Lacto
International
Western
Mediterranean
Mexican
Bakery
Middle Eastern
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Offers vegan and vegetarian meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. No longer fully vegan as of Jan 2020. Seats 10 comfortably but can squeeze a little more. Call ahead to confirm. Relocated from Nishimachi Kitashirakawa. NOTE: Please verify if still vegetarian. Reported to serve meat March 2023. Open Mon 12:00pm-10:00pm, Wed-Sat 12:00pm-10:00pm.


Venue map for PELGAG
© OpenStreetMap contributors

44 Reviews

First Review by fr00tcrunch

SandraMirey

Points +21

Vegan
04 Dec 2023

Curry vegano, pero necesita ventilación

El local es muy hipster situado en la segunda planta, caben 4 mesas.

Hay dos opciones veganas: plato de verduras variadas y curry muy picante.
También un postre de chocolate con ron.

Pedimos el curry, con 4 guarniciones y sopa de leche de coco, estaba rico pero es muy picante. El arroz un poco pasado, pero los encurtidos muy ricos.

El dueño muy simpático pero no tiene ventilación el local y sales oliendo mucho a comida. Incluso cuando llegamos había una gran humareda de la falta de extracción.

Aproximadamente 1500 yenes el plato


Obligatoriamente tienes que pedir bebida (que no sea agua)

Pros: Encurtidos ricos, Local con decoración interesante

Cons: Un poco caro, No hay ventilación y huele mucho a comida

Advertisement

Aliceadeux

Points +49

Vegan
14 Sep 2023

Overrated

The food was fine but the menu they offer is pretty much just the same meal rearranged with different stuff added. The drink menu is very varied but drinks are limited to one pp. The location is good and the interior has sort of a hipster vibe to it but the toilet was tiny and the faucet barely worked. The place could also benefit from a new air con because the smell of fried food is quite heavy.
All in all I can't really recommend this place with so many other better options in the area.

Pros: Price, Location

Cons: Food, Facilities

ArnoVantieghem

Points +74

Vegetarian
01 Sep 2023

Dissapointed main course, great dessert

Having read great reviews and looking to eat something different from the usual ramen I decided to try the curry. It tasted very sour and some of the veggies were not great. I had the mint-rum-chocolatecake as dessert and it was great!

AndreaFratoni

Points +19

Vegetarian
26 Aug 2023

Many very good vegan options!

Serve meet and fish with many vegan option. Very nice coloured and friendly place!

Milaaukema

Points +48

Vegan
06 Aug 2023

Lots of vegan options

Vegan options for most dishes, everything was so tasty - good quality and well made food! We came here twice it was so yummy 🫶

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-06

Pros: Variety of vegan + vegetarian options , Very friendly staff in a beautiful setting , Best vegan food in Kyoto

Tessalinvb

Points +21

Vegetarian
06 Jul 2023

Fried rice

Food was delicious and the vibe of the restaurant was very cool.

Nina33

Points +16

Vegan
07 May 2023

Tasty

It was very delicious but the serving was a little bit to small. There are different vegan options on the menu. The vegan meals are labeled and there is also an english menu.

SarahQuijote

Points +127

Vegan
26 Apr 2023

Cute owner and amazing food

Beautiful and cute restaurant operated by a sweet man that prepares everything on his own. We went there first to try the cake based on recommendation from others. He served it with a beetroot ice cream and it both tasted amazing. We also ordered the redwood chai tea which was the best chai tea I ever had! So rich of spices! Highly recommend to try it.

In fact we loved the cafe so much that we went there again for lunch we was also beautiful prepared and super tasty.

Updated from previous review on 2018-11-04

Pros: Delicious food, Cute owner, Amazing Chai Tea

Nattata

Points +365

Vegan
25 Apr 2023

Good late eats

Very cool atmosphere. Delicious, filling curry plate. Open later than other nearby places. Good english support.

Pros: Cool vibe, Open later than nearby options

Cons: Must order a drink with meal

jmkk

Points +39

Mostly Veg
13 Apr 2023

Full of flavor

While mostly vegan, there are only about 6 different types of food that you can get together or in different combos. Portions quite small. Really flavorful!

Pros: Almost exclusively vegan, Nice vibe

Cons: Options are limited

Monkipp

Points +30

Vegetarian
10 Apr 2023

Very tasty

This was a great menu - it worked well for our children as well and we all really enjoyed the food. There’s only 1 meat dish on the menu (mutton), no fish, and most of the rest of the menu is vegan.

Pros: Lots of choice, delicious , English menu but not too touristy, Open all day

Vegan.honey

Points +960

Vegan
07 Apr 2023

Cool place

I enjoyed the aesthetic of this place. I went at 6.30 on a Friday night and didn’t have to wait in a line so that was good.
Tempeh was really tasty

emesefabian

Points +631

Vegan
02 Apr 2023

Delicious food in grungy surroundings

We really enjoyed our dinner here, everything on the plate was delicious. We got the curry plate and the falafel curry plate. The style of the place is very hipster/grungy with techno music.

Pros: Aromatic, delicious food , Quick service

Cons: Surroundings could be cleaner

jollieduck

Points +1339

Vegan
19 Mar 2023

Meat served here

I ordered the mixed noodle with hot spicy tomato peanut sauce, which was marked as “vegan-friendly.” It was delicious with a lovely presentation, actually surprising for the grungy interior of the place. It wasn’t too spicy, just a bit.

This place serves meat - there is a mutton dish on the menu. Other than that, an omelette, and the option of dairy milk in some of the drinks, the rest is vegan.

While it’s open until 11pm, last order is 10pm.

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-19

HannahSutherland

Points +49

Vegetarian
18 Mar 2023

Delicious dinner!

Very nice vegetarian dinner spot

ErikvH.

Points +1228

Vegan
11 Mar 2023

Wonderful surprise

We were struggling to find a restaurant that was still open, when Happy Cow directed us to Pelgag, a small place on the second floor of an inconspicuous building. The motley interior with concert flyers on the walls, random books on shelves and tables that encourage the guests to scribble on them, did not prepare us for some of the best food we’ve had in Japan. Truly exceptional and orginal dishes full of flavor and spices. The menu had about five or six vegan friendly options. Recommended!

Pros: Delicious flavor and spices, Good price

Cons: Limited seating

NikWolf

Points +83

Vegetarian
09 Mar 2023

Vegan and Vegetarian options

Really nice place with delicious food, 100% recommended. You can eat vegan or vegetarian (clearly labeled in menu).

Pros: Delicious food with diverse tastes, Nice interior , Friendly staff

Cons: A bit too small portions

boldie

Points +1247

Vegan
06 Mar 2023

tasty but small portion size

really really really good food with really nice flavour but a bit small portion size.. i was still pretty hungry after my noodles

franjeria

Points +33

Vegan
03 Mar 2023

Great vegan food

Good location, tasty food, nice place, good music, almost all vegan.

Pros: Almost all in the menu is vegan, Nice place , Very tasty

SusanSleath

Points +15

Vegetarian
01 Mar 2023

NOT VEGETARIAN

Does not do vegetarian. No English menu

Pros: No vegan , No vegetarian , No English menu

Cons: ?, ?, ?

DeeJott

01 Mar 2023

NikWolf

09 Mar 2023

Susan you must have been in a different place. 1. English menu, 2. Clearly labeled what is vegan and what vegetarian

Chaitanya91

Points +25

Vegetarian
26 Feb 2023

yummy and unique

Cool book store, skater vibes. Not crowded on a Sunday night, easy to get a table at 7:30pm. Yummy unique food.

Pros: Good vegan options, limited menu , Maybe the best eggplant ive ever had

Cons: Only one guy, so wait time was a little long

DanielSchroppe

Points +309

Vegetarian
19 Feb 2023

Unique place

Nice vibes on this 2nd place resto with big drink selection.
Had the Tempeh which was nice and spicy.
Menu update see pic, different then what's still on google it seems...
Seems to have a meat meal now as well, tho

jerojeri

Points +80

Vegan
13 Feb 2023

Favorite in Kyoto

Delicious! It’s a must in Kyoto. The portions were perfect.

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-13

AlexNicholasBlakely

Points +90

Vegan
18 Jan 2023

Nice evening vibe.

Jazz, cozy, cool art and tons of books. Menu is in English, vegan options are labelled. Oh an tasty food and drinks at cheap prices.

Updated from previous review on 2023-01-18

MariferMorales

Points +23

Vegetarian
30 Nov 2022

Unique flavors

Delicious food!

Not strictly Japanese food but unique Japanese flavors can be found in each dish. Much needed place for vegans in Kyoto, given that others either have limited hours or unhealthy food

Place is really cute with a chill vibe. The owner is very friendly and does his best to provide the best service

coldbuckwheatnoodles

Points +4518

Vegan
24 Nov 2022

Cute restaurant, but expensive for the portion size

I'm conflicted about the restaurant because it is super cute, very nice interior and friendly dude that runs the place all by himself. The food is good but for the price you pay the portions ar a bit tiny really. The noodles are delicious though. The fried set was super small.

StaffArt

Points +19

Vegetarian
11 Nov 2022

Excellent place!!

This place is one of the best vegetarian restaurants i came across in Japan and a really talented chef!
The food is a bit more worldwide oriented, no strictly japanese dishes, so as a picky western traveler, i had no problem liking everything I tried.
Any time again!

Pros: Insanely talented cook, Low prizes, Super tasty and visually beautiful




This page has been viewed 11659 times.