51 Reviews

First Review by vegaholic

Great Customer Service! - Edit

I stopped by for a latte and mochi a couple days ago. The employee behind the register was extremely nice and helpful. She tell me sample different lattes. I picked the black sesame kinako latte. It was delicious! I also got the walnut chocolate mochi. I couldn't even tell it was vegan. I'm definitely going there again. Pro tip: They make the food by order. So don't expect to get a fresh meal in two minutes. You will have to wait a bit.

Photo of Peace Cafe  by <a href="/members/profile/NicoleCarlton">NicoleCarlton</a> <br/>Black Sesame Kinako Latte <br/> August 20, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/21735/294887'>Report</a>

Black Sesame Kinako Latte

Photo of Peace Cafe  by <a href="/members/profile/NicoleCarlton">NicoleCarlton</a> <br/>Chocolate Mochi <br/> August 20, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/21735/294886'>Report</a>

Chocolate Mochi

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great vegan spot - Edit

So I ate here for lunch with my daughter and it was nothing but wonderful. Will definitely be returning again. This place will not disappoint you. You will become a regular once you try it.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great for everyone - Edit

Inviting atmosphere and amazing food. This place is sure not to disappoint

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Healthy cafe - Edit

I got the bbq tempeh with coleslaw and corn bread. It was yummy, but the corn bread was so-so. The place was cute inside and parking was easy.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Peace Cafe - Edit

Peace Café is located in the Mōʻiliʻili neighborhood, (next door from the Kim Chee III restaurant). If you don't know where that is........just look across the street from the Ross Dress for Less in Mōʻiliʻili. It is a smaller restaurant with one large table in the middle, and some smaller tables and counter space surrounding it. Restrooms that require a key are located in back as well. You can pick up the key from the cashier area.

Parking: Parking can be tricky so pay attention to the street signs as there are specific times that you can not park in front of the building and if you do, the parking is metered. The rear parking has only a few space and side-street parking can be limited as well.

This is a casual, low-key, calm place. Just order at the counter, get your own water and utensils, then seat yourself. The food was very good and the portions were enough to satisfy. Tip: Ask for any special dessert off the menu because there are surprises by Chef Shota.


Updated from previous review on 2015-07-31

Pros: Vegan Menu

Cons: Music selection was not family-friendly, Parking

Photo of Peace Cafe  by <a href="/members/profile/myra975">myra975</a> <br/>Peace Café <br/> March 14, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/21735/236469'>Report</a>

Peace Café

Photo of Peace Cafe  by <a href="/members/profile/myra975">myra975</a> <br/>Peace Café <br/> March 14, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/21735/236468'>Report</a>

Peace Café

Photo of Peace Cafe  by <a href="/members/profile/myra975">myra975</a> <br/>Peace Café <br/> March 14, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/21735/236467'>Report</a>

Peace Café

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very fresh ingredients - Edit

One of the very few restaurants that serve organic food. Cups and straws are eco friendly. Food is great. Lots of veggies and variety if you get a plate.

Cons: Very expensive, Parking is bad, Very limited seats

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yum! - Edit

Comfortable, close atmosphere. Friendly people. The BBQ Tempeh Plate was good and the slaw it contained was delicious. Cornbread was very tasty, but dry.

Pros: Varied menu.

Cons: Not a lot of seating.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

One of the healthiest options on the island - Edit

Peace Cafe does internationally-inspired healthy cuisine that I would describe as "homestyle plus." Both of the two dishes I tried were about three parts simple and healthy to one part amazing flavor. I would've liked more of the amazing flavors in the mix, personally, but I still much enjoyed my meals. Those who appreciate healthy, fresh food prepared with good ingredients and not overcooked should be very happy here (especially if you've overdosed on the fried food at most other local veg places). Service was warm and friendly.

Enjoy!

Photo of Peace Cafe  by <a href="/members/profile/earthville">earthville</a> <br/>BBQ plate  <br/> January 28, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/21735/218082'>Report</a>

BBQ plate

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great food, real ingredients - Edit

So many veg places focus on BS like fake meats. Peace Cafe has great, real food. Very tasty too.

Coffee sucks though, don't even try it.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best in Honolulu.. - Edit

The exterior of the eatery seems a little bland, but when you walk in it's as if you enter of vegan oasis. Everything has a very cute, cafe, peaceful vibe. The staff was very friendly and nice. I did not feel rushed or ignored.
OKAY NOW, the food was amazing. I had the yogini entree and my dad had the tex mex entree. My plate was probably the best vegan meal I've had out to eat (4 years of doing this btw). The purple rice was amazing, the daikon radish was WOW, the tahini sauce was great. Same with the kale and beans. Everything! My dad enjoyed his meal as well. Will be back for round two soon!!

And of course thank you to Peace Cafe. Finding good vegan food can be very hard while traveling, and you've filled my heart with so much joy :)

Pros: amazing, friendly , tastes so good

Cons: nada unless you can't throw down for a $10+ meal

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

lovely cafe offering WFPB food! - Edit

Cozy 100% WFPB vegan cafe. The food is delicious and the portions are satisfying. Save room for a cup of coffee!

Cons: crowded on the weekend

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

excellent vegan food - Edit

My favorite vegan restaurant on Oahu. Delicious food at reasonable prices.

Pros: great food. decent prices

Cons: limited seating and parking

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Peaceful and delicious - Edit

It is a 26 min walk to Peace Cafe from the beach hotels at Waikiki, but well worth it. I ordered the Popeye sandwich and a cold soy latte. I loved them both and was so full after eating the sandwich that I not only couldn't eat any dessert but I didn't crave any food later in the night. There are only about 6 individual tables and one large community type table to eat-in. They also seem to take many to go orders over the phone. Their menu listed homemade vegan ice cream, vegan cheesecake, and mochi cakes. I hope to try some of them while I am here. The guy behind the counter said the Yogini is their most popular dish, but I had been hoping for a sandwich the whole walk over there. Recommend highly! Nice atmosphere and good food. I took a taxi back to hotel which only cost me $15 (with tip).

Pros: Clean, Vegan, Many choices

Photo of Peace Cafe  by <a href="/members/profile/vegansoul">vegansoul</a> <br/>a few of the tables at Peace Cafe <br/> May 25, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/21735/150777'>Report</a>

a few of the tables at Peace Cafe

Photo of Peace Cafe  by <a href="/members/profile/vegansoul">vegansoul</a> <br/>Menu board, Peace Cafe <br/> May 25, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/21735/150774'>Report</a>

Menu board, Peace Cafe

Photo of Peace Cafe  by <a href="/members/profile/vegansoul">vegansoul</a> <br/>Popeye sandwich Peace Cafe <br/> May 25, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/21735/150773'>Report</a>

Popeye sandwich Peace Cafe

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious, Nutritious & Friendly - Edit

I have eaten here several times the past 2-3 years. The food is always very nutritious and yummy! It is always nicely presented and the staff are friendly. I always eat here once or twice when on O'ahu. The price compares to food anywhere. Eat here and be healthy!!

Pros: Delicious and Nutritious & Planet Friendly, Reasonably Priced and Accessible , Friendly and Helpful Staff

Photo of Peace Cafe  by <a href="/members/profile/Veg4Jay">Veg4Jay</a> <br/>Tofu Scramble <br/> May 1, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/21735/146971'>Report</a>

Tofu Scramble

Photo of Peace Cafe  by <a href="/members/profile/Veg4Jay">Veg4Jay</a> <br/>Vegan Miso <br/> April 29, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/21735/146696'>Report</a>

Vegan Miso

Photo of Peace Cafe  by <a href="/members/profile/Veg4Jay">Veg4Jay</a> <br/>Ocean Bowl <br/> April 29, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/21735/146695'>Report</a>

Ocean Bowl

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

loved this cafe! - Edit

The food was absolutely delicious and so wholesome. It was made with such love and care. The staff are lovely. Wish it were my local.

Photo of Peace Cafe  by <a href="/members/profile/Lisamareeb">Lisamareeb</a> <br/>Chocolate icecream and 'cheesecake' mmmm <br/> March 29, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/21735/141707'>Report</a>

Chocolate icecream and 'cheesecake' mmmm

Photo of Peace Cafe  by <a href="/members/profile/Lisamareeb">Lisamareeb</a> <br/>The Yogini with a side dish of cucumber and hummus. Soooo good! <br/> March 29, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/21735/141706'>Report</a>

The Yogini with a side dish of cucumber and hummus...

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Healthy Options Walking Distance from Waikiki - Edit

Cozy, friendly cafe not far from Waikiki offering a variety of salads, sandwiches, light entrees and smoothies. Fresh, plant-based ingredients. Menu includes brief descriptions of all items and there are photos on the wall as well. We ate one meal here every day while vacationing in Waikiki, trying something new every time, and was always happy. Now open for breakfast too, offering a tasty tofu scramble, green salad, avocado toast and soup... yummy!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

quaint healthy food - Edit

Pleasant surprise! All yummy, we had the Hanoi and the black eyed peas meal! We shared the cheesecake and the Caesar salad- I must say the salad is a must order. We drove right past the place!

Photo of Peace Cafe  by <a href="/members/profile/Jenny20124">Jenny20124</a> <br/>outside  <br/> December 24, 2015  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/21735/129733'>Report</a>

outside

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

worth walking in the rain - Edit

walked from Waikiki on a rainy, very windy day, but certainly glad I made it! very good selection of food and drinks. looking forward to try their vegan cheesecake for dessert, but informed they're out... looking forward to my next visit and hope they have it!

Pros: nice friendly staff, healthy good food

Cons: dessert shortage...

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

favorite Hawaiian vegan food! - Edit

Amazing Cesaer salad!!! Very friendly staff. The cheesecake and mochi cake are also great!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cozy and tasty - Edit

Lovely place run by peaceful folks. The "Heart and Seoul" was pretty health-foody. The taco rice, while not junk food by any means, was awesome and I expect anyone would enjoy it. Followed that with a sundae of homemade vegan ice cream, sweet but not too sweet, and left feeling happy and, yes, peaceful.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great lunch - Edit

Based on the reviews and walking distance, this was our first stop after arriving to Honolulu and we were not disappointed. I had the Avo-Veggie sandwich and my husband had the Soy-Soba salad and both were delicious. I could only eat half of the sandwich so the paper wrapping was perfect to take with me. They have a dinner menu so we may try that next. Small and casual so seating is limited but service and food was great.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

excellent food / incredible prices - Edit

We had the hanoi sandwich and popey salad and it was absolutely delicious!!
And definately get their homedmade ice cream with chocolate sauce for a desert!

BEST VEGAN FOOD IN HONOLULU!!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

excellent - Edit

Anyone visiting Oahu should stop here! The menu is so unique. I had the "heart and Seoul" dish, and it was excellent! Good prices, friendly people/staff, unique and delicious food!

Pros: great food, unique dishes , relaxed atmosphere

Cons: none

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

BEST SOUL FOOD EVER!!! - Edit

I LOVE this food and I crave it everyday! It is SO healthy and clean (and I'm SOOOO picky about that) and it is TRULY soul-nurturing as well as ridiculously delicious!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful, Fresh, Food - Edit

Very good food, casual, small facility.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious! - Edit

We almost skipped this place but I'm SO glad that we ended up going in. We had the Teriyaki Tempeh and the Hanoi. The food came out quickly and it was *amazing*. The atmosphere is quaint and the staff was extremely friendly. It was clear they have a personal relationship with many of their customers. My only regret is that we did not have time to return for a second trip before flying home.

Pros: Great food, Good price, Great employees

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent - Edit

Everything is excellent

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Honolulu Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Peace Cafe closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 12722 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support