Lacto
Ovo
American
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. American diner food but reported having also a large vegan menu - ask for it. Open Mon-Sat 6:00am-3:00pm.


Venue map for Ocala's Downtown Diner
© OpenStreetMap contributors

54 Reviews

First Review by myahpapaya

Melorel

Points +16

Vegan
28 Dec 2023

I will never go there again!!

The smell of old fat is welcoming you, followed by a rude waitress not accommodating to your simple request of a table at the window. Also don’t bring your service dog as they don’t even bother to ask and only offer you a table outside in the cold weather and rain.. #Veganuary

Updated from previous review on 2023-12-28

Advertisement

Valerie95

Points +26

Vegan
04 Sep 2023

ENTIRE VEGAN MENU

This place has both breakfast and lunch menus that are front to back with a TON of options. From sweet to savory. Cheese sauce, ranch, bacon, etc. All the vegan fixins for an affordable price. Always good service and quick food. Favorite vegan spot in Ocala.

Pros: Menu variety , Quick service, Great food

CarolynG.Bryant

Points +30

Vegan
15 Jun 2023

So delicious!

The BLT was loaded with fillings and because it was the Thursday special it came with a choice of a side dish (many choices) and a drink.

Pros: Completely separate vegan menu

mateutschgmail.com

Points +16

Vegan
18 Mar 2023

Perfect choices!

So many delicious choices & extremely knowledgeable waitress, Erin, made my decision easy!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Waitress, Erin, especially helpful &knowledgeable, Delicious!

Cons: Air fryer not an option, but not a problem-

KristenAlana

Points +66

Vegan
15 Feb 2023

Old school diner food.

If you like old school style diners then this is your jam. BLT is lightlife tempeh. Bread is very thick, with minimal between the bread. Very polite staff.

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-15

IANTO

Points +220

Vegan
19 Jan 2023

5 star earned

WOW! Diner atmosphere and has a big vegan menu- perfect for friends that are not vegan - all can enjoy - awesome yummy food
Must see the menu
Awesome; awesome awesome Maria was an excellent server 🤩

Pros: Huge vegan menu

Cons: None

StephanieLanger

Points +917

Vegan
29 Dec 2022

Classic diner food

Came here with family for a birthday breakfast. They have a large vegan menu with lots of choices. I enjoyed the chik’n and waffles. Would love to come again and try some of their other items. It’s a fun place to visit.

Pros: Separate vegan menu

Cons: Not open for dinner

suewells

Points +24

Vegan
10 Nov 2022

Great Diner Food

Lots of great diner food options. We had vegan Philly Cheese Steak and buffalo wrap. Both were wonderful. Staff were lovely. Attentive and friendly. We will be back.

dwaynesummers

Points +24

Vegan
19 Oct 2022

Best Vegan Menu

When we travel, we like to try local restaurants that offer vegan options. The Downtown Diner has the most vegan options of any traditional restaurant we have ever visited. They also take great pride in their vegan food to make sure it is delicious, unlike some who only serve a black bean burger! The hoagie with the Impossible meat was amazing! It was a pleasure to eat there. By the way, the staff is very friendly and are knowledgeable about the vegan options.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Great food, Friendly staff

Cons: Need more seating!, No TP in bathroom. Need continuous checks.

SharlynFoley

Points +37

Vegan
08 Oct 2022

Cute diner with great vegan menu

Love having this place in Ocala. They aren't 100% vegan but they have an excellent breakfast and lunch vegan menu.

Cons: Only open till 3pm

Michelle.L.

Points +505

Vegan
24 Jul 2022

Ocala's Downtown Diner is a must!

If you ever find yourself in Ocala, Ocala's Downtown Diner is a must! I live in Jacksonville and my boyfriend lives in Clearwater so we meet in Ocala as a halfway point and we are so lucky to have found this place! They have a very extensive vegan breakfast and lunch menu. The food is amazing and the staff is extremely friendly! So far, we have been there for breakfast twice and lunch once. I was very impressed that they offer vegan alternatives for everything we've needed thus far (non-dairy milk for your coffee, vegan butter, vegan mayo, etc.). They offer both Beyond and Impossible patties for their burgers. The only drawback of this place is that they aren't open for dinner, although that's probably for the best considering we would likely eat three meals a day there if we could! We will definitely be going here every time we are in Ocala! I would have left a five star rating if I could have!

Updated from previous review on 2022-07-24

Pros: Lots of delicious vegan options, Friendly staff, Good prices

Cons: Not open for dinner

mikey725

Points +196

Vegan
15 Jul 2022

How refreshing!

It’s so refreshing to find a place like this with so many vegan options! I plan on returning anytime I’m in the area. I had the faux Philly chix and it was fantastic! The service was excellent and my food arrived very quickly.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Fast service , Friendly service

bsandman

Points +32

Vegan
02 Jul 2022

Great local place with many Vegan options!

There were so many vegan options it was difficult to pick, but I made a great choice with the Buffalo Chix Wrap and a side of Couscous and Quinoa. My 3 kids (ages 10-24) also enjoyed their non vegan food choices. Service was fantastic and they give a discount when paying with cash. I look forward to returning to try other of their menu items!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Great service , Great atmosphere

Cons: Small location

Mrodmh

Points +44

Herbivore
23 Apr 2022

Awesome!

So happy that Happy Cow let me know about this place. Soooo many creative options. I’d never have dreamed that an entire vegan menu exists at a place like this. It’s been a long time since I’ve dined at a diner.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Creative choices, Knowledgeable staff

Meanderingvegetarians

Points +113

Vegetarian
07 Feb 2022

Large Vegan Menu

They had a totally separate vegan menu with beyond or impossible burger options, vegan cheese and vegan mayo. I had the faux Philly and sweet potatoes fries - both were delicious! #Veganuary

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: No vegan shakes 👎🏻

CherylChaffee

Points +76

Vegan
21 Jan 2022

Yumm!

We stopped in for breakfast. The place doesnt look like much from the outside, but inside was clean, busy, and the wait staff was helpful. We had the vegan waffle and the breakfast burrito. Even the butter and cheezes are vegan if you order off the vegan menu. They also have vegan baked goods to take away. I would definitely go there again. #Veganuary

Pros: Huge vegan menu, Friendly service, Tasty food

asofla5

Points +75

Vegan
26 Dec 2021

Must go

Separate vegan menu, with breakfast and lunch. Lots of options. We had the breakfast burrito & the bbq/sweet onion burger (option of beyond or impossible patty). Both really good. They were packed, but the service was excellent & the food didn't take long to get. Will definitely be back, when we're in the area again!!

Pros: Separate vegan menu, Great service

TammyAnderson

Points +18

Vegan
23 May 2021

Ocala gem of a vegan menu

If you really just need a great breakfast or burger all your vegan comfort items are here.

Pros: Full vegan breakfast and lunch , Food is spectacular , Staff is amazing, especially Summer

natalia11691

Points +502

Vegan
04 May 2021

food was good

food was good, lengthy vegan menu. i was served my brothers non-vegan BBQ burger instead of my vegan BBQ impossible cheeze burger by a new waitress. didn’t realize until after i took a bite. then something told me to double check with the waitress about my sons vegan grilled cheeze which was actually also served to us non-vegan due to a “new chef”. staff was nice and gave us 20% off coupons but we more than likely won’t be back.

VeganLee1

Points +73

Vegan
17 Jan 2021

Delicious food

Had a large vegan menu, and food was DELICIOUS! I got a loaded vegan breakfast burrito and sweet potato fries. The vegan maple mustard sauce was absolutely incredible.

Had almond milk for coffee as well.

Only complaint is that they weren’t honoring CDC guidelines and place was packed so we got our food to go. Was way too crowded to eat inside with Covid concerns so naturally we weren’t comfortable eating inside

Pros: Large vegan menu

Cons: Too crowded, not following CDC guidelines

XAnnamazingX

Points +438

Vegan
12 Aug 2020

Supportive community and delicious food!

Their vegan menu is amazing! Easily worth a 5 star status. I really enjoy eating here and would definitely recommend visiting. Though they are not exclusively vegan they really take pride in the community and will do everything they can to make you feel welcome and leave feeling satisfied with your meal.

Pros: A separate vegan menu, So many options, Sells shirts to show support for vegans

jayrad

Points +113

Vegan
24 Apr 2020

Unexpected Gem!

We found this on Happy Cow and figured we’d check it out while passing through. It was excellent!! Huge vegan menu, friendly well informed staff, clean, filling, great prices and super delicious!!! If any vegan is passing through Ocala, this place is a must stop!

Profasmith

Points +52

Vegan
27 Jan 2020

Fabulous

Food, service, everything: Fabulous. Driving north on 75 and stopped at this diner for lunch (about 10-minute drive from the highway — and worth it! )

Pros: Separate Vegan menu, Awesome burgers and sides, Homemade vegan desserts

Cons: Too far from our Home

Smurfytinkerbell

Points +149

Vegetarian
27 Sep 2019

Vegan menu

I got the GA burger vegan cheeze, bacon, jalapeños, jam and an impossible burger the fries were like curly wedges and also very yummy.

Pros: Huge vegan menu , Very tasty , Omni friendly

Cons: Omni friendly

Craftyella

Points +203

Vegan
20 Sep 2019

Lots of vegan options

Delicious burgers!

Mark Davis

Points +26

Vegetarian
20 Aug 2019

Love this diner

I drive 30+ miles to eat here. The largest vegan menu in our area. Absolutely fabulous food and service. Though it is a typical diner they have a complete second veggie menu. Awesome burgers featuring all popular meat alternatives, creative wraps with vegan chick, beef, and cheese alternatives. Breakfast bowls. Everything for the vegan looking for exciting creative choices.

Pros: Great veggie choices, Daily specials include entree, side, dessert and b, Friendly servers

Demmy

Points +166

Vegan
17 Aug 2019

Love this little diner

Cute diner with full separate vegan menu. They serve breakfast ALL day. I love their pancakes - you get two huge pancakes and can add toppings (I like pbj.) Also love their scrambles and burgers, and sweet potato fries!

Pros: Full vegan menu, Breakfast all day!, Large portions




This page has been viewed 9326 times.