Ohms Cafe & Bar

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 32 reviews )

Find

Shop A, 192 Hollywood Rd (at bottom of Pound Lane), Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong, China

Fair trade shop & cafe with 17 seats. Offers a small food menu, beer, wine, coffee, tea. While the cafe is vegan, the shop possibly sells non-vegan and/or non-vegetarian items. Nearest MTR Sai Ying Pun exit A1 or Sheung Wan A2. Previously called Ohm.
Note December 2021: Restaurants in Hong Kong may have limited hours or limited seating due to Covid-19 restrictions, call ahead. Open Mon-Thu 12:30pm-6:00pm, Fri 12:30pm-8:30pm, Sat 12:30pm-8:00pm, Sun 12:30pm-7:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, International, Organic, Beer/Wine, Asian

32 Reviews

First Review by Stevie

kateleext

Points +651

Vegan
25 Sep 2021

Feels like home...the pancakes are a MUST HAVE

I had a mediocre experience at this place before, but I came back for a late afternoon lunch today and it was INSANE. The all day breakfast was so generously portioned, the yuba scramble was my favorite! The truffle cream cheese was incredibly aromatic, and the avocados were also of top quality.

But the REAL STAR of the show was the sea salt almond butter pancakes. GOD DAMN. The crunchy nutty goodness spread on top of the fluffiest vegan pancakes in town...the butter melting on top....the huge dollops of coconut whipped cream.....the absolute. best.

Will definitely come back again and again and again.

maltman23

Points +2631

Vegan
12 Dec 2019

cozy vegan cafe

I tried their banana pancakes. The texture was a bit chewy, which I wasn't expecting, but it tasted good. Typical of small Hong Kong places, there isn't much seating, but the atmosphere is cozy.

Pros: nice atmosphere

Cons: pancakes were a bit too chewy for my sensibilities

ldd_happy

Points +558

Vegan
15 Oct 2019

A little disappointed

There were no customers when I arrived but still empty plates on the table... I ordered the pancakes and whilst they were okay there was too much cream. I was expecting better from this place but willing to try it again sometime

Advertisement

Cam07

Points +34

Vegan
03 Aug 2019

Cool little quiet coffee place !

We had the Vegan Breakfast all Day as well as the Fettuccine with vegetables ! It was super tasty !

LawrenceTang

Points +13

Vegetarian
18 May 2019

Bad service

Bad experience there, nasty service by the female server. Rushing to ask us to order, eat and leave ASAP.

We shared that the service is little lacking, their reason is that they don’t have any service charge, and they don’t serve anyone, even if u r like any other regular customers, such a mind blowing service standards.

Plus they can’t even make a proper coffee.

Cons: Service attitude , Bad coffee

canadian_vegan_83

Points +36

Vegan
16 Apr 2019

Food tasted good but too expensive.

This place was disappointing! We were happy with our food, the flavours were good, but the portions were too small. We ordered Vegan Breakfast and it was on a small plate. You get beans, some kind of shredded carrot, some cabbage (I think) sautéed with a cheese sauce. Also get half a bagel and a very small dollop of cream cheese. This came on a small wooden plate. We ordered two of these and cost 360HKD. That is very expensive. I would have to disagree with the $$ price rating on here, as it should be $$$. The food itself tasted good but cannot return as the value for your food is not there.

Pros: Tasted good, Cute cafe, Nice staff

Cons: Too expensive, Small portions

Topfuel

Points +42

Vegan
16 Mar 2019

Disappointed

Extremely small portions, even my children of 6 and 10 years old had to fill up elsewhere even after dessert...

Extremely expensive considering meals don’t even begin to fill you up... also, coffee is bland.

Food is so-so... blueberry tofu cheesecake looks awesome but taste just like a block of tofu with blueberry sauce on top!!!... bagel is good tho.... waiting time is ridiculous.

Have no reason to return.. too many other good options around at reasonable prices.

Pros: Bagel

Cons: Expensive , Tiny portions , Looooooong waiting time!

Kiwiholic

Points +49

Vegan
23 Feb 2019

Small coffee place

Had some coffee which was only warm, not hot (maybe that's supposed to be like that!?), friendly staff, cake choice was limited

Pros: Fairtrade coffee!

veganmaxie

Points +61

Vegan
11 Feb 2019

Lovely tea and cake

Lovely atmosphere and great tea and coffee

Pros: Staff, Cake, Atmosphere

joparekh

Points +95

Mostly Veg
06 Dec 2018

Cute

Cute little cafe on the top of a stairs alley
Limited menu but very nice
Pay and counter to get served

Dariush

Points +275

Vegan
14 Oct 2018

Great little cafe

I found this place using the app. The food selection was limited but interesting. I had the miso noodles, which were simple but tasty and filling. The drinks, which you can get stand-alone or as part of a set, seem great. My Vietnamese coffee was amazing. The space is small- two tiny tables that seat four people in total, plus around 10 bar stools. The vibe is nice however, feels like a great place to work or just veg out (no pun intended).

erykah

Points +72

Vegan
05 Apr 2018

Holy Moses this was delicious!

I had a chia pod, kombucha, and a vegan lasagna, which might I add was thee best lasagna I’ve had much less a vegan one! So super impressed. The place is a bit hard to find, here are some steps up from Hollywood Rd and it is up there on the right. Tad expensive but definitely value for money and delicious food! I will so be back!!

Pros: amazing food!

Veganfoodexplorer

Points +150

Vegan
04 Apr 2018

Fantastic truffle cheese bagels

A lovely small cafe with fresh food, also has a selection of natural cosmetics and body products. I had a truffle cheese bagel which was delicious and the food ordered by other customers looked awesome as well. Recommend for a chilled out tea and a snack.

V-for-Vegan

Points +876

Vegan
26 Mar 2018

Ok but not great

Have only tried their drinks which are just average. Very shocked to find out they are selling non-vegan items!!! I'd have expected all items to be vegan since this is a vegan cafe!

NathalieBateman

Points +36

Vegan
20 Mar 2018

overpriced and overrated :(

Paid a lot of money for an all day breakfast and an iced caramel latte. The portion was small and I had to wait a while for it. The coffee came after the meal was served. It was supposed to come with a bagel and a salad, however, I received half a bagel and some shredded carrots with the rest of it. The butter that came with it was nice but I couldn’t really praise anything else. It was very sub par, as was the coffee, which was far too sweet. A shame really as I was really looking forward to having a local spot. Picked up some Happy Cow ice cream from here which was a plus though.

Pros: all vegan and fair trade , nice staff, good location

Cons: expensive, small portion, coffee not great

Ashni

Points +1615

Vegan
04 Feb 2018

Cute fairtrade vegan cafe

Small, cosy fairtrade cafe with variety of teas and coffees and an interesting selection of food (vegan breakfast, bagels, noodles, cakes, happy cow ice cream).

Tried a lovely almond vanilla latte. I found the coffee too strong; the waitress happily added more almond milk and black sugar.

I tried two vegan cakes - vegan fruit cheesecake tart and coffee tart. I was excited after many photos and reviews to try the cakes but wasn't blown away, and found the pastry average... Probably wouldn't order those again, and would try something else instead.

They have a policy of vegan food. At the time of this review, all their products on sale were vegan (lip balms, creams, locally made soap bars, incense sticks, nut butters) although they said they may stock non-vegan items in the future, as their priority is fair trade over vegan. They have removed the wool brushes Stevie makes reference to in his review.

Address is technically Hollywood Road, but you have to climb two short flights of stairs up to reach.



Updated from previous review on 2018-02-04

Pros: interesting selection of food , cute and cosy, friendly service

Cons: average cakes

AnnabelleSiebert

Points +22

Vegan
25 Jan 2018

Awesome cozy place

The staff is super friendly and the service is amazing! (: We had a matcha latte with cashew milk and miso soup and it was delicious. I'd recommend to check that place out, we'll definitely come back. (:

Pros: Service , Atmosphere, Organic and fair trade

SomethingVegan

Points +111

Vegan
01 Jan 2018

Yummy vegan pancakes

The almond butter pancakes were lovely, and we had 2 nice vegan beers. A little on the expensive side, but nice to visit for a snack.

Pros: Local craft beer

Cons: Quite expensive

rektor

Points +44

Vegan
23 Dec 2017

Good for a Quick Snack

I tried the black bean spaghetti, it was good even though the portion was tiny. Beer selection seems fun to try.

Stevie

Points +11753

Vegan
15 Nov 2017

Ohm, Hong Kong

They claim to be all-vegan but were selling wool fibre brushes. They don't give straight answers when asked about their on going policy of supposedly being all vegan.

Limited cooking facilities & choice. They can heat small packets of noodles but not much else. As per other reviewers, it's overpriced, small portions.

I'd rate this place lower than 2 if HappyCow would let me. They can sell what they want. When someone gets rumbled for not being what they claim and then they avoid straight answers to questions, that doesn't cut it for me.



Updated from previous review on 2017-08-04

Cons: Not what they claim to be, Owners play on words rather than straight answers

SuBravo

Points +406

Vegan
07 Nov 2017

pretty disappointed

Before going there, I read all the comments and I saw all the pictures here... I was ready to try some nice vegan cakes... but they just had two pieces of cakes which were not appetising at all. They didn’t look fresh so I didn’t try them. I had a smoothie and they had just banana or fig options!! I don’t think I want to come back again... it was not what I thought

YukiPoon

Points +63

Non Veg
23 Aug 2017

Lovely hidden gem

I love ohm!!! Love the owner, staffs who are always friends and passionate about organic fair traded and vegan foods. Don't think you can find another place in Hong Kong with those principles for the time begin. Their dishes with veggies were freshly from local farms which made them tasted fresh :) and me a happy vegan. They changed their menu from time to time. The pancake both salty and sweet were awesome. They also served some nice healthy appetisers which you shouldn't miss. Go support it and you will understand why I'm loving it :) oh almost forget they made amazing pies they made them with seasonal fruits - lime, mango or maybe figs - must try item!

Pros: Very nice pancake , Very nice pies, Friendly environment

Cons: A bit difficult to find the place

Chiara Cassandra

Points +127

Vegan
09 Aug 2017

too small portions

I have loved this cafe for been fairtrade and organic in addition to vegan (such a unique combination in HK)

But recently the portions became so so small. I don't think it's worth the price anymore. Sorry, Ohm, I won't be coming anymore

Pros: food is vegan, organic and fair trade

Cons: very tiny portions, PRICY

MonicaGugelLin

Points +20

Vegan
01 Aug 2017

100% Vegan!

100% Vegan! Eco-friendly, excellent cafe and restaurant. They also sell vegan makeup and other products cruelty-free. The staff are well prepared and explained everything about the menu.
#govegan

bectea-gan

Points +26

Vegan
10 Jun 2017

cute and convenient

This is a sweet cafe that is great for a cool night sat outside and people watching. The food was very different and interesting, compared to your 'typical' vegan food- although there isn't lots of options....and it's buy 1 get 1 free on organic locally brewed beers!! 🌿

SzeC

Points +13

Mostly Veg
01 Jun 2017

food and drink made by heart

I like this cozy place near my home made me feel like in Taipei.Also I love they support fair trade product and first time for me try the hazelnut ( freshly ground ) cappuccino ,taste great !

Pros: simple veggie meal , dessert and great coffee .

Cons: reasonable price with great ingredients

Reviewer Avatar

Guest

04 Mar 2017

ohm

i've fallen in love with this place, probably because it reminds me of taiwan - in terms of atmosphere, vibes and hospitality.

there were two staff that day. one was so friendly as soon as i walked inside, introducing me not only to their menu and philosophy, but also the products on display and events they host, and also letting me sample the kimchi saeukraut after my meal.

i ordered a noodle dish, which came with seasonal veg, and also a drink of cocoa with ginger and brown sugar. i really enjoyed my meal. it was simple, fresh, colourful and healthy, the staff member said that they change their veggies every couple of weeks, according to what's available during that season. it's a pity they don't offer options besides noodles and pasta. i'd have loved a simple bowl of rice with veggies. i also didn't see any all-day breakfast in their menu, as mentioned by another reviewer

from what i observed, service was slow, as they only had two staff members. it's not a place you would go to expecting fast food though.

ymmv: a male friend who visited previously found their portions too small and wasn't satiated even after three bowls of noodles, a side and a dessert. on the other hand, i was happy with my meal and drink (disclaimer: i had had a huge breakfast a few hours before).

Updated from previous review on 2017-03-04

Pros: very friendly staff, simple, healthy, vegan food, fairtrade, environmentally friendly products

Cons: slow service, not many choices

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Hong Kong Island Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Ohms Cafe & Bar closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 6120 times.