CLOSED: Oklahoma

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 10 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Find

74-76 High St, Manchester, England, M4 1ES

Serves meat, vegan options available. All veg except for one sandwich. This place has a big variety of options in their eclectic cafe and shop. Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Specializes in baked sweet potatoes. Full range of specialist teas and coffees and juices. The menu is all vegetarian apart from one sandwich. Confirmed cafe closed, Aug 2015.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Italian, Juice bar, Take-out, Breakfast, Non-veg

10 Reviews

First Review by alimac

jennyc32

Points +2561

Vegan
08 Mar 2015

Good cake

The menu seemed to disappear for a while after the cafe was refurbished last year, but it's back now and there are still a few vegan options. These days I mostly go there for cake - there are usually one or two vegan cakes (from the same bakery as the ones at Eighth Day) and they are always delicious. There's limited seating, but it's never that busy. It's a nice place to sit with a book for a while.

amzhatch

Points +88

Vegan
14 Sep 2014

gone very downhill recently

been going here since i was little back when it was a veggie cafe, now its more of a gift shop that sells sandwiches. the menu is so limited now and its no longer vegetarian. barely any meat options and the service is so slow. the staff in here have always been very [censored] as well

Pros: quirky gift shop

Cons: limited food, poor service

anianadia

Points +52

Vegan
29 Sep 2013

favourite place

This is one of my fav places for lunch in Manchester. Many vegan options, great with kids too. If you're having lunch in Manchester City centre come here!

Advertisement

JB23

Points +63

Vegan
21 Nov 2012

Vegan kitch heaven

Plenty of vegan options (yes, those sweet baked potatoes are heavenly!) and good coffee, but takeaway sandwiches tend to be boring/dry, and Forest Food savoury snacks are overpriced. Some staff can be a little indifferent, sometimes the service is slow. but guess you can't have it all! Once had a record shop tucked away in the corner and downstairs function room. Recycled plastic counter/window seating and reclaimed furniture. Good kitch shop at the back worth a visit, plus DVD hire.

Pros: Vegan options, Nice setting

Cons: Staff indifferent at times, Quite pricey, Gets busy, so not always room to eat

icaldas

Points +99

Vegan
02 Aug 2012

Amazing juices and amazing potatos

I have eaten a fantastic potato with a very good orangee/ginger juice! Very afordable and very nice music!

Stevie

Points +11753

Vegan
20 May 2012

Oklahoma, Manchester

I rocked up to the counter of this place for lunch today and asked what was vegan friendly. I was offered lots of choice by helpful and pleasant staff and plumped for a starter of carrot and orange soup, followed by a shepherd's pie with a salad. Both were very pleasant and I'd have no issues having either again. The cost was just over a tenner.

The location is in the Northern Quarter of Manchester near the Arndale Centre and Victoria train station is 5 - 10 mins walk away. Its on the same street as Earth Cafe which is almost straight across the street. Given the choice of the two I prefer Earth Cafe since with the exception of dairy milk on request for tea and coffee, is much more vegan friendly. Oklahoma though is open hours Earth Cafe is not and provides a very useful alternative for when Earth Cafe is closed.

Pros: Vegan vego friendly, Helpful staff

Cons: Not quite 100% vego

anna900

Points +79

Vegan
22 Apr 2012

Good grub

I keep forgetting about this place! Thanks for reminding me; I'm going to make sure I visit next time I'm in town. It's just your basic foodie-cafe stuff served in an eccentric looking cafe located within a shop that sells pretty much anything unusual and quirky. Have been here in the past and had vegan pasties, butties and hot chocolate. It's a nice welcome sit down when you're out shopping. So glad you guys have reminded me about it. I feel the urge to eat chick pea and spinach pasties and buy funky scented tissues and joss sticks!

Pros: great atmos, cheap and cheerful, lots of character

Cons: I keep forgetting about it!

mikebinos

Points +167

Vegetarian
18 Apr 2012

Jacket sweet potatoes

Oh why don't more jacket potato place add the sweet potato option? That leaves Oklahoma as your only place to go for it. It's a nice cafe for a coffee or tea, with a little bric-a-brac type shop selling all sorts of stuff in the back (or front, depending on which door you used). The sweet potato I got was a little undercooked, and I tend to like my sweet potatoes very cooked and soft.

sharonbetty

Points +31

Mostly Veg
29 Jan 2012

Worth a visit

Enjoyed sweet jacket potato with roased vegetables and goats cheese on one occasion and a toasted brown rye bread wtih rocket, yellow pepper and goats cheese on another. Would like to try more of the menu on more occasions and have the Green & Blacks hot chocolate (with ginger and orange) in my sights!! Not posh but enjoyable.

alimac

Points +267

Vegan
23 Oct 2011

Potato tastic

Amazing food here, I don't know anywhere else you can get baked sweet potato on a regular basis!

A fantastic selection of toppings and filings is available and the Green and Blacks hot chocolate is marvellous.

The eclectic decor is very artistic, a nice relaxing atmosphere. Oklahoma is always busy, with good reason!

The shop also sells amusing gifts and crafts.

Pros: outside seat on a sunny day, sweet potatoes, hot drinks selection

Cons: busy

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Manchester Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Oklahoma closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3093 times.