, too.
It’s a tiny place. Reservations almost required. Come with friends you want to talk to and enjoy the comfy space, the attention to detail, the lovely presentation, the fantastic staff (owners, I think) and the delicious food. Great drinks selection, too!

pettirossokyoto

26 Dec 2019

Hello, thank you for taking time to write this positive review! Actually we focus very much on Vegan, No waste, Organic and recycling , to try to keep this earth as it is... then we are very happy that you understood our felling! Thank you!

Macou

Points +85

Vegetarian
20 Nov 2019

Wow excellent ! One of the best restaurant in Kyoto!

Nice cosy restaurant with high quality food

Pros: Many vegan option, Share menu option, Italian and Japanese cuisine at is best

Cons: None

pettirossokyoto

24 Nov 2019

Thank you Macou! We are very happy that you like our place, thank you for coming and for your positive review!

_Renée_

Points +86

Vegan
02 Nov 2019

Simply delicious! 5-star worthy

We found this gem by accident when looking for vegan friendly restaurants in Kyoto and went there for lunch.
They offered a lunch set (¥1‘700) and it was all vegan/vegetarian the day we went there. First course was a small salad with raw vegetables and a citrusy dressing. Next you get to choose three appetizers (out of five options, four vegan/one vegetarian). They are served tapas-style, small but delicately arrangend. As a main course you have a choice of four, all of them vegan.
The owners, an Italian-Japanese couple, are extremely friendly and welcoming.
Would give five stars, but Holy Cow doesn’t allow it since they apparently also serve fish for dinner.

Pros: Many vegan options, Lovely interior, very intimate, Very welcoming hosts

Cons: Small place, only 6 seats

pettirossokyoto

06 Nov 2019

Hello Renèe, thank you to be one of the first costumer to come here for lunch! We decided that for lunch we will make just vegan and vegetarian food, we just started it, but we are very happy that you liked our style and food! Thank you again!

aengber

Points +58

Vegan
22 Oct 2019

Very very good

Got a reservation through the website (request a quote) and got an immediate confirmation for our reservation. The owner was super nice and helpful in guiding us through the menu. Was going to get a basic cocktail but he recommended some of the cocktails using the syrups that he creates and it was definitely the right choice. Very unique and tasty. As for the food, it was mostly vegan options so I tried a couple of dishes and both were amazing. Very cute with tasty food, highly recommend.

pettirossokyoto

24 Oct 2019

Hello, than you very much for coming here and for your very gentle comment. We are happy that you enjoyed our food and our 'Booze', have a nice continuation and a happy life.

kimmendoza

Points +33

Vegetarian
16 Oct 2019

Our best meal in Kyoto so far

Would give it 5 stars if I could! Fantastic meal for 6 of us - a mixture of vegans and vegetarians and pescatarians - there was something for everyone. We all thoroughly enjoyed every mouthful. Delicious and beautifully presented. Need to book ahead.

Pros: Interesting Japanese /Italian fusion , Biodynamic wines , Cosy atmosphere

Cons: Need to book as it’s small

pettirossokyoto

22 Oct 2019

Thank you for your nice review! We are happy that you had a good meal here, and we hope that you will find other nice places on your trip! Have a nice continuation.

bkirk

Points +52

Vegan
26 Jul 2019

A pleasant spot for a nice meal

I had the vegan set, which included soup, foccacia (delicious), salad, tapas, and a main course. I added a glass of wine and a chocolate chip muffin for dessert. The owner is Italian, and it's interesting to hear him speak Japanese with a thick accent. We chatted about wine and comparing American, Italian, and Japanese trends.

Pros: Great options, Quiet street and location

Cons: Very small, you may be turned away if it's busy.

pettirossokyoto

31 Jul 2019

Hello Kirk, thank you! We have been happy to chat with you, sometime is nice to share different point of view! I’m happy too that you find my accent interesting! Have a nice continuation and thanks again

LotusDesFours

Points +21

Vegetarian
27 Jun 2019

A gem!

The food here was great!
Delicious and good value and carefully prepared meals with nice fresh ingredients!
The staff were friendly and we were so happy to find this place in Kyoto!

Pros: Great food, Beautifully presented, Friendly staff

pettirossokyoto

04 Jul 2019

Hey Hey, Thank you very much for your review! It has been a pleasure to have you guys as a costumer, all the best!

Johanni_87

Points +44

Herbivore
21 Jun 2019

Hidden gem

Very cosy, small restaurant hidden in the streets of Kyoto. Friendly owners with freshly cooked foods. You get the choice between vegan and veggie meals but they also offer fish based dishes. The different choices are highlighted in the (English) menu.
The pineapple ice cream for dessert was delicious! I highly recommend this place!

Pros: Many different vegan and vegetarian options, Owners speak English, menu is in English, Fresh, local ingredients

Cons: Small (better book a table)

pettirossokyoto

26 Jun 2019

Hello Johanni, thank you for coming here and for the positive review! We are trying to have as much as we can vegan and vegetarian dishes, in order to promote that kind of lifestyle among the `not so interested` customer. Thank you for you support!

HappyEki

Points +24

Vegan
17 Jun 2019

Super Restaurant!

Ein kleines, nettes Restaurant mit mehreren veganen Optionen. Es gibt sogar ein komplettess veganes Menü (mit Suppe, Tapas/Salat und Hauptgang).
Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und die Preise sind auch sehr angemessen. Nur weiterzuempfehlen!

Hat eigentlich ganz klar 5 Sterne verdient!

Pros: Große Auswahl an veganen Gerichten, Freundliches Personal, Preise angemessen

pettirossokyoto

20 Jun 2019

Hell Eki, Thank you for your gentle review... according to Google Traslator!
We are happy that you enjoyed Pettirosso, thank you again!

sarahrreed

Points +55

Vegetarian
12 May 2019

Favorite dinner in Kyoto

After being unable to get in for dinner the first time we saw Pettirosso, our ryokan host booked us a reservation. This meal was our favorite dinner in Kyoto, both because of the food and the owners, who were welcoming and friendly. The owners spoke English and the menu was clearly marked to show what was vegan, vegetarian, or contained fish. My husband and I had the dinner set menus (mine vegan, his vegetarian). Both were delicious and allowed us to try multiple items without filling up too much. We shared several vegan desserts, which were also tasty. The ingredients were fresh and carefully prepared. Great whisky as well. I would give them 5 stars but Happy Cow won't let me as they do serve fish. Make a reservation and enjoy!

Pros: Delicious food, Friendly owners

Cons: Popular, so you need a reservation

pettirossokyoto

17 May 2019

Hello Sara, we are very happy that you liked our place!Thank you for the nice review and for the photos! We hope that everything is going great, thanks again!

matthiascalitz

Points +13

Vegetarian
29 Mar 2019

Absolutely fantastic

Finding this place was the best part of our japan trip (food related). They are very friendly and they offer completely vegetarian and vegan options with some fish for pescatarians. The food is absolutely fantastic and unique and saved my dad and i from another night of a simple margarita pizza

pettirossokyoto

03 Apr 2019

Thanks Matthias, for coming here and for the nice review! We hope that you had a great time in Japan, stay safe and thank you again!

jimprobable

Points +123

Vegan
12 Jan 2019

Another kyoto favourite

Fantastic service, great cosy restaurant & very creative and interesting food. We had a fantastic dinner set with soup, 4x tapas, a main & foccaccia. Also we had cake for dessert. Delicious. All beers recommended were great & lots of homemade drinks. Great!

Pros: Great fusion Italian/Japanese meal, Homemade drink selection & beers, Wonderful service

pettirossokyoto

15 Jan 2019

Thank Jim, we are beer lovers and we are happy that you enjoyed our small selection! Thanks also for the nice comment, have a nice continuation!

BenoitGran

Points +599

Vegan
05 Jan 2019

Good and nice staff and atmosphere

A few vegan options, nice staff and cosy. We ordered the daikon with yuzu miso, the pesto pasta, the korokke and the focaccia, which were very good.

Pros: A few vegan options, Tasty, Nice place and staff

pettirossokyoto

15 Jan 2019

Hello Benoit, thank you for your support! We are happy that you liked Pettirosso, we are working to improve our place! Thank you!

paulpearne

Points +53

Vegan
16 Dec 2018

'At home' style cozy restaurant

Best place i found in Kyoto for Vegetarian and Vegan. Quality food for good price, creativity and perfect service. Great drink too!

Pros: Quality price unbeatable, Owners friendly and super relaxed

pettirossokyoto

23 Dec 2018

Thanks Paul, we are very happy that you came here and you enjoyed our place! enjoy the rest of your life!

emily991

Points +91

Vegan
28 Nov 2018

One of our favourite places in Japan

The food at Pettirosso was wonderful- so fresh and tasty. The vegan creme brûlée was particularly fantastic. The owners (an Italian man and his Japanese wife) were so friendly and chatted to us about the local culture and community. My partner is GF and the man was able to explain what on the menu was GF and even offered to modify it. The prices were very reasonable and the wine was nice. We are planning on going back to try more of the menu!

Pros: Plenty of fresh vegan options, Interesting menu options, Great atmosphere

pettirossokyoto

02 Dec 2018

Hello Emily and thank you for coming here at Pettirosso! Sorry for the late reply, you already came back ! Have a nice life!

MD79

Points +18

Vegan
17 Nov 2018

Super!!

Great place. Everything is delicious. Everything is Fresh and Homemade. I want to write more but I m finishing my good Vegan Apple pie 😊

Pros: Yes

pettirossokyoto

20 Nov 2018

Thank you for coming here and for such a enthusiastic review! We are happy to have guest like ou! Thank you again

Tamars

Points +52

Vegan
20 Oct 2018

Wonderful

Our entire dinner at Pettirosso was wonderful!
Still thinking about the vegan bolognese and we we could go back. the owners are super nice!

Pros: excellent food, nice vibe, friendly staff

pettirossokyoto

26 Oct 2018

Hello Tamar and thank you for coming here! We are happy that you had a good time here, hope to see you again!




This page has been viewed 10460 times.