• Oasis Cafe

  • (10)
    16
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Juice bar
Beer/Wine
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Offers multiple vegetarian items and marks the ones that can be made vegan. Lunch menu prices are moderate, dinner more expensive. Has a vegan dessert. Open Mon-Thu 8:00am-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 8:00am-10:00pm, Sun 8:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Oasis Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by Roethke

happypants

Points +258

Vegan
06 Jan 2024

Meh for vegans

No vegan menu items for breakfast. The way that breakfast items can be made vegan is by taking a dish centered on eggs and dairy, removing the eggs and dairy, and adding tofu. This seems like a half-a**ed move from the ‘90s.

Because Oasis is so vegetation-centric (started out vegetarian, no?), their lack of thoughtful vegan options seems a bit like an intentional snub. They have a whole gluten-free menu, why not a vegan one?

I ended up having potatoes (good flavor, but rubbery like they’d been reheated) and fruit (unripe, but it’s January, so my bad for ordering).

I want to love this restaurant - it was the unattainable fancy place when I was a vegan teen. It’s where I went for (the first time on) my 18th birthday, and I cooked some of their recipes at home. Now, 20-something years later, it feels like a high school crush who you run into and think, “huh?” 🤔

Advertisement

AlexinDC

Points +444

Vegan
16 May 2023

Menu could be more vegan

Limited options. Food was good.

AntonioXShade

Points +18

Vegan
14 Mar 2021

Lavender Mamosa‘sMamosa‘s

I always enjoy coming here I usually get the same thing!
Veggie hash (subbing out the eggs for tofu)

lisarene

Points +72

Vegan
06 Sep 2019

Was disappointed

Ordered a “can be made vegan dish” and it came out not vegan. They kindly replaced it and removed the sprinkled on cheese but the risotto still had cheese mixed into it. My table mates loved their dishes and they looked wonderful. I don’t digest milk protein so for me the mistake goes beyond preference.

Pros: A couple vegan dishes , A couple can be made vegan dishes

Cons: Inattention to details. , Flies- super annoying

allisonnielson

Points +16

Vegan
11 Aug 2019

Great place for all

I have been to this place a million times and it never disappoints. This is my go to place when meeting friends/family who are not vegan. As far as vegan options they have a lot considering it’s not a vegan restaurant. Most items on the breakfast/lunch menu can be made vegan. I have only ate dinner here 3 times and was great then too.

Pros: Vegan options

Cons: Slow service

LaylaDarian

Points +74

Vegan
18 Dec 2018

Good food, limited options

I got the veggie/potato hash. To make it vegan they dont do 2 eggs. And you can order tofu or tempeh. I got the tempeh and it was like little squares. Tasted really good with the tomato sauce they add.


Complaint is that the waitress seemed really lost with what vegan is and how some of their dishes are made/where they come from. I asked if the english muffin is vegan and shes like "umm i think". "Umm" is not what a vegan wants to hear.

Pros: Yummy tempeh and potato hash

Cons: Limited vegan options, Server wasnt knowledgeable

jbuberel

Points +66

Vegan
20 May 2016

Decent vegan selection, tasty

Met a friend there for lunch on a Monday. Their menu has a good selection of vegan and 'can be made vegan' options. The food was good , and the outdoor seating area is nice.

Pros: good selection

Lamar

Points +49

Vegan
30 Jul 2014

I love the patio.

I love to dine on their patio so I find myself going here more often in the summer months. The dinner menu only has a few vegan options but they are all pretty good. For desert they have one of the best vegan chocolate cakes I've ever had. Brunch is the best of all! Try tofu scrambler, tempeh sandwich, potato hash with tofu, or the breakfast burrito. If you're looking for something light try a vegan muffin with juice or coffee. I'm pleased every time. I love this place.

Pros: Patio, Great brunch menu, Chocolate cake

Cons: Weak dinner menu

Meggie and Ben

Points +1786

Vegan
19 Jan 2012

Good lunch place

I'm really surprised by the other reviews of this place... they don't have the most amazing options but I have always been decently happy when I go there.

To me, it's a good place for brunch or lunch to go with omnis when you're not looking to spend too much. Expect to spent $8-10 for lunch. They have a fine selection of vegetarian and vegan options (probably 5-6) and a great selection of coffee and tea.

I have found that I prefer their lunch over their breakfast food, and I would not go there again for dinner. Dinner is extremely over priced, small proportions, and not up to par.

Roethke

Points +60

Vegan
09 Oct 2007

Yuck

My friend was served a dead cockroach on his plate, beneath the soupbowl. Plus, this place is NOT vegetarian. Fish is not vegetarian food.

Pros: some options

Cons: pests, overpriced, not vegetarian




This page has been viewed 5300 times.