OmNam

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 23 reviews )
Contact
0503744045
Find

Annankatu 29 B, Helsinki, Finland, 00100

Small vegan restaurant located next to a yoga school. Serves daily changing warm lunch options, soup and salad buffet. Evening menu introduced Jan 2018. Brunch on Sat. Open Mon-Fri 11:00am-3:00pm, Tue-Sat 4:00pm-9:00pm, Sat 11:30am-3:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, Indian, Organic, Western, Beer/Wine, European, Fusion

23 Reviews

First Review by Gudrun

First visit, good impression - update - Edit

I visited again now after the restaurant switched to completely vegan food. I went with my daughter who took a black bean hamburger while I took the salad buffet. We were both very pleased, hamburger was tasty and salads were fresh and fulfilling. We ate also "mokkapala" with a coffee and felt all warm and happy. :)

There are three options available: salad buffet, salad buffet and soup, and then a warm dish in addition to these two. I took the option of salad buffet with soup. There were several different salads, all very tasty and fresh and all vegan dishes (as was every dish the day I visited) clearly marked. The soup was also very nice. There was also freshly baked bread and coffee/tea included. In a city where salad options are usually quite poor and expensive, I warmly recommend OmNam to people who appreciate fresh food.

Updated from previous review on 2016-02-03

Pros: Variety of salads, Bread, All vegan now!

Cons: Small place, crowded at lunch time

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing salad buffet - Edit

Beautiful food and service
free tea/coffee/water

Pros: 100% vegan, food quality

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Long wait but pretty good food - Edit

We had to wait almost 50 minutes for our food on a Friday night although it was not completely full. But the food was pretty good! I will go back if I get the chance.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Raw-vegan style food - Edit

The food is in the style of raw-vegan cooking, so it's a bit expensive and can be starchy/oily/sparse depending on what you're use to. It may be to your taste, but I found Date & Kale a bit easier to get into, while still raw vegan.

Pros: Salad bar and fully vegan dishes, Food wth variety, not just seitan and vegan cheese

Cons: Not the cheapest, A bit raw-vegan tasting (not creamy etc.)

1 Response
Read More

TakuK 19 Jan 2018 - Hi!
Many thanks for your comments.
We aim to offer healthy and heavier options for lunch and are sorry that you felt our food was not to your liking. We strive ourselves to become better every day and your comments are being discussed in order to improve our food. Kind regards, OmNam Kitchen  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very good food - Edit

Tasty food an very nice people at lunchtime!

Pros: Good location!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Decent, but pricy - Edit

Food quality alright, but not really good enough for the price. Feels like a place with high aspirations. Nice atmosphere, music and design.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

delicious, ******* pricey food - Edit

..... we bought to cauliflowers on a Finnish bread with a coffe for 23 euros. They have free wifi

Pros: sweet service, good food

Cons: ****ing expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious food - Edit

The food was delicious! I think this place is a worth of visiting.

Updated from previous review on 2017-07-25

Pros: Friendly staff

Cons: Crowded, Pricey

1 Response
Read More

Mirka Moi 25 Sep 2017 - Thank you so much and welcome back♥️
OmNam staff  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

True Gourmet Vegan - Edit

True Gourmet Vegan food. Beautifully presented, delicious with balanced flavors and textures. It doesn't get much better than this. Meat eaters don't know what they are missing!!

1 Response
Read More

Mirka Moi 25 Sep 2017 - Thank you and welcome back!♥️
OmNam staff  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Organic, vegan restaurant - Edit

The dinner and cake were ok. A bit too oily/greasy for my stomach. But just my opinion. I prefer sauces and vegetables separate and not vegetables already mixed with mayo.
The cake was very oily aswell.


Updated from previous review on 2017-07-12

Pros: Organic, All vegan

Cons: Greasy

1 Response
Read More

Mirka Moi 25 Sep 2017 - Thanks for the feedback, next time you may ask for the veggies separately ?
Welcome back!
OmNam staff  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious! - Edit

Everything was so delicious! (The bread with the dips was awesome and so was the cake, and the maincourse ofcourse). I don't live in Helsinki, but when I'm wisiting again, I'm definately coming here! Even my nonvegan family loved it :D

1 Response
Read More

Mirka Moi 25 Sep 2017 - Thank you for the review & visit! Hope to see you soon again!
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Small and cosy place to eat - Edit

This hidden gem is a great place to enjoy vegetarian food and beer/wine. Also the yoga school next to it is a worth of visiting.

Pros: Food, Staff, Atmosphere

Cons: Few seats for customers, Difficult to come with a kid

1 Response
Read More

Mirka Moi 30 Jun 2017 - Thank you for your review, welcome back!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Perfect for vegan lunch - Edit

I've been here three times, twice for lunch and once in the evening à-la-carte. I recommend the lunch over the pricier à-la-carte, which doesn't offer too much options, especially for vegans (and even less if you are GF vegan like me). The lunch offers soup, salad, and two main dish options. Soup and salad are always vegan I believe, and the salad is very big and always delicious, well balanced with carbs, proteins, and fats. The food is top quality.

Pros: Fresh high-quality food.

Cons: À la carte not as good as lunch for vegans.

1 Response
Read More

Mirka Moi 18 Feb 2017 - Hello,
Thanks a lot for the review! We do use a lot of organic stuff simply due to better taste. At the moment the evening menu is all vegan as well as mostly the lunch options. However, we do like to use sometimes good cheese but you can always trust that non-vegan dishes are labelled or can often easily be prepared as vegan, if possible. Helsinki is a small town and "all vegan" dinner restaurants with nice wine or beer do not really exist yet. At OmNam you can however enjoy a full vegan dinner with organic beverages. Or a nice tasty lunch =)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

delicious food! - Edit

All vegetarian restaurant with a lot vegan options. Some things are marked vegan, some they can make vegan if you ask for it. Liked the food a lot. A little bit pricy. A meal for 12/13€.. About tasty!

1 Response
Read More

Mirka Moi 28 Aug 2016 - So nice, thank you for your visit & review! Hope to see you again!
OmNam crew  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

I like it! - Edit

Just had lunch there. Delicious healthy food. The staff speaks mostly English.

1 Response
Read More

Mirka Moi 28 Aug 2016 - Thanks for the review, hope to see you again!
OmNam crew  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

OK I guess - Edit

Nice enough food, nothing special. Had to ask about vegan options as not everything is 100% vegan. Had some sort of dal pancake which was a bit oily, the same sort of food you get at any hare krishnas. Thought it was quite pricey for what it was, though seems to be popular.

Staff very friendly!

1 Response
Read More

Mirka Moi 06 Jun 2016 - Thank you very much for the review! The pancake is Dosa Masala, which is very hard to find in Finland elsewhere- so very popular among Finnish customers. We serve them on Thursday lunch. Of course other options available too. True, we are not 100% vegan but almost everything can be prepared also for vegans. Hope to see you again!

Mirka  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A nice, fresh lunch - Edit

An alright lunch buffet from the pricier end. Food is good, some of it with indian vibes. Food seems to be made from fresh quality ingredients unlike in so many places around. I wish they just went vegan, since it's not far from it, but now you need to check with the staff. The place is very popular, so go early enough in order to fit in!

Pros: Quality ingredients, Service, Mostly vegan

Cons: Not 100% vegan, Pricey, Crowded

1 Response
Read More

Mirka Moi 06 Jun 2016 - Hello and thanks for the review!
We do use fresh and mostly organic stuff, therefore we are not competing with lowest prices. We do "peel&slice" veggies ourselves which is not the case unfortunately in every Finnish restaurant. BTW, on lunchtime we have a theme- so Indian vibes are about once a week, other wibes other days =)
Hope to see you again,

Mirka  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

May be that's nice place... - Edit

I went to OmNam to have a fresh salad. It was about noon or a bit later. But they had only two options: big meal and small meal. No option of salad buffet. I asked about it and they recommended me another place to have some fresh salad.

Pros: Nice people

Cons: No fresh salad

1 Response
Read More

Mirka Moi 24 Apr 2016 - Hey Nikolay!
There are always fresh salads available (buffet or portions) unless there happened to be an occacional Saturday brunch. I´m afraid there must have been some kind of an unfortunate misunderstanding... =(  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Pretty good - Edit

Visited the place during lunch at my workplace. Pretty nice salad though some options were a bit wierd. But a solid place with good vegan food, and its not too expensive either.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

OmNam = nom nom :) - Edit

My favorite veggie place in Helsinki. For 12 euros you can eat soup and as much salad and bread as you like, plus free refills of tea. It's a real bargain for such delicious and fresh food. The cafe itself is quite small and cosy, and the staff are friendly and helpful. What is not to like? Yummy. Highly recommended.

Pros: Healthy tasty veggie food, Nice vibe, Value

Cons: May be hard to locate, Busy at lunch time

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lots of vegan options and great salad buffet! - Edit

Nice medium-sized place at the heart of the Helsinki. Offers a salad buffet, a soup and a warm dish of the day.

The salad buffet was diverse and excellent. All the salads were vegan that day and clearly marked. The produce of the buffet and the bread was fresh and good quality. But the soup of the day was tasteless. I missed more spices and flavor. They also serve a good variety of cakes and desserts. Lots of vegan options as well. I had a piece of raw chocolate mint cake. The texture of the cake was firm and the taste was ok, but I could taste the coconut oil a little bit too much.

I fully recommend the salad buffet!

Pros: great salad buffet, nice and warm atmosphere, lot of vegan options, clearly marked

Cons: not enough spices and flavor in the soup

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great food - Edit

I have been here once for lunch and will definitely come back! The food is really fresh and tastes good. The only minus is that it's not 100 % vegan, you have to ask for the vegan options. But they have a lot of vegan raw cakes and pies at the counter that you can buy to take away or to eat in the cafe.

You can find a sign on Annankatu pointing you to the right courtyard when the cafe is open.

Fully recommended!

Pros: great, fresh food, nice atmosphere, friendly staff

Cons: not 100 % vegan

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A hidden treasure in Helsinki - Edit

When I read on Happy Cow "This small vegetarian cafe is situated inside a yoga school" I thought of not too sophisticated vegetarian food with a lot of dairy in it and some vegan energy balls (sorry, those are not my cup of tea, especially when I am hungry). So this restaurant was not on my wishlist when I went to Helsinki. But when I - by coincidence - passed by I decided to take a look. A bit hidden in an a courtyard (but not inside a yoga school) I found a full-blown modern medium-size restaurant with loads of vegan cakes and other good stuff. It was late in the afternoon and I was not too hungry, so I just had a raw vegan strawberry cake with - I think - a soya cappuccino. I decided to get back the next day - my last day in Helsinki - for lunch and I had a wonderful dosa dish. The place was quite crowded and it seemed that many people come here on a regular basis, I have seen whole families and groups of colleagues. The atmosphere was great, not only the staff was superfriendly and helpful, also the atmosphere among the guests was very friendly and relaxed. Of course I regret that I did not come here right away! The location is good, too - only about 10 minutes walk from Central Station.

Pros: great food, mostly vegan, friendly staff + customers

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Helsinki Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has OmNam closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 6163 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support