• Ore Nell's Barbecue

  • (18)
    17
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
American
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Has bbq tofu plate and sandwich. Vegan sides include mac & cheese, potato salad, coleslaw and more. Open Mon-Thu 4:00pm-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:30am-10:00pm, Sun 11:30am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Ore Nell's Barbecue
© OpenStreetMap contributors

18 Reviews

First Review by aldenz

Banangela97

Points +2294

Vegan
18 Feb 2024

5 stars for vegan food

Highly impressed with Xolo's seitan and vegan queso! I shared the BBQ Tofu sandwich, BBQ Seitan sandwich, fries, and mac with my date 😁

Advertisement

kale_queen

Points +443

Vegan
08 Feb 2024

So good!!

My friend and I spilt the bbq tofu sandwich and the ribs. They’re fantastic. Will definitely be coming back! Yay!

Pros: Good for non vegans too

Cons: Hopefully they’ll add more vegan

cmichd

Points +16

Vegan
20 Jan 2024

Vegan BBQ!

Took a trip down to Kittery today, heard about Ore Nell’s having vegan options, so of course I had to try some things. I got the seitan ribs, vegan mac and cheese, the potato salad, the coleslaw, and the chips and cashew queso, and all were absolutely delicious! So, so good! It makes me so happy to see meat centric restaurants willing to take a chance on plant based menu options.

XOLOKITCHEN

21 Jan 2024

Yay! Thanks for taking the time to visit and write a review! We will continue to add and improve because of people like you! 🙏❤️✌️Xolo Kitchen!

Draak

Points +13

Vegetarian
13 Jan 2024

nice job

I have been traveling and couldn't wait to get back to try Ore Nell's new vegan options.
The menu is a little confusing but I had the Xolo ribs as a sandwich and the potato salad. It was one of the best sandwiches Ive had I while! WOW,WOW,WOW!!!!
I'm going back today to try the new Mac and cheese and the baked potato with the Xolo cheese and ribs.
Great job Xolo kitchen and Ore Nell's

XOLOKITCHEN

16 Jan 2024

Yay! So glad you liked it! Thanks so much for the review! Love the triple Wow!

Jangell

Points +36

Vegan
09 Jan 2024

Gotta goto for vegans!

The options are great for now- we'll see if they keep them all.
There's plenty too choose from...
Unbelievably great food...

XOLOKITCHEN

12 Jan 2024

Ah! So great the hear Jangell! What did you have? Would love to hear more!

Jangell

18 Jan 2024

BBQ for two/ with Seitain ribs/ BBQ tofu.
With Mac n cheese, collard greens, pinto beans, great value and absolutely delicious. Been back multiple times already 😋

GusReid

Points +30

Vegan
18 Sep 2023

Try the tofu sandwich

Stayed across the road from this place but didn't even think to check the menu until spotting it on Happy Cow. A couple of great vegan options, and friendly staff happy to recommend stuff.

Pros: Tasty, Cheap as chips!

Cons: The vegan mac and cheese is only ok.

NevaehRose

Points +30

Vegan
13 Aug 2023

Not a bad pick

The view from the outdoor seating is gorgeous, and they do have a few vegan options at a really fair price. Unfortunately it's mediocre. I found the Mac&cheese bland. The BBQ tofu was pretty good, but dry.

Pros: Fair price, Vegan options, Beautiful view

Cons: Bland, Dry

sam654321

Points +2630

Mostly Veg
24 Jun 2023

Yummy BBQ Tofu!

I got the BBQ tofu sammie,coleslaw,tater salad, and mac&cheez.
Everything was good,ESPECIALLY the sammie!!
Not cheap though.
For those 4 thing came to like $33.
Next time Id just get 2 sammies ......soooo yummy,filling,and satisfying.
The worker peeps were super nice too.😀😀😀

yoronisrael

Points +105

Vegan
29 Aug 2022

Amazing BBQ Tofu!

Great choice for vegans and none vegans.

Updated from previous review on 2022-08-29

Pros: Many vegan sides to choose from , BBQ Tofu is fantastic , Great waitress - Alexis

Cons: Ala carte menu style makes things a bit expensive

KerstinKenney

Points +50

Vegan
19 Jul 2022

BBQ Vegan Options!

I was excited that there were so many vegan options at this BBQ joint. It made it the perfect scenario for a get together with my omnivore family for my mom’s birthday. The location is also beautiful! I ordered the BBQ tofu (excellent flavor!), and they served it on a bun. I recognized from other reviews that the bun has egg in it, so I removed that and gave it to a family member. I also had the Mac n cheese (which was not super flavorful), and potato salad (very good!). The cocktail that I ordered was also very tasty. Overall, I left very satisfied with my meal.

Kate9791

Points +613

Vegan
04 Sep 2020

Surprisingly great!

We know the owner, so felt comfortable coming here being vegan. His wife is vegan, so all his restaurants have vegan options. I am gf so got the tofu solo along with a side of collards. I’m not a BBQ sauce fan - I don’t like the sweetness. So I scoot most of it off to get more subtlety. I know, why the heck am I coming here? My husband loves it and we want to support the owner. Plus we can walk here. He also loves the fries. Although he doesn’t ask many questions, so not sure if the fries share space with animal products. The tofu is Haleiwa tofu from Rockland. Very firm. Organic. Staff is always super awesome. Location is one of the best in the area. Love being able to sit outside with our pup.

KaitlynnGill

Points +1453

Vegan
23 Aug 2020

Appreciate the options and effort

So nothing crazy here but honestly I’m just so happy to have the options and variety. Got the vegan Mac, needed some salt and more oomph... bbq tofu was good! Honesty really happy even though nothing crazy. Just driving through and would come back if I were in the area!

Pros: Variety, Friendly staff, Cute place with a view

AlexaKaiser

Points +51

Vegan
12 Jul 2020

Not the greatest

I’ll start by saying the bbq tofu is amazing! It has a great smokey flavor. However, the potato salad was just okay. The vegan mac and cheese was not good at all, it tasted like macaroni with vegan butter and no cheesy taste. It’s inexpensive though so not too much of a let down. Make sure to specify vegan when ordering.

Pros: Inexpensive , Friendly staff

Cons: Bland food

toastandjammies

Points +1098

Vegan
16 Mar 2020

Okay food.

I’ll start by saying that I’m surprised there are any vegan options at a BBQ place. I appreciate it.

That being said, what I ordered was very bland. The vegan Mac ‘n’ cheese was watery and not appetizing. (Whole Foods does a better Mac ‘n’ cheese at their hot food bar.) The tofu is nothing to write home about. BUT their salad and cocktails are great. So, there’s that.

aldenz

Points +178

Vegan
16 Feb 2020

great veg BBQ

Has great vegetarian and vegan options...the BBQ tofu plate
and vegan mac n cheese are my favorites!

RachaelC

Points +25

Vegan
15 Feb 2020

Delicious

The BBQ tofu was delicious, the waitress said that the sandwich bread they use has egg, so I just got the tofu. The coleslaw was delicious. The mac and cheese was okay, it wasnt what I expected (an odd dijon flavor) but I did eat it all.

debbailey802

Points +32

Vegan
25 Nov 2019

Awesome BBQ

Good selection of vegan options, very accommodating. Our waiter was even vegan. It absolutely hit the spot. While we had the BBQ Tofu, Mac & Cheese and Cole Slaw, the waiter said next time try the frito salad. Would definitely recommend if in the mood for bbq!

Pros: Acceptance in a restaurant

passedout

Points +300

Vegan
29 Jul 2019

Excellent!!!

Eating here was an excellent experience. The staff was very accommodating about any questions regarding vegan food. The food is definitely well made. For two people, we each got an order of BBQ tofu and then small orders or cole slaw, pinto beans, potato salad, collards, and mac and cheese. It was great.

Pros: Great food, Great staff, Nice outdoor seating




This page has been viewed 3085 times.