Vegan
American
Indian
Raw
Fast food
Take-out
Asian
Bakery
European
Breakfast

Vegan cafe offering hot dishes including mung bean dhal, scrambled tofu breakfast and American style pancakes. Also has a vegan Caesar salad made in-house and a sweet potato wrap with curried vegan mayo. Also has a selection of hot drinks such as hot chocolate, green tea latte and freshly ground coffee as well as cakes, milkshakes and smoothies. Kids options available. Open Tue-Sat 11:00-15:00.


Venue map for Pear Kitchen
© OpenStreetMap contributors

25 Reviews

First Review by HenriettaBadClam

edam

Points +221

Vegan
08 Feb 2024

Great Lunch Spot

We had the breakfast bun and jackfruit chilli wrap and they were both delicious. They also have cakes.

Advertisement

Jessavmiller

Points +100

Vegan
24 Jan 2024

Wonderful cafe

I had lunch here today with my mum and the food was gorgeous! So much to choose from, the prices are fab and the staff and atmosphere are lovely. Will most definitely be back :)

Pros: Lots of choice, Delicious food, Great prices

SteveLerway

Points +16

Vegan
06 Dec 2023

No dogs allowed

I was really looking forward to eating here but unfortunately I was turned away as they are not dog friendly. It's the first vegan café I've ever been to that does not allow dogs inside. Shame as the food looks really good

pearkitchen

17 Dec 2023

Many of our customers prefer not to eat alongside dogs and given we are a small establishment there is little way to distance anyone. Only last week a little girl who is allergic to dogs and therefore scared of them came to us. In the interest of all we just don’t allow despite us loving and owning our own dog. Hope you can visit us another time or enjoy a takeaway as the food is really good.

Maggie

Points +154

Vegetarian
17 Aug 2023

One of the best vegan restaurants we've ever eaten in.

A small casual dining room that was filled when we were there. A nice menu with a variety of healthy food. I had a leek 'sausage' with a wonderful salad with fresh veg and beet. My husband had a great tofu burger with really delicious sauce and salad and potato salad. Everything with lovely seasoning. We had a ginger cake for dessert and at the recommendation of 2 young girls who said it was amazing, took the chocolate biscuit to go. It was also one of cheapest meals we've had in the UK!

Pros: Mains, Desserts, Service

Cons: None!

Sarah1418

Points +465

Vegan
12 Aug 2022

Great for lunch and dessert

The menu is original and intriguing. Our meals also came with a delicious salad that was as fresh as can be. We ordered desserts too which were just as good as the rest.

HannahDavies

Points +26

Vegan
01 Jun 2022

Pretty damn good. (get the peanut butter milkshake)

The peanut butter and banana milkshake was pretty damn good. (recommend a lot) Had a breakfast bun with tofu scramble and seitan which was also really good. Will come again to try something else (but will also be getting the milkshake again) Creative fresh ideas on the menu. thank you for a lovely breakfast! Boom.

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-31

Pros: Creative menu, Seitan was good

Cons: Can't think of any

GabiK

Points +297

Vegan
06 May 2022

Unique dishes, place with the soul

Perfect place for your lunch

Pros: Vegan, Tasty, Nice restaurant

ingridbuba

Points +330

Vegan
04 Dec 2021

What an accidental find, just perfect

We liked everything about it! Good presentation, prices, very good coffee and tea, best cake in the world. Neutral interior with very well looked after plants, very welcome and no kitchen smells! Particularly recommend turmeric rose cake and cauliflower bites, very friendly staff

Pros: Choice to suit anyone , Not expensive for such a central location, Very pleasant decor and people

Cons: Nothing, couldn’t expect better

olivegriffin

Points +357

Vegan
24 Jul 2021

Amazing place

Came here when I visited Wales, so many vegan options and the food was very impressive. Even my family who aren’t vegan loved this place. Haven’t been able to find a place back home here in Australia like this place I miss it lots!

SallyAOgden

Points +70

Vegan
11 Jul 2021

Lovely lunch

My friend and I arrived for a late lunch and opted for a Buddha plate each. It was a satisfying and tasty choice with lots of different flavours.

As the Pear Kitchen closes at 3.00pm and it was about 3.30pm when we finished our food, we ordered coffee and cakes to takeaway. They were big cake portions nicely packed in Vegware. Look forward to going back when I am next in the area.

Pros: Friendly and patient staff , Spotlessly clean

RachelJenkins

Points +2512

Vegan
22 Jan 2020

Best in Cowbridge

The Pear kitchen definitely don’t disappoint when it comes to great vegan food. The very extensive menu had a great selection of hearty food from Goda Goda (Tofu Curry) to pancakes. The coffee and cake options were also great and I was very excited to see vegan welshcakes! I definitely recommend the pear kitchen

KT001

Points +1339

Vegan
29 Dec 2019

Delicious breakfast

Great little cafe in the centre of Cowbridge. The breakfast and coffee was great and there are plenty of options on their menu.
They also sell fresh bread and homemade cakes.

Pros: Friendly staff

Kohi

Points +91

Vegan
05 Dec 2019

Great!

Lovely little spot for a relaxed vegan meal. Interesting range of delcious food with a specials board to keep youe options open.
Do a brilliant takeaway deal with cardboard box.

Pros: • Calm environment, • Staple food with a flair, • Eco-friendly

Cons: • Not cheap but reasonable for the area. , • Sterile decor

Calsky

Points +40

Vegan
18 Oct 2019

Reasonably priced very delicious

Delicious food, good specials, friendly staff, wonderful cakes.

Pros: All vegan, Reasonably priced, Local business

Cons: Not open in everything

JoanneGubbings

Points +20

Vegan
21 Aug 2019

Amazing food

Very friendly little vegan cafe in cowbridge. Food and coffee is delicious. I especially recommend the pancakes 😋

naomip123

Points +3812

Vegan
05 Aug 2019

Tasty, good range of food and lovely staff

We (one vegan, one vegetarian) were very excited to hear about a new vegan cafe in Cowbridge and so visited for lunch the other day. I had the avocado, scrambled tofu and sriracha on toast which was absolutely delicious, very flavoursome and, for once, big enough! My partner had the buddha plate which looked very healthy and she said was yummy.

We also took the chance to try some desserts - chocolate and honeycomb cake (which happened to be gluten free as well, although you couldn't tell) and chocolate and orange slice, which was extremely tasty and dense (see photo).

The ambience and decor was pleasant and the staff were helpful and friendly, which made this all in all a great experience. We noted that they also sell homemade sourdough bread, which is a bonus.

Pros: Great range of dishes, So many cakes, All vegan

Cons: None

AndyOBrien

Points +28

Vegan
27 Jul 2019

Tasty #vegan brunch

Had a lovely meal at the Pear Kitchen, the staff were friendly and helpful. I had the Buddha plate and everything on it was delicious. Their coffee was good too. Even tried a generous piece of coffee and walnut cake.
I'll be going back.

Pros: All vegan.

Cons: None

JimbleJamble

Points +564

Vegan
03 Jul 2019

A gem

About time Cowbridge got a vegan cafe! Lovely little cafe, kind staff and delicious food! Will be going there a lot from now on.

Pros: Fully vegan!, Delicious food, Lovely staff

Cons: No Welsh language signage

Lucydu

Points +68

Vegan
27 Jun 2019

Fab little place!

This is a fab little place catering for everyone who might want something a little different every now and again.

Quality food and drinks at very good prices... I really support it!

mariadawn

Points +16

Vegan
06 Jun 2019

Mostly Vegetarian

Amazing food, staff very friendly and helpful.
I'm not Vegan but the food is delicious, fresh and so tasty.
The cakes are delicious. Well worth a visit. :)

Updated from previous review on 2019-03-12

Pros: Relax with delicious food, Friendly staff, Reasonably priced

Cons: None

jim01234

Points +16

Vegan
31 May 2019

Great Cake

The café is nice with a really tasty cake and a vegan full English breakfast. Even non-vegans enjoy this establishment.

Pros: Great Cake, Entirely Vegan

Cons: Expensive

AlexWilson

Points +25

Vegan
11 May 2019

Lovely friendly place

We went here for lunch (two vegan adults and one veggie child). We had the cheese and kimchi toasties and these were served with a nice side salad; and pesto pasta with veggies. The food was tasty and portions were filling. The chocolate brownie for desert was huge and very rich, though disappeared fairly quickly! Will return next time we are in Cowbridge.

Pros: Good menu range, Friendly staff, Nice atmosphere

Cons: None

Guruofsurf

Points +635

Vegan
06 Apr 2019

Great vegan cafe

Only popped in for some cake and a drink. But nice selection of homemade cakes at a reasonable price. Good location on Cowbridge high street. Also on offer are salads, various soups, Dahl, wraps etc. All of these have imaginative fillings and flavours. Will add to review when we return for lunch.

Pros: Lots of imaginative food, Good location , Friendly and helpful

Cons: Parking

Forestpony

Points +50

Vegan
20 Feb 2019

What a find.

We were just in the area and went in. After our lunch there, we would go back, just to eat at the Pear Kitchen. Friendly, approachable staff, knowledgeable and a very clean environment.

Pros: All vegan , Reasonably priced , Light and airy

HenriettaBadClam

Points +69

Vegetarian
20 Feb 2019

A great find

Found this place by accident, and thought we'd try it for lunch. What a great find. Choices are good, and the food is wonderful, as are the milkshakes. Friendly staff and owner. I'm not a vegan, but very happy to go there again and again. Highly recommended

Pros: 100% vegan

Cons: None




This page has been viewed 7449 times.