• Niu Cafe

  • (19)
    26
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Ovo
Thai
Delivery
Take-out
Asian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Thai restaurant offering vegan curries, dumplings, spring rolls, and more. Open Mon-Sat 11:00-22:30. Closed Tues.


Venue map for Niu Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

19 Reviews

First Review by StephanieNelson

Bosonwit

Points +58

Vegan
30 Dec 2023

Great option

Good Thai food and the woman working there is aware of vegan options! She might seem a bit cold but she is a sweetheart just having a difficult time to express. Just chill and appreciate it.

Pros: Food, Waitress, Great dumplings

Cons: No

Advertisement

MikeyBall

Points +54

Vegan
13 Dec 2023

Nice

Was looking forward to try this as the reviews were very good, the food was really nice but I can't say the same about the waitress who was very abrupt and quite rude, a shame because I won't go back now due to poor people skills.

Pros: Food was nice

Cons: Poor and rude service , Cheap garden furniture to sit on.

mashter

Points +211

Vegan
06 Dec 2023

Great food

Fantastic service
Small quaint place

Pros: Veg spring rolls great, Salad with sprin rolls amazing, Veg pad thai was great

Rediam

Points +47

Vegan
28 Jul 2023

Comida Thai a buen precio

La dueña, muy simpática, nos aconsejó sobre la comida vegana y vegetariana que tenían en el menú. Pedimos todo sin salsa de pescado ni ostras. Los rollitos de primavera, los dumplings, el pad Thai y el curry rojo, con verduras y se tofu, todo muy casero y sabroso. Muy recomendable.

Pros: Muchas opciones veganas, El personal , ¡Los dumplings y el pad thai!

j1308

Points +62

Vegan
25 May 2023

Good Thai food.

Can be a bit hard to find. It is next to the Spar grocery.

The food here is good.

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-25

charlotteflaws

Points +18

Vegan
05 May 2023

5* if it was a possibility!

best food i’ve had in tenerife! such a shame me and my boyfriend found it on our last night of our holiday. the dumplings are out of this world and the woman who runs the cafe is so friendly and welcoming, she more than deserves a 5 star rating just by herself. pretty hard to find but if you read previous ratings you should find it okay. a lot of the food has a vegan option and she was so knowledgeable i wasn’t concerned in the slightest like i have been at other restaurants! 100% recommend if you are looking for wholesome vegan thai food!

Pros: customer service, food, plenty of vegan options

Adam V

Points +62

Vegan
01 Apr 2023

Delicious Thai Food

It’s in a shopping centre, hidden out of the way under an escalator, but the food and service did not disappoint! We had the spring rolls, Thai Green Curry, and Pad Thai. The waitress was friendly, and when we mentioned we were Vegan, she knew exactly what was what, and kindly explained what we could have. She even gave us some strawberries and blueberries at the end for our young child, on the house!
Delicious food, great prices, highly recommended!

Pros: Vegan options, Very reasonably priced, Helpful service

Cons: Not the most amazing location

aiting

Points +35

Vegetarian
24 Dec 2022

Hidden Gem

Food is very tasty. We ordered dumplings, green papaya salad, pad Thai, fried rice. Staff is friendly, price is reasonable. Location is a bit tricky to find - it is down the stairs from road level next to Spar. It is easier to find if you come from the beach front.

asx2

Points +104

Vegan
25 Nov 2022

Nice food but could be better

Nice informative staff, dumplings were great. The veg and tofu pad ka po wasn't the best I've had. Veg consisted of grated carrot and cabbage, nor greens or peppers like I have had elsewhere and nothing like Thailand itself. Minimal tofu also. Plus side it was very cheap so I cannot complain too much.

natty_e

Points +300

Vegan
02 Sep 2022

Lovely food and staff

This very unassuming restaurant provided us with a lovely meal. The food was of a very high quality and despite them not having a vegan specific menu, they were able to veganise a lot of food which was pointed out to us.

Pros: Can cater their menu to vegans, Friendly staff, Reasonable price

Cons: Location wasn’t the greatest (can’t be helped)

DannyBurns(Rolodoggy)

Points +36

Vegan
27 Jul 2022

Really Incredible Sangria

The lady who served me was very friendly and kind. The food was great but the sangria was out of this world. I had sweet and sour tofu with spring rolls.

DifferentMunky

Points +139

Vegan
06 May 2022

Enjoyable meal

Although a little tricky to find we had to ask where it was, this is another place we went to based on vegan and meat eater travelling together and other happy cowers saying it had vegan options.

I opted for veggie spring rolls and sweet and sour tofu as a main.

Enjoyed my meal very much.

The waitress was lovely too.

CatherineHamilton

Points +48

Vegan
08 Mar 2022

Love this hidden gem

Great customer service. Also take out equally amazing food.

Pros: Made freshly so can choose spice, hot etc, Value for money

JoeyB472

Points +180

Vegan
28 Nov 2021

Really great vegan food and friendly service

The waitress was really helpful and was able to point out what we could eat. As the dumplings are made fresh on site they were able to substitute the egg filling for tofu. We then also had a tofu massaman, tofu sweet & sour and some veggie spring rolls - all of which were delicious.

Restaurant located on the ground floor at the bottom of the escalators, right next to Spar.

NoEggplant

Points +89

Vegan
19 Dec 2019

Least authenticate Thai food

The food was really not Thai at all. The pad Thai was a bit like a chicken noodle soup with thick noodles. Not great.

ashtonhills95

Points +26

Vegan
07 Jul 2019

Very friendly and great authentic Thai food

Nice location near the beach. We were greeted by a very friendly and funny Thai lady who took us through the menu and told us everything that was or could be made vegan. We went for spring rolls and then the sweet and sour veg/bean curd, and the veg/bean curd massaman curry. All of which were absolutely delicious and tasted really authentically Thai! Would highly recommend😄

Pros: Authentic food, Friendly staff, Good location

Cons: Not fully vegan

KatieHughes

Points +22

Vegan
02 Jul 2019

loads of options

Very accommodating. It was nice to have options!!

Pros:

IanLow65

Points +90

Vegan
08 Jun 2019

Amazing authentic Thai food

Found this place earlier on this year, the food was amazing, best Thai food we have ever had, and great service 10/10

StephanieNelson

Points +74

Vegan
28 Feb 2019

Amazing vegan options

This is 5* but as not veggie restaurant will only allow me to rate as 4.

This little thai cafe/restaurant is tucked away on Colon beach. Everything was good! We told the girl we were vegan and she went through the menu with us, basically everything veggie could be made vegan including removing egg and fish sauce from dishes. We ordered veg spring rolls, veg dumplings (they replaced egg with scrambled tofu) which came with 2 dipping sauces (one specially made to remove fish sauce). Then veg/beancurd sweet and sour and veg/beancurd massaman. The lady (i think the owner) was lovely and attentive and we had a good chat about children after she noticed my bump!

Added bonus the sell IRN BRU :)

Note if you can't take too much spice don't ask for it hot as it had quite a kick. We love spicy food so spot on for us.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Reasonable prices




This page has been viewed 3107 times.