Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Pizza
Indian
International
Beer/Wine
Middle Eastern

Casual and colorful restaurant and lounge with floor seating on cushions and art work on the walls. Play games, music, free Wi-Fi. Frequented by tourists. Located upstairs, opposite the pizza place, in the same lane as Forest and Plate, and Himalaya Java Coffee. One entrance is where the S.G sign is set in from the street. Reported fully vegetarian since 2016. NOTE: Reported to have served dairy in error, momos are not vegan. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-8:00pm.


Venue map for OR2K
© OpenStreetMap contributors

57 Reviews

First Review by Animal Nepal

Maphraw

Points +41

Vegetarian
02 Oct 2023

Always great food

Love all the veggie options in a laid back atmosphere.
Vegan options available.

Pros: Dhal Bhat

Advertisement

filippodibari

Points +1182

Vegan
17 Jul 2023

The best veg restaurant in Kathmandu so far

The ambience is super cool. Well located. Creative good - try the vegan lassi and the vegan Paneer. Taste was great too. Full score.

Pros: Ambient, Food, Great place to chat with friends

RhiannonC

Points +548

Vegan
27 Apr 2023

Chilled vibe

A nice place to escape the craziness of Kathmandu. Super chilled atmosphere. Food was good, just be clear about no dairy.

Pros: The peace ✌🏽

maraczi

Points +510

Vegan
02 Feb 2023

Really nice

Went to their restaurant in Pokhara years ago and now when coming back to Kathmandu, I wanted to try their restaurant here. The food did not disappoint, it was as delicious as I remembered with a nice atmosphere. #Veganuary

KarenSuksabai

Points +2982

Vegan
26 Dec 2022

Good food with a chilled vibe

The food was good but vegan options a little disappointing. They offer a 'vegan meat' pizza but the crust contains dairy milk and no vegan cheese option...Why??? The pasta was tasty and the small Mediterranean platter was delicious, with an option to sub babaganoush (contains mayo!!!) for falafel.

Pros: Options for vegan substitutes, Great vibe

Cons: Things that are naturally vegan have added dairy!

ARN14

Points +836

Vegan
14 Dec 2022

Cockroach in my pancake

I would give 0 stars but not possible (defaults to 2). First my pancakes came out burnt so returned them and the next pancake had a whole cockroach in it. I’m not one for leaving bad reviews but I will never eat here again.

redshift

30 Sep 2023

Jesus that’s nasty! How’d you spot it?

ARN14

02 Oct 2023

Saw something dark in the pancake so I cut next to it to see what it was 🤢

AliceLecis

Points +62

Vegan
20 Nov 2022

Recommended

Nice restaurant in the center of Thamel. Lots of variety. Really nice atmosphere! Recommend

Momo_moon

Points +1164

Vegetarian
13 Nov 2022

Not what it use to be

Last time I visited was 2015 and was disappointed (2022). It has changed so much. The food options, quality and environment has dropped a lot. Wish the owners kept up with the place. Use to be very busy and lively in the past.

davidredstone

Points +1406

Vegetarian
15 Sep 2022

Great Israeli falafel plate

I've been a few times. The big plate with falafel, hummus, tahini. Baba ganouj, labne, matbucha, chopped salad... is delicious and very filling. Nice cocktails, too. They weren't sickly sweet like other places. I also liked sitting on low couches with low tables. Good for eating and chatting.

Pros: Healthy, tasty food, Cocktails were also good, There's an OR2K in Kathmandu & Pokhara

Cons: Western food costs more, but not too much

kenvegan

Points +12624

Vegan
13 Sep 2022

Good Food But Be Careful As A Vegan

I waited nearly 40 minutes for my food at this restaurant, and realized that half of my meal was not vegan (contained dairy).

I confirmed the dish I ordered was vegan when I saw what appeared to be yogurt. The momos were not "fully" vegan.

I would highly recommend this restaurant create a separate vegan menu to avoid such confusion.

I put some lentils on rice,, and that was tasty, but I found the greens to be extremely salty.

VeganFoodQuest

14 Sep 2022

Also in town as a speaker at the Himalayan Vegan Festival, will give this spot a miss…

shivaom

Points +58

Vegan
29 Jul 2022

Missing the vibe…

Chill ambience, quality food…

Alexey432

Points +50

Vegan
28 Mar 2022

Very little vegan options.

It’s better if they can do vegan variety or add more vegan options.

EKSH

Points +970

Vegan
21 Feb 2022

Very few vegan options

Sister restaurant to the Pokhara branch. Falafel was good but compared to everywhere else this place is pricey. They working with a reduced menu so there are not many vegan options at all.

Updated from previous review on 2022-02-21

Cons: Reduced menu, Expensive

karma529

Points +192

Vegan
07 Jan 2022

Almost none vegan options

They changed the menu, now they have a printed one. I asked for vegan breakfast and the guy was looking at me with a confused face. One of the only things I could order was the falafel, that was quite good but expensive.

Pros: The atmosphere is nice

Cons: Almost none vegan options

vegan_nyam

Points +1528

Vegan
11 Nov 2021

So good!

I ate a smoothie bowl and pumpkin cake. The Smoothie bowl was great as it usually does. The pumpkin cake was perfect. It was sweet enough and soft.

SoyStina

Points +3263

Vegan
05 Jun 2020

Must eat in Kathmandu

I’ve been here several times, and the food is amazing. Has a lot of vegan food. It was always packed when I was there, very popular place to eat. Super cosy atmosphere.

Pros: Vegan friendly , Cozy place , Delicious food

Cons: Quite expensive

HansM

Points +725

Raw
23 Feb 2020

Nice but room for improvements

Nice big vegetarian/vegan restaurant, not easy to find. Entry point of Mandala street, small allee, 2nd floor. Some spots are very dark, menu is sizeble but very difficult to read and quite dirty to hold. Soup was not particular good, rest ok.

Pros: Big menu, Vegetarian and vegan options

Cons: Expensive, Difficult to find, Dirty menu

Bubbalise

Points +47

Vegan
07 Feb 2020

So good!!

I've have been twice in the few days I've been in town because the food is just so good! Tons of exciting vegan options and a really cool vibe!

Stephanie123

Points +40

Vegan
04 Jan 2020

Can’t get enough of this place

Delicious healthy meals, great for sharing starters and their coconut banana lassi is so good! We came here for Christmas dinner because we knew it would be the perfect place for a delicious vegan feast. Very comfortable place. And they have heaters! Which is a welcome treat in the winter months!

PhilippaAdele

Points +106

Vegan
27 Nov 2019

Delicious

I had the falafel with hummus, tahini and fatoush salad. It was truly delicious and incredibly filling. The prices here and mid to upper range for Nepal but still reasonable.

Pros: Delicious , Generous portions

Cons: None

miese_ise

Points +116

Vegan
22 Nov 2019

Delicious

Cozy place with vegan and gluten free options attracts a cool crowd of people and they have great food. I tried the v gf pancakes and they were very tasty.
It's definitely on the pricey side and sometimes the staff can seem a bit unfriendly but all in all a great place

Pros: Vegan and gluten-free options , Great atmosphere and location

Cons: Pricey, Staff not the friendliest

sustainably.vegan

Points +386

Vegan
04 Nov 2019

Very cozy restaurant in the center of Kathmandu

I really really liked this cozy, relaxed place, not only for its delicious food but especially for the relaxed and cozy atmosphere. You need to take your shoes off and sit on huge pillows which makes it such a chilled place. We tried a lot of the food during our stay in Kathmandu and everything was really delicious. The menu is inspired from the middle east with Israeli dishes like hummus but also features typical Nepali food like Dhal Bhat. The restaurant is vegetarian but many options that are either vegan or can easily be veganized, they serve plant based milk for hot drinks, gluten free options available as well. Very recommendable! :)

Pros: Many items are vegan or can easily be veganized, Cozy and relaxed atmosphere

jennieK17

Points +60

Vegan
30 Oct 2019

Very Tasty

The decor is very touristy, but don't let it fool you, the food is absolutely amazing. Nepal is full of yummy vegan food but OR2K is definitely a stand out.

M57

Points +3665

Vegan
21 Oct 2019

Don't understand the bad reviews

Food: 4/5
Vegan options (variety): 5/5
Vegan labelling: 5/5
Value for money: 3/5
Portion size: 5/5
Atmosphere: 4/5
Service: 5/5
Location: 5/5
Reservation recommended: maybe
Visited: 10/2018, 10/2019

Umeko

Points +363

Vegan
15 Sep 2019

Kinda touristy

We went just the once as it was kinda touristy with the dishes and prices. It has a good WiFi connection and the food was pleasant enough. We were just looking for something more local

Heatherw1019

Points +428

Vegan
23 Jul 2019

Great options

They have a few vegan options and some dishes that can be veganized. However my favourite part is the atmosphere of the place. It's great for coming to hangout for an afternoon. Most of the tables are on the floor with pillows so you can just relax and it's great.

Burgey44

Points +75

Vegan
05 Jul 2019

Great spot! Creme brûlée a must try!!

Good food and a nice vibe, we loved this restaurant in Thamel. Although you sit on the floor, it was still comfy for my 6 foot 5 frame, which isn't always the case in some places. We went here a couple of times and tried different dishes. The smoothie bowl was amazing as was the vegan shakshuka. The staff were helpful and told us everything that could be made vegan. The vegan Creme brûlée is a must try, it was amazing and we wanted to go back just for that!

Pros: clearly labelled options, good fod, nice atmosphere

Cons: little expensive




This page has been viewed 12831 times.