CLOSED: Nishta

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 31 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Contact
01-8897444
Find

Masarykova 11/1, Zagreb, Croatia

Veggie restaurant with another location in Dubrovnik; this one opened in Jan 2014. Most of the dishes are vegan and labelled as such. An interesting take on traditional and ethnic dishes, gluten free and raw options, selection of drinks. Confirmed closed, Jun 2017. Kitchen closes 60-90 minutes before closing time.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, International, Beer/Wine, Take-out, Croatian

31 Reviews

First Review by Ven

The place is closed for good - Edit

The place is closed for good

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wish we had more time! - Edit

We came in on a time crunch, so we just got appetizers and left. My husband ordered a soup and I got the nachos. The nachos were very mediocre, but his soup was delicious! I wish I could've ordered more food. Will definitely be back if I catch myself in Zagreb!

Pros: good soup, friendly staff, adorable design

Cons: okay nachos

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Pure Love! - Edit

This place is it! They made us feel like home and food is really nutrition to your body and soul. Nice atmosphere. Suitable for vegans also, and their raw cakes are piece of heaven

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing! - Edit

On a trip to Zagreb me and my other half came across Nishta. Although it was late for service there the staff members were warm and welcoming. The menu was a set, all vegan option and it was incredible! The meal was warm and filling, and tasted excellent. I have the mention the desert seperately because it was something else altogether. I had a vegan chocolate, nougart and coconut pie - I have never had something as amazing! All handmade there, the cakes are a must have when in Zagreb! I also don't think it was too overly priced. For 2 people and 3 courses each it came to 160 Kunna, equal to £19.77 which is a lot less that we would normally pay at home! Overall Nishta was an amazing experience :)

Pros: Amazing cake , Service , Price

Cons: Difficult to find , Limited menu

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

New Staff - Edit

I lived in Zagreb for 5-6 weeks and went to Nishta a handful of times but never felt like it was a great place- I recently had to come back for business and since my other places were closed I had no choice but to return to Nishta. I found a completely different atmosphere inside and much better staff, even the food was better! Definitely a top vegetarian spot in Zagreb now.

1 Response
Read More

Macan01 24 Jan 2017 - Where did the old staff go TJ? Do you know why the prices of everything went up? It used to be a place in Zg where you could get a dinner later then 8pm, and now it's changed. I went there but it's posted on FB and here that they are open till 11pm. But i came there at 7.30 and kissed the door. Someone should change working hours. As I stated before in a previous post - since I've noticed that they raised their prices by a lot, I'm affraid they will not see me or my friends that used to come with me again... Too bad it used to be a nice place with nice staff... Prices were a bit high, but now it's way too much!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

If you go to ZAgreb go to eat there - Edit

A nice place with friendly staff.
Dishes excellent different option: vegetarian/ vegan/ raw
Some dishes are adaptable: vegetarian or vegan

Pros: quiet lovely place, friendly staff, different option

Cons: -

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good tempeh and vegan cheese - Edit

Nice location, warm friendly atmosphere inside.

Pros: Good food

Cons: Slightly overpriced

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

sunday option - Edit

Me and a friend end up in Nishta because it's pretty much the only place with vegan food open on Sundays...
We both had a Pastlicious (59kn) that was good... not cheap for Zagreb, but the place is nice, friendly staff...
they have vegetarian, vegan and raw option.

Pros: nice place, vegan option

Cons: price

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yummy! - Edit

The place was really cute and the food was awesome. ry the burger! :)

Pros: Good food, Nice vibe

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good food, great value, friendly staff - Edit

Lovely place, good tasty food, loved the spices they used. Staff is friendly and the atmosphere is cosy. Good choice if you are looking for a veggie place. Place is a bit hidden from the main street, you have to turn into a little alley and look for the sign on the door.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nicest meal! - Edit

Absolutely loved this place: starter and dessert were to die for (Ping pong and Vegan chocolate cake) but left a little underwhelmed by main (falafel), chef and waiter were v sweet amd obliging - such good food and good value for money, though not dirt cheap. All food looked FAB!

Pros: Food!, Sweet staff

Cons: Falafel and hummus

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best place to eat in Zagreb - Edit

We spent two nights in Zagreb and in both we had dinner at this place. Excellent food, at very good price, lots of vegan options and the loveliest staff.

The desserts deserve a special mention.

The only issue for the place is that it is a bit hard to find at first, especially if you are new to the city. It is in a small alley, so people have to look carefully not to miss it!

Pros: Great food, Lovely staff, Cosy place

Cons: A bit hard to find

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excelente opción pero un poco difícil de encontrar - Edit

Tienen una carta amplia, con entrantes, ptincipales y postres, además del bar de ensaladas que va por peso. Relación calidad-precio estupenda. Tienen opciones veganas, vegetarianas y platos crudos y una carta de bebidas increible. La única pega, que cuesta verlo, está en un callejón y la puerta estaba cerrada, casi nos dimos la vuelta pensando que estaba cerrado.

Pros: Opciones veganas y crudas, Cerveza orgánica, Buffet de ensalada

Cons: Acceso

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great vibes, quality food - Edit

We had a lovely time here! We forgot to specify all the food had to be vegan so we received vegetarian food; they replaced the dishes without charge! Great costumer service, dedicaded chef and the food was delicious.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

nice restaurant - Edit

The food was ok but the cheesecake was a super surprise!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

overrated - Edit

the food is average,poor selection,high prices

1 Response
Read More

Macan01 18 Jan 2017 - I have to say that I don't agree with the food being average but I have to say that I've noticed that they put the prices up, up and UP.
+ they changed the entire staff - so it seems to me.. I USED to be a relar, but due to even more higher pricing they lost me as a guest and probably more people will stop coming. It used to be such a cool place. Now it's OVERRATED  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Average food - Edit

Could be better. Nothing special, plain food, not made with love.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very good people making very good food - Edit

I was there twice. First time with my female friend and then with my colleagues from my company (20 of us).
Both times everyone was so polite and nice and friendly.
Also the food was great. Cannot remember specific items we had, but the second time almost all from my company (which are not vegetarians or vegans) were overwhelmed.
The prices are affordable for our not so good standard which means very affordable for tourists.
All my recommandations.

Pros: Lovely nice staff, Very good food, Pretty interior

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

really good but - Edit

really cheap but good food. ordered something and asked for the vegan version but they were so focused on closing the place that they put sour cream on my dish. i ate the whole thing later assuming it was vegan sour cream. i checked the next night when they got the food right and they said they don't have vegan sour cream...

Pros: lot's of vegan options

Cons: focus to details seemed to be lacking in my experi

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Izvrstan! or as we say excellent! - Edit

So Zagreb moves into a new (and once rare) category of major cities that are good for vegans! Given that Zagreb isn't a really big place and is in the Balkans it is impressive that it has three good vegan (or vegan friendly) restaurants. Nishta is the newest and maybe I should urge you to visit here in case it doesn't survive long, but given how good the food is I think they will persevere or more likely flourish! We shared or meals and so I can reliably inform you that of the three al la carte soups the Buča, buča or Buttersquash soup served with vegan cream and toasted pumpkin seeds was by far the best! Nishta is not cheap by Croatian punk rock standards but by Northern European standards its very fair (so the soup was 22kn which is about £2.50 or 3 euros). Check the menu out, there are plenty of different dishes not to be found elsewhere that will tempt you and nothing I tried was a dissapointment. The Zeleni se zeleni dish was super healthy tasting and although the cheese sauce serving was a little ungenerous in proportion they obligingly gave me some more on request!
They offer a buffet service that is by weight, 100grams for about £1.20 1.5e and I'll try that next time. The deserts were good but not as interesting as the savoury courses. Vegehop down the road does better in this department!
As with other Zagreb vegan establishments it is important to arrive well before the closing time as the kitchen stops well before the doors close :( and they are closed on Sunday which is really sad for vegan tourists like myself. Nishta is a really good addition to the European vegan food scene and I shall return there with enthusiasm :)


Updated from previous review on Monday April 07, 2014

Returned to Nishta with five mates in April 2015 and had another great meal. The conclusion of all was that this is at present the best vegan restaurant in Zagreb.
Updated from previous review on Wednesday April 29, 2015

Returned here in August 2015 and had another great meal. The raw gnocchi is nothing like gnocchi that I know but it was super filling and tasty. The tiramisu is excellent. Definitely the best place to eat in Zagreb.

Pros: Excellent healthy food, Interesting different menu options, Fair price not too busy!

Cons: Stairs to get in, accessibility issues!, Kitchen / Buffet closes before 11pm

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful, delicious veg oasis - Edit

I sit here finishing the banana curry, which was tasty and delicious, and enjoying the ambiance of this inviting restaurant. The server is extremely nice, the music is cool, price is great. My wife enjoyed her hand pressed juice as well.

We'll worth seeking it out being right off a busy street.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

We were disapointed - Edit

Ordered the Indian dish and were totally disapointed. The Falafel was just bad. ended the evening with stomach ache.
expected for something better.

Pros: have vegan options

Cons: disapointing food, makes stomach ache

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

imaginative - Edit

very good vegetarian restaurant, very imaginative meals!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cosy place, nice people, scrumptious food - Edit

This place is really cosy with a home feel. The food is delicious and the waiters are really friendly. Definitely recommended!

Pros: location, price, selection

Cons: none!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious Food, Great Service! :) - Edit

My partner and I are Zagreb for two nights and decided to head to Nishka for lunch today. It is in a pretty central location and very close to where we are staying which made it even more of a bonus :)

We arrived just before 12noon today - and even though we were a bit earlier than opening time, the lovely gentleman waiter took us to our seats and said it would just be a few minutes more setting up but we could browse the menu in th meantime.

Not long after he took our orders -so hard to choose as everything on the menu looked delicious!

My partner and I both ordered cappuccinos and I also ordered a fresh juice of orange, apple and ginger - all good! So nice to have a soy cap - rare thing to find soy coffee's in Eastern Europe! Probably the biggest thing I miss from Australia!

For Entree we ordered the gluten free pumpkin, vegan cheese & pear pizza - IT WAS DELICIOUS!!! This was my favourite dish of everything we tried at lunch! We both really really loved it! The gluten free base was the best I've tried - gluten free or not! Thin and crispy deliciousness!

For main I had the chickpea burger which came with sweet potato fries and the burger had a great chickpea pat tie with salad and yummy hommus! The only improvement I could see here was a bit of a home-made tomato sauce for the fries and maybe on the buyer with the hommus too - but this is a tiny criticism on a delicious meal!

My partner ordered the hemp-seed wholemeal pasta with creamy mushroom & thyme sauce - it was delicious!!

For dessert I ordered the Tiramisu and my partner had the apple pie with cream (both vegan). The apple pie was delicious - only thin geas it was very cold - I think warmed up it would be even better - but we still loved it! The Tiramisu was more like a vanilla custard-cream with a small amount of cookie crumble - I couldn't taste much coffee or chocolate flavour I think it would have been better with more of this through it, but again a small criticism - still a lovely way to end a delicious meal!

The prices are a little expensive - not by Australian standards at all - but for Eastern Europe (and Croatia) standards - but at the same time the food was some of the best I've had in Europe and the serves was great! The restaurant is also really cute and I would highly recommend going here if you're in Zagreb!

We are probably going back for dinner! Can't wait!! ;)

Pros: FOOD! - Esp Pumpkin Pizza Entree!, Lovely Staff :), Good location

Cons: A little expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

fantastic - Edit

Great restaurant, service and food. Not the cheapest veggie restaurant in Zagreb but it's probably the best and you definitely get what you pay for! Very welcoming and accommodating

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

So great, seriously! - Edit

First of all the interior is remarkably tasteful and welcoming, clean and brightly colored.
A large salad bar provides numerous choices to be taken on the plate and weighted out.
I had pasta with mushrooms: delicious! The freshly squeezed lemonade was decanted and given to me in a stylish bottle.
As dessert I had the tiramisu which was a special creation: Handed in a somewhat smaller ice cream cup with crispy chocolate flakes elements in it; and the cream had a slightly bitter flavour which tasted really good. I think, I have seen small grated orange peelings in it.
The staff was really nice and accommodating.
Definitely go there, it's a revelation!

Pros: great value for money, superb location, huge salad bar

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Zagreb Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has CLOSED: Nishta closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 6281 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support