CLOSED: O' Joy

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 15 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Contact
+44-1743-240037
Find

81 Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury, England, SY1 1UT

Health-focused, plant-based bistro and wellness retreat, co-owned by Nick Knowles. Fully licensed. Serves fresh smoothies. Baked and raw cakes made to order. Previously known as Optimum Joy. Confirmed closed, Nov 2017.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Organic, Take-out, Bakery, British

15 Reviews

First Review by malumovis

delicious - Edit

One of these tastiest breakfast I've had. Massive quantity, great service. Highly recommend it

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing food! - Edit

O Joy is a fantastic all vegan restaurant that serves a wide range of different meals, cakes and drinks. A bit on the pricey side for some things, but really good quality and delicious food so worth it! I especially love going here for dinner as the atmosphere is always good. Highly recommended!

Pros: Completely vegan so no searching around on the men

Cons: Some dishes are slightly pricey (but worth it!)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fantastic! ***** - Edit

I visited O'joy whilst shopping in Shrewsbury with friends recently, my group was mixed, vegetarian, vegan and those who were curious. We had a fantastic meal on a Saturday afternoon and despite the restaurant being full we didn't have to wait long for our meal or drinks. The staff were very attentive and the atmosphere friendly and laid back. Decor is contemporary and relaxing. Although this restaurant is listed on this site as vegetarian, all food on menu was 100% vegan. Everyone, in our party of five, was very impressed with the quality of food, including the meat eaters, who both commented that the experience made them seriously considering converting! Definitely worth a visit!

Pros: Attentive staff , Great food, Nice atmosphere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful food, friendly staff - Edit

Delicious all vegan meals, but particularly love the range of vegan cakes and their delicious smoothies! Lovely relaxing place.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Day trippers - Edit

Searched for a vegan lunch on a day trip to Shrewsbury and found O'Joy. Booked for 4 but we ended up a group of 10. (1 vegetarian, 1 vegan and 8 curious). Enjoyed the 'you can't beet it martini ' mocktails / cocktails, the piquillo peppers with cashew nut cheese, delicious soup of the day (spicy tomato and courgette) both types of burgers, the falafel box, haggis wrap, and the coronation chick pea wrap.

Pros: Friendly staff, Friendly locals

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Compulsory Christmas - Edit

Called in early evening. Surprised to find only the Christmas menu available - all other options temporarily discontinued. Not even a soup of the day! Wasn't in the mood for a full 'sit down' meal (@ £15 2 courses/£20 3 courses). After saying I didn't have a huge appetite they offered me a main course @ £10 (why wasn't this on the menu?).

I ordered one of the three main course options. The server went to the kitchen, came back a few minutes later and said there was a 20-minute wait. I asked if anything else would be quicker; she said no. Then she said my choice had already been put in the oven (so why check with the customer about the time delay *afterwards*?).

The food did arrive in the stated time and was good (but not outstanding).

Updated from previous review on 2016-12-02

Pros: N/A

Cons: N/A

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Not entirely vegan - Edit

Irritating point 1 - described on this site and wider internet as 'vegan' but there is no signage, nothing on the menu or boards to confirm this. Call me awkward, but I'm not mad on verbal assurance. Point 2 - cow milk is available for hot drinks. So by my definition, not vegan.

Pros: Good ambience.

Cons: Not vegan and not clear about their point of view.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

O'joy - Edit

1st time for me vising a solely vegan restaurant and I was very excited.
I ordered the zucchini noodles which although it was a small potion were beautiful and filling fresh and tasty. On the other hand my friend ordered the bean burger which was more of a soft paste and sweet potato wedges were really over done. For the price of almost £10.00 it was slightly alarming. she did inform the staff as she left almost everything but nothing was said/done. Which was slightly gutting. I would definitely go back for the noodles if I was in the area again and feeling flush. Great background music,good food,slightly distant staff.

Pros: Great meal, nicely fitted, good music

Cons: Lacking customer service, not consistent with the meals, high price

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

very impressed - Edit

Saturday 27/2/16 - travelled on recommendation found on Happy Cow app. Had a very enjoyable late vegan lunch which I shared with my meat eating husband. Food was fresh, flavourful & interesting. Staff were very helpful, informative & friendly. Great atmosphere. People calling in for coffees, juices, Prosecco, to enjoy with homemade vegan deserts.
Thank you for a warm welcome. We will recommend & return.

Pros: all vegan, knowledge, friendly staff, alcohol also available

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Used to love it but prices have gone up - Edit

Optimum Joy is wonderful, brilliant food for a good price and lovely, friendly staff. The atmosphere is great. It is great for me as the food is healthy and i am vegetarian so it can sometimes be difficult to find places to eat. However i visited the other day to see that the prices have gone up quite a bit and the menu has changed, now £6.50 for a sandwich. I believe this is a bit high and also some of the mains are quite expensive too. I am quite disappointed!!

Pros: Friendly staff, Great food, food for vegetarians, vegans,etc

Cons: prices gone up

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Not just for young alternative types! - Edit

Lovely relaxed atmosphere. The food is imaginative, there's lots of choice and the portions are generous. Some great ayurvedic teas too. We're long-time vegetarians in our 70s who've been around the block a few times when it comes to eating out, and we both heartily recommend this place.

Pros: Imagination, Friendliness, Totally vegetarian

Cons: None

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing food and family friendly - Edit

Love this place! The food is delicious with a variety on offer from raw Pad Thai to Caribbean spiced stew with dumplings. Very family friendly surroundings with a relaxed atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff. They also have a therapy rooms upstairs. I am vegan but my family are not. They really enjoyed the experience. Brilliant!

Pros: Food, Customer service, Surroundings

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

At last a decent vegan cafe in Shrewsbury. - Edit

The full English breakfast is very good value and there's a wide choice of meals including smaller portions if you just want a quick snack. The chocolate cake is one of the best I've tasted; I keep meaning to try the others but can't resist the choc.
The staff are very pleasant and helpful.
I was put off by the name, but I guess the name covers the range of alternative therapies you can book in the upstairs room (the shiatsu massage is sheer bliss).

Pros: Delicious food, all vegan., Friendly staff., Good value.

Cons: They offer a choice of cows milk.

1 Response
Read More
Avatar Tazthecat

Tazthecat 18 Nov 2015 - Hi just to let you know that vlad the chef at Optimum joy is leaving so his yummy food will no longer be available there. He is moving on to pastures new.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan Wholefood Cafe - Edit

WoW! Just visited this place on Wyle Cop in Shrewsbury town center. Lovely atmosphere, Lovely food and lovely staff. Could have had some holistic treatments offered upstairs as well.
Updated from previous review on Thursday February 20, 2014

Having previously visited this little gem of a cafe whilst visiting
Shrewsbury, I have taken the opportunity to call in again. Its now been
turned into a little diamond!
The charming staff told me they have a new chef and he/she has come up
with a brilliant choice of vegan fare on offer. I had the Sweet Potato
Falafels from the lunch menu. (yummy) It offers both quality and value.
The coffee is delicious! Not sure what the secret is but they have got
it right. Its worth the very short walk from the town square to sit in
and enjoy the calm atmosphere this cafe radiates.
Thank you Optimum Joy
'I'll be back' as they say.

Pros: nice vibes

1 Response
Read More

Optimum Joy 24 Apr 2014 - Hi Geoff, many thanks for your review. Our menu has been significantly expanded since your review so do come back and sample!
Becky  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent value, great food in a contemporary cafe - Edit

We stopped off in Shrewsbury half way through a long drive yesterday and discovered this amazing vegan cafe. The decor is light and airy but still cosy, the menu is excellent and unbelievably good value, and the staff are wonderfully friendly.

I had the blue 'cheese' sandwich which contained door-stop style hunks of bread and a very generous amount of filling (along with a leaf salad, dressing and tortilla chips) and my partner had the spicy lentil soup which was also a very generous portion, with two chunky slices of bread. Unbelievably, these were only £3.75 each, and so very tasty.

We are planning a return visit to Shrewsbury already in order to eat again at this great place (the breakfast sounds amazing). So good they should open up a nationwide chain, seriously.

Pros: Excellent food and value, Very friendly staff, Smart, clean & airy cafe

3 Responses
Read More

Optimum Joy 24 Apr 2014 - Thank you so much for your review! Wonderful to hear your feedback and look forward to your return visit!
Becky  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Avatar Tazthecat

Tazthecat 18 Nov 2015 - Vlad the chef is LEAVING so his food will no longer be available at Optimum Joy  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Avatar Tazthecat

Tazthecat 18 Nov 2015 - Vlad the chef is LEAVING so his food will no longer be available at Optimum Joy  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Shrewsbury Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has CLOSED: O' Joy closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 6838 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support