Ovo
American
Organic
Juice bar
Beer/Wine
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Menu comprises vegetarian and poultry dishes. A retail area sells supplements and natural foods. An organic co-op scheme where members purchase dry goods & fresh local produce. Live music some days. Owner offers nutritional counseling. Open Mon-Wed 11:00am-7:00pm, Thu 11:00am-8:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:00am-7:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-5:00pm.


Venue map for Organic Oasis
© OpenStreetMap contributors

26 Reviews

First Review by nooy

sunnrayy

Points +32

Vegan
26 Jul 2023

Tried twice but so bland

I tried really hard to like this place but the food was so bland. They need to season better!

Advertisement

anarchavegana

Points +196

Vegan
05 Jul 2023

Really good and tons of vegan options

I loved how many vegan options there were (they’re well-labeled) and that some of the non-vegan options you could request to veganize. It’s a bit pricey but really tasty food! I got the vegan Reuben with a side of soup and my friends got the Thai tempeh bowl and vegan nachos, everything was great! This place is a solid option for a lighter/healthier meal.

Pros: Chill vibes, Healthy/light food

Cons: Pricey

puddlesforever

Points +170

Vegan
01 Sep 2022

Oasis As Stated

They have so many vegan options! I had the avocado and veggie sandwiches. The pizza and bowls all look amazing and I will definitely go back. They also have a ton of juices. I didn’t get to try them because the juice bar was closed when I got there so plan ahead with your timing if you want juice. Definitely recommend checking this oasis out!

PhyllisE

Points +568

Vegan
31 Aug 2022

Wonderful find

Fresh wheat grass juice!!!
Many vegan choices.
Some unusual choices.
I had the tempeh Ruben and it was packed with homemade sauerkraut, cheese, onion, sauce. It was very satisfying and very tasty. There was black bean soup and sweet potato soup and both were excellent.

Pros: Two kinds of wonderful soup, Half the menu was vegan, Lovely sweet waitress

Cons: Not a fan of veganaise , Not a fan of daiya cheese

Izzyeddleman

Points +251

Vegan
29 Aug 2022

Best Beans

Big plate of beans/brown rice and steamed vegs.

Updated from previous review on 2022-08-29

Pros: Staff worked hard to get us vegan food, Many vegan options , Juices are excellent

Cons: Expensive

SuzT

Points +932

Vegetarian
18 Jul 2021

Healthy vegan options

I ordered the Vegan High Protein Bowl and roasted brussels and cauliflower and both were delicious. Couldn't finish everything so took the rest home. Would definitely be back to try other items.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Friendly service

x0elliot

Points +70

Vegan
09 Jun 2021

Very good food, truly an oasis in Anchorage

The place is amazing, tons of vegan options and an amazing setting with live music

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Live music usually , Good desert too

Cons: Sells meats, mainly fish

TristanVanRensselae

Points +65

Vegan
08 Jan 2021

Order smart

First off, Organic Oasis probably boasts the most vegan options in all of Anchorage. So big plus there.

Secondly, most of their dishes are just okay.

What's not okay is their vegan supreme pizza... It is amazing. Best pizza crust I've had, vegan or non.
The high protein wrap is also a strong contendor.
The daily special soups are either really good or only okay. Personal favorite of mine is the lemon kale, which I ordered several additional orders to take home.

Also they got tempeh and tofu and a house made vegan patty which I found pretty unique. I am not a fan of all these new faux meats, so I welcome these options.

SophieBarrowman

Points +37

Mostly Veg
05 Sep 2020

good menu but bland food😕

ordered the vegan quesadilla and it was fine but i probably wouldn’t recommend it.

hell0angela

Points +373

Vegan
12 Oct 2019

Don’t recommend this place!

Ordered a vegan burger and it was horrible. The bun was very chewy and the flavor of the entire thing was horrible.

Cons: Expensive

sarahlynnthevegan

Points +16

Vegan
25 Sep 2019

AMAZING!!!!!

This is my new spot! I ordered the vegan miso soup which was incredible. I also ordered the vegan pizza which tastes amazing. There are so many options for vegans and vegetarians. The environment is also relaxed and the service was great!

Pros: Lots of vegan and veg options , Great service , Tastes incredible and great price

AbbyMichel

Points +48

Vegan
07 Sep 2018

good!

Everything vegan is clearly marked on the menu. Quiet atmosphere, friendly staff.

Pros: quite a few vegan options, quiet, smoothies

Cons: no breakfast options? that's all I got.

XOXO

Points +1760

Vegan
15 Jul 2018

You are in Alaska, prepare yourself

Not many options vegan and GF but at least you can eat... so you should be happy :)

oolong80

Points +52

Vegan
26 Apr 2018

Decent at Best

I really wanted to love this place. The soup was bland and the sandwich was mediocre at best. They do offer smoothies and wheatgrass, which is a plus.

Pros: Fair amount of options on the menu

Cons: Pricey and bland

ErinElizabeth907

Points +108

Vegan
22 Nov 2017

Makes me feel so good

Organic Oasis always makes me feel like I'm treating myself like I should. Really nice homemade items including vegan soups, burgers, gluten free bread, salsa, etc.

Love it.

greenxblue

Points +17

Vegetarian
06 Nov 2017

Vegan Supreme Pizza

The Vegan Supreme pizza is among the best pizzas I’ve ever had anywhere.

Pros: Lots of vegan and vegetarian options. , Most items are organic.

Cons: Expensive, Some dishes are bland.

OndineSherman

Points +203

Vegan
18 Aug 2017

okay

The salad wasn't good and miso soup, terrible. The vegan burger was okay. Atmosphere a little quirky and too quiet but maybe that's because we ate early ...

Pros: good vegan chocolate selection

Cons: food not the best

VictoriaShaver

Points +82

Vegan
07 Jun 2017

not so great

I used to love this place but too many incidents... It is better than eating meat though.

Pros: music, location and parking is usually easy

Cons: slow service, does not fix mistakes/make it right

AngelaCook

Points +18

Vegan
26 Mar 2017

go-to place for vegan options

There are a wide variety of vegan options and they have the BEST vegan chocolate cake that I have ever had. Nice cozy environment with live music on occasion.

jenly

Points +205

Vegetarian
26 Sep 2016

thank you for being

My family ate here on our last day in Anchorage. It was too bad it took us so long to find it as we would have made another visit. Fresh food, simple and tasty.

Shiranova2003

Points +28

Vegan
27 Jul 2016

Great options, ethics and yummy food!

Hummus was yummy, knowledgeable about vegan options and live music too!

Bgilly

Points +377

Vegan
13 Sep 2015

Tasty food and real kombucha

Best vegan spot in Anchorage!

Pros: Taste, Healthy, Kombucha

Sarah P

Points +8511

Vegan
30 Jul 2014

Excellent healthy vegan food!

I ate at Organic Oasis last night, and was pleased to see the well-marked vegan options abound on the menu and specials. I ate the soup and salad with Ceasar-style dressing, and it was so filling and delicious! The soup I chose was a Tempeh Mulligatawny, and the small-looking cup filled me up. Even though I was busting at the seams, I ordered the vegan gluten free chocolate cake special, and it was densely delicious and worth the extra expansion of my belly (I took some to go). There was a sweet trio of instrumentalists playing on the stage, and the ambiance was relaxing. Families, people on dates, and single patrons sitting at the bar all seemed to enjoy the experience. I will return ASAP!

Pros: Healthy, delicious options, Many vegan choices, Excellent relaxing ambiance

Cons: Meat on the menu

country_vegan

Points +51

Vegan
24 Mar 2010

Good food; great ambiance!

I've just read the previous reviews and am surprised at the overall negative comments. My friend and I are from out of town and I'm always looking for vegan restaurants, or at least vegetarian in parts of the country such as Alaska, where organic food is a blessing to find. I am raw vegan at home, but must sometimes settle for vegetarian at best, depending on the locations. Regardless, my friend eats a Standard American Diet and was honoring me by agreeing to try a place that I might be able to eat. Believe it or not, we were both so impressed we're going back Thursday nite before we leave town! The restaurant is open Mondays until 6pm and Tues. thru Sat. until 9pm. I was pleasantly satiated with a cup of coconut/potato/curry soup; spinach/artichoke dip with small pieces of flat bread; hot tea with a wonderful mix of herbs complete with metal tea strainer on top of a huge mug with a small plate covering it to steep the herbs for at least 5 minutes (according to the waitress). For main course I enjoyed a vegan wrap that was so large I couldn't eat it all, so I carried home leftovers for lunch the next day! All this, while we were seated near the stage where pleasant dinner music was being played by a wonderful guitarist. The seating area decor is darker wood with pleasantly calm surroundings; similar to a small restaurant/lounge. I wanted a wheatgrass shot, but the waitress had to apologize as someone didn't grow their last batch of wheatgrass properly and the current batch wasn't tall enough yet. The floor, tables, dishes and everything looked nice and clean. There is a small bar in the corner where they serve wines with a few bar stools as well. They also have a vegan carrot cake which my SAD friend said was scrumptious! Very filling meal with leftovers and I walked out after paying approx. $30 for my meal and appetizer for the both of us. Very similar to the type of prices in like restaurants in Seattle, serving up good organic food, handmade and not processed! I'm surprised by some who expect something exceptional for little to nothing! Just a difference in perspective I suppose! In summary . . . I was pleased! Hope the owners decide to gradually move into stricly vegetarian/vegan fare!

Pros: food tastes good, numerous choices, atmosphere

Cons: little difficult to find, away from street, not strictly veg/vegan

amandalkent

Points +38

Vegetarian
04 Nov 2008

Best Vegetarian Restaurant in Alaska

Alaska does not have much to offer in the way of vegetarian-friendly cuisine, so this restaurant is a welcome surprise in Anchorage!
Their food is very fresh. The portion sizes are very generous.
And when a smoothie was not on the menu that I wanted, they custom made it for me.
In my travels to Anchorage, Organic Oasis was a MUST STOP for me!

nooy

Points +36

Vegetarian
14 Jul 2008

really wanted to like it

We kept going back to this place again and again, because it was the only almost vegetarian place to eat in all of Anchorage. But, we were disappointed every time. Flavors are bland. In an attempt to be so hippy, I feel they really missed the boat when it comes to good food. I can only speak for the vegetarian dishes, maybe the meat dishes are better. And it's overpriced. too.

Pros: healthy cuisine

Cons: overpriced, tasteless




This page has been viewed 7333 times.