Vegan
Buffet
Delivery
Take-out
Caribbean
Catering

Vegan cafe offering a large soul food menu of southern American style entrees, hot and cold sides, shakes and smoothies. Sample items include vegan soft serve, mac n cheese and biscuits, fried chicken, and Sunday brunch. One of a few branches, this one is in the Howard University/Park View area. Est. in the 2000s as Everlasting Life which became Woodlands then NuVegan in 2015. Black-owned. Open Mon-Sat 12:00pm-8:00pm, Sun 10:00am-7:00pm.


188 Reviews

First Review by Mimi710

Vegcrusher74

Points +33

Vegan
17 Jan 2024

Make this a regular stop

Everything is so good. Went with a group and everyone enjoyed their meals. The Mac & Cheese is fantastic.

Advertisement

ScottHutton

Points +467

Vegan
18 Nov 2023

Great Comfort Soul Food!

Many homemade entree and side optlons

Pros: Homemade Vegan Food, The friendly staff, Easy and quick walk up ordering

LoganMelton

Points +1245

Vegan
08 Oct 2023

Incredible

Wow! This place blows expectations out of the water. Service is quick, since the food is served cafeteria style, the taste, texture, everything was perfect. Don't let the cafeteria style format and plastic cutlery turn you off, this is a must visit in the DMV.

kirsten.ableson

Points +128

Vegan
10 Sep 2023

Excellent food!

Yummy food, and so many options! I ordered enough food for three meals and I’m so glad I did!

VegProudMom

Points +16

Vegan
06 Aug 2023

Food far from great. Unkind service. Plastic cutlery 😳

We arrived first time and we’re very disappointed. Half of the menus was not available, service was not kind and the place should be cleaned better.
Disappointing they use only plastic “plates” and cutlery…
Not coming back again😒

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-06

Cons: Half of the things in menu weren’t available , Place needs cleaning, Staff not kind

stewstewstew

Points +89

Vegan
05 Aug 2023

Lives up to the expectations

It is as good as the reviews say it is, will definitely be going back. Got the chicken and even without sauce was some of the best I ever had. The Mac and cheese also was incredible.

PlantsnMelanin

Points +62

Vegan
22 Jul 2023

Flavoursome and friendly service

BBQ ribs were delicious.
Mac n cheese very moorish.

FieldRoaster🌱

Points +275

Vegan
15 Jul 2023

Classic great southern food!

I’m a fan. Came late on a Friday (closes at 8pm). They had three mains left l: chick’n drummies , tofu, and Salisbury steak. Got the drummies and tofu. For the money you’ll get much fuller on the tofu and brown rice. For sides had collared greens x2, Mac and cheese and sweet potato. We all liked the collard greens. Mac and cheese also would get again. Potatoes a bit too sweet for our preference. Cornbread for $2 is good value.
Seating and dining area is no nonsense. Cafeteria style (they serve you based on what you ask for / point to)

Pros: Mac and cheese is good

Dariush

15 Jul 2023

Didn’t try the Salisbury steak? 🤦🏻‍♂️

pinkdragon

Points +114

Vegan
06 Jul 2023

Best Vegan Soul Food

The mac and cheese is to die for. The vegan fried chicken is also delicious! They have such a wide array of options it’s hard to pick just one! Desserts are worth it as well.

FelinityVeg

Points +96

Vegan
18 Jun 2023

Best mac I’ve ever had!

Everything this restaurant serves is extremely delicious. I’ve tried several items and there is nothing that I didn’t love. If you’re in the area, go check them out, and make sure you get some mac and cheeze!

Pros: Best mac and cheeze ever, A lot of variety and everything is delicious , Staff is great

villain

Points +6967

Vegan
26 May 2023

Sets the standard for vegan soul food

NuVegan definitely sets the standard for vegan soul food, and other restaurants should be taking notes. The Mac and Cheese was creamy and rich, and the Sweet Potatoes were flavorful and well spiced. The chick'n drummies were great, too. Just be aware that there are many sauce and flavor options for the chick'n. You won't be asked what flavor, offered a sauce, or told it's an option. It's written small on the menu on the wall, though. My dining partner had the lemon pepper flavor, as well as BBQ and Buffalo sauces. Their favorite was the lemon pepper. I'm so jealous! I need to come back to try all the flavor options.

The food here is very filling, portions are generous, and the pricing is perfect. Even the environment is pleasant and laid back.

The only thing I didn't like was the cinnamon roll. I loved the size (it's massive), but it was completely stale, and even the frosting was unusually hard. The cornbread was a better option, it was deliciously soft and had a very classic flavor.

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-26

Seatown_vegan

26 May 2023

Best vegan soul food in the land! I visit every time I go to DC! Can’t wait to have it next week.

ricola

Points +16

Non Veg
25 May 2023

GASSSSSSSS

I got the cormbread and yummy food

Pros: Sweet potatoes yum, Big serving size & reasonable price

Cons: no smoothie available today:(, Why sticks in the wings lol

ekrulick

Points +81

Vegan
19 May 2023

The best spot in the DMV

Hands down the best, tastiest, reasonably priced, filling vegan food in the DMV.

ShaneMcDaniel

Points +1106

Vegan
16 May 2023

Delicious for a meat eater

From when I was not vegan: Mac and cheese is so delicious and the crab cake was delightfully unexpected

As a vegan I go here more than anywhere else

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-16

Pros: The drummies can't be beat , Great M&C

JasonManias

Points +1335

Vegan
08 May 2023

Always great

Been to a couple of the locations and have had perfect, comforting meals each time

Breah

Points +447

Vegan
22 Apr 2023

Amazing vegan soul food!

I’ve tried almost everything on the menu at this point, including several of the sweets. The steak and cheese sandwich, chicken sandwich (several sauce options, but the best are the jerk and the mambo), and crab cake sandwiches are all excellent. My favorite sides are the tuna mac, mac n cheese, all the kale salads, chickpeas, sweet potatoes, and collard greens. HUGE portions for a great price. They even have brunch on sundays. Love supporting this black-owned local business!

Pros: All vegan, Huge portions, Lots of options

JoanO

Points +60

Vegan
31 Mar 2023

Disappointed

Very disappointing visit. Mac and cheese very mushy and country fried steak was hard as could be. Hopefully this was an off day. On the positive side, very reasonable prices!

Pros: Fully vegan , Very reasonable prices

Cons: Not fresh when visited

BeyondBoundaries

Points +79

Mostly Veg
10 Mar 2023

Excellent Vegan Soulfood

After a bad experience at a local food truck (nonvegan) we were able to redeem our day at NuVegan. Great flavors, savory, and creative. Prices are reasonable, as well. We will definitely return next time business brings us to DC.

Eaxia

Points +20

Vegan
24 Feb 2023

Will miss this place when vaca ends…

So I went with family twice. There are so many options to choose from!! We tried:
* Mango habanero chicken sandwich- tasty but would haven’t been able to say that’s what the sauce is
* Collard greens- amazing!
* broccoli- good but not stand-out
* crab cake sandwich- really delicious!
* Mac’n’cheese - really good/really rich
* ribs- tasty! Very rich
* fries - from frozen (bagged)
* buffalo chicken sandwich- amazing!!
* garlic kale - super garlicky!! Not for the weak or vampires!!
* macaroni salad- classic flavor
* potato salad- classic flavor
* fish sandwich- good but needed more sauce
* okra- standout dish!! So good
* curried tofu- good, wouldn’t get again
* chicken drummetts- like fried chicken, but a bit plain; get something to dip it in
* sweet potatoes- rich, creamy, rich, sweet, rich
* cabbage- super tasty
* steak sandwich- so good!! Filling, big!
* cinnamon buns- like a dream… still in love
* red velvet cake- good, but not standout

Love, love, love this place!!

Pros: Big portions, So many options, Great staff

Cons: I don’t have a big enough stomach, There aren’t more of them

jellybeard

Points +32

Vegan
21 Feb 2023

Still in food coma as I write this

I just managed to fit in the massive cinnamon roll after a giant dinner. It was so good I couldn’t stop. We had chicken sandwiches, crab cake sandwich, and ribs, with a few different sides. We all got the collard greens though. The portions were big and we wanted to try everything. The family all gives this place a 5 (13 and 16 yo boys plus us parents).

Cons: Everything was served on single use plastic.

RowanDog

Points +64

Vegan
12 Dec 2022

God I miss this place.

This is the best Vegan restaurant I've ever been to. I miss it so much.

Cons: Only located in DMV area

Kickboxer7

Points +16

Vegan
06 Nov 2022

Will not disappoint!

I have been a vegan for over 20 years and very finicky about where I go and eat. This is by far the best vegan food I have ever experienced. It is definitely worth a try!

Pros: Entire menu is vegan, Been a vegan for over 20 years. Best taste ever! , The best vegan macaroni and cheese ever!!

Cons: Too far from my home in New Jersey!! : )

jabari.akuffo

Points +51

Vegan
30 Sep 2022

Delicious, real vegan soul food

The prices were right, and the food was delicious. This store is Black owned as well and the customer service was very good; everyone was polite and friendly. The only thing is they need more seats and tables, there was a couch area we sat at because it was crowded that day, I hope they replace it with table and chairs for a more comfortable dining experience. Also, I noticed there had been a homeless man sitting up in that restaurant, I'm not sure why they allowed that, but overall it was great and I would go again.

Pros: Delicious fried chicken, Delicious macaroni and cheese, Collard greens were good

Cons: Homeless man was sleeping in there (really?!), Needs more/better seating

VeganBeans

Points +119

Vegan
22 Sep 2022

Good food but

I think I should’ve ordered something else. I got the chicken drummie and side of tofu. The chicken drumsticks were okay but there was a sort of musty smell to them. And the orange tofu I didn’t like at all. I liked that the sauce felt creamy but the flavor was terrible. That said I don’t think the food here is bad, the deserts never disappoint, I would just suggest not getting the tofu

Pros: All vegan, Reasonably priced

Cons: Orange tofu side is bad

Kallday

Points +301

Vegan
12 Aug 2022

My first time trying Vegan Soul Food!

First off, I couldn’t believe everything is vegan!! This was my first time trying vegan soul food so My mind was blown away! Everything is very tasty and delicious, the potions are huge (my biggest pro), & the staff members were very helpful.

Everytime I’m in the DC area, I have to stop here! I’d literally drive an hour just to eat there.

JZNCYeats

Points +264

Vegan
07 Aug 2022

Vegan Soul

My soul was filled and my stomach here! Delicious soul food and huge portions.

Pros: All vegan , Delicious , Choices

Cons: Pricy

efg3

Points +102

Vegetarian
24 Jul 2022

Amazing

Truly wonderful soul food place. Everything was delicious.




This page has been viewed 42465 times.