• Pad Thai

  • (8)
    3
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Ovo
Thai
Delivery
Take-out
Asian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Thai food restaurant. Has tofu and mock duck, and staff is knowledgeable of vegan items - ask. Open Mon-Sun 11:30am-9:30pm.


Venue map for Pad Thai
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by vegan_ryan

Cordelia.Rose93

Points +29

Vegan
17 Oct 2021

Great food

I got pad Thai, no egg and boyfriend got pineapple fried rice, also no egg. Food tasted great and portions were large. Did not see mock duck on menu.

Advertisement

jdfunks

Points +274

Vegan
11 Aug 2019

skip

even when I kick all the memories of legitimately flavorful, vegan thai food out of my head – and I remind myself that we're in Alaska – what we sat down to at this restaurant is meh, meh, meh. first off, the 'Alaska' element has no excuse, especially in the summer months when produce is abundant and even gigantic. secondly, there are tons of Thais and Americans of Thai descent in Alaska, and I've had a good-to-great ! thai food elsewhere in the state.
anyway, this restaurant was charming from the outside, and was chill enough inside. we were even able to navigate vegan options (which, btw, does NOT include the red curry mock duck dish, as only the yellow curry is vegan-friendly). that said, the yellow curry was bland dot com, with an almost gross perfume-y taste. sigh. it wasn't surprisingly that there was no tofu in it, because it's not the norm in this state unless you have it confirmed, so, it was basically a bowl of boiled potatoes and onions in an unappetizing neon yellow soup.

we also had the fried tofu appetizer, which looked good, although a small portion, until you spotted the seriously sad cabbage shreds below. old stuff, for sure. the tofu was okay, but by no means 'good' tofu, and definitely not freshly produced by an area tofu maker. ah, one can dream....

the bottom line is that dishes are understandably not cheap in this state, and this was not a mistake we'll be repeating.

stick to lemongrass in fairbanks! holy, moly.

Pros: location, has tofu?

Cons: this is not good food

dlough

Points +44

Vegan
06 Jan 2019

This spot was a life-saver.

Fairbanks does not have much in the way of vegan options. But it seem to be bursting at the seams with thai restaurants. Unfortunately the one's we've tried in the last two weeks haven't been very good. This spot is a godsend. Good portions (esp for travellers), delivery, vegan friendly. Is a bit pricey but so is everything else in AK. I was about to give up hope on ak thai food (and ak food in general) before this spot. About to eat here it for the third time this week. Really delivers the spice if you want it, too.

Pros: Delicious vegan options, Delivers, Spicy

Cons: Pricey

RobertNadel

Points +52

Vegan
20 Nov 2018

Superb!!!

Looking for vegan options? The tastiest thai food.... I had the mock duck red curry. So good! Great service and the staff very vegan knowledgeable!

Pros: Knowledgeable of vegan needs

Cons: None

AjSchweinhagen

Points +22

Vegan
26 Oct 2018

Best mock duck ever!

Went the other night with some friends after finding the place on here. The staff was incredibly nice and welcoming, even when we were chatting while they were preparing to close. The mock duck was just amazing, I didn't know that was possible until eating at Pad Thai. I would give 5 stars if this app would let me.

Pros: Friendly staff

jenly

Points +205

Vegetarian
26 Sep 2016

good thai food

My family ate here in August--many thanks to the other reviewers who recommended it. It seems to be a family establishment--I think the mother or aunt cooks the food. There were many veg options and the staff was knowledgeable about hidden fish sauce. This was the first Thai restaurant that didn't bring us certain sauces with our spring rolls or fried tofu because of the fish sauce. The mock duck is found mostly in one curry dish I had which I can recommend. The pad thai was also very good. We went for lunch and the portions were very large and wound up with leftovers.

Pros: tasty, large portions, friendly staff

Cons: the restaurant was a bit stuff but then they , opened the door so it was okay

Sarah P

Points +8511

Vegan
07 Apr 2016

Delicious quality meals

I dined in at Pad Thai once and ordered take-out once while visiting Fairbanks. I ordered the mock duck, which is featured in a red curry dish buried in the menu, after asking the server about it. The server seemed very knowledgeable about vegan options, and offered suggestions for curries without fish sauce and other possibilities on the menu. The brown rice heap for two peel was very large. The peanut sauce dish was incredibly tasty, and the fried tofu appetizer was very good.

Pros: Delicious food, Good variety of vegan choices, Easy ordering and communication of vegan

Cons: Atmosphere and bathrooms are rustic

vegan_ryan

Points +3865

Vegan
14 Oct 2015

Best Thai spot in town

There are a surprising number of Thai restaurants in Fairbanks. This is the best one.

They have mock duck, which is really good, and the staff is very friendly. Ingredients are fresh, food is delicious, and the prices aren't too high.

Pros: Friendly, Delicious

Cons: Serves meat




This page has been viewed 2363 times.