Nirvana Cafe

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 14 reviews )
Contact
691866745
Find

1, Avenue de la Gare, Luxembourg, 1611

Indian food place walking distance from train station, fully vegan since May 2016. Offers a changing lunch buffet from 12-2pm daily, and an evening a la carte menu. Could get a vegan box to take away (for 5 or 7 Euros), and take-away from the a la carte menu is available in the evenings. Open Mon-Fri 11:00am-3:00pm, Mon-Fri 5:00pm-9:00pm, Sat 11:00am-9:00pm.

Category: Vegan, Indian, Buffet, Fast food, Take-out

Reviews (14)

First Review by Joshilib

Must go to!! - Edit

Really amazing vegan Indian restaurant. It's not expensive and the portion sizes are huge!! I highly recommend this place.
Friendly staff. If you have leftovers you can take em to go.
We had the mixed vegetable curry and the chole bathura. Both really good. As a starter we also had samosa's and veggie parkora. As dessert lemon cake that was accompanied with some really sweet soy yoghurt. So delicious!! We ordered A LOT with drinks but it only cost about 40 euro's (2 persons). Amazing.

Pros: Big portions, Lots of seating


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fantastic vegan experience! - Edit

I was a little skeptical when I first found it online as the pictures did not look very appealing. However, I decided to give it a try as I am very fond of Indian food, which since moving from vegetarian to vegan, became more challenging to eat in restaurants.

And so we got there, it was almost 10 minutes away walking from the very center of Luxembourg city. It had a nice ambiance, not crowded but not empty. The manager was friendly and talked us through options. The food was great, I highly recommend trying the "momo" even if you have to wait for it. Also, eat it with your hands, really, feel it! the mango lassi was made with soya yoghurt and was not too sweet as the regular mango lassi which is a big advantage.

The portions are big! salad, soya or coconut yogurt, and rice; are provided and refilled for free. The manager also served us on the house some dried figs and fresh fruits! it was great!

Pros: Good pricing, and BIG portions, Great vegan food, diverse menue, No artificial flavors or refined sugars

Cons: slightly strange music


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent - Edit

Great lunch buffet. The spicing on the food was excellent. Everything was fresh. Nice variety on the buffet, and you could really taste the flavours. Fairly priced too!


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing place - Edit

Nirvana Cafe has tasty, affordable food, the owner is really friendly and the place is very cozy! I would recommend to everyone and can't wait to go back! Definitely one of my favourite places in Luxembourg!

Pros: Tasty food, Affordable

1 Response

NirvanaCafe 16 Mar 2017 - Thank you so much for your generous comment! :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good food - Edit

The last time I've been there was a year ago, and at that time it just started to be all vegan. Went there during lunch, and the place wasn't too crowded, nice atmosphere, delicious food. Lovely!

Pros: good food, cozy, nice staff

Cons: small

1 Response

NirvanaCafe 07 Feb 2017 - Dear Cbiver,
Thank you for your kind review. Indeed, we became fully vegan only in the beginning of June 2016.
Just as a gentle small note about the size of the cafe (without any reference to whose name we do not mention), Nirvana Cafe can entertain guests in four sections, namely the terrace during the summer, the drawing room, the TV-room as well as on the mezzanine.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Finding Nirvana - Edit

We found this restaurant by doing our customary search on Happy Cow before setting out on travels to avoid the usual miserable search for vegan fodder in pastures new. We LOVED this restaurant, the food was tasty and reasonably priced which was an amazing find in pricey Luxembourg. The manager was lovely, very committed to furthering the ethical veganism cause. He even gave us free cake in honour of Indian independence day.. Thank you, Happy Cow users, for the excellent tip.

Pros: Great food including vegan cake., Friendly staff, Good prices especially for such an expensive city.


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

love it!! - Edit

Great place to go to for lunch or dinner, coffee or just to pass the time as it's very central and cosy ;)
Food is fantastic, their vegan cakes are amazing and your wallet would never suffer at the end.
It's definitely the place to go to over and over again


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Is it 100% Vegan?? - Edit

I took away some food.
When I asked the staff about the vegan-friendliness of their plates; the staff mentioned that they do not use any animal or animal-derived product; hence, they are vegan.
However, I did notice that in the allergen list they have, they write yoghurt for one of the desserts.
I did not check the list thoroughly, and I don't really know how up-to-date is that list; but if someone else could double-check on this issue, it would be great.

As the food itself, it was nothing extraordinary; but it was good. All the plates they had in the buffet (many choices!) were vegan according to the staff.
The prices are unbeatable (especially the take away ones), and the location is also good.

All-in-all, 100% vegan or not, I think it's a good place to stop-by if you're in Luxembourg for dinner.

Pros: vegan-friendliness, extremely good value, buffet

Cons: nothing

2 Responses

NirvanaCafe 07 Feb 2017 - Dear Ricardo,

Thank you for your kind review. Indeed, at the time of your visit, some of our dishes were still vegetarian. We became fully vegan in the beginning of June 2016. Ever since, we pride of having a 100% cruelty and trace free kitchen.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Ricardo 07 Feb 2017 - Good to know, thank you for becoming vegan! :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing food - Edit

Probably the best vegetarian/vegan restaurant in Luxembourg at this point. Been there once a week for several months now and it never disappoints. Service incredibly friendly and the food is always very nice.

It's a shame there aren't more people going there.

Pros: Amazing food, Friendly service, Good price


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

super for vegans! - Edit

I went here last wednesday 8/04/2015 and the buffet was super and not to mention a super price (€8.40)! everything on the buffet was vegan that day (but I can't say if it's like that all the time) The only thing which may be a problem for some is I don't think the cook's French is the best, we reverted to English mostly whilst there, but that's hardly a big problem!

Pros: low price, mostly vegan

Cons: -


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Pretty good vegan-friendly dinner place - Edit

Me and my vegetarian friend at dinner there today and it was pretty good. We got a lot of food, when we couldnt eat it all, they asked if we wanted to bring the rest with us (which is great!). They didn't have vegan dessert so i got a cup of tea for free which was kind of them. (we ordered a dinner buffet so dessert was included).

Pros: most of the food was vegan, not too expensive, nice staff

Cons: only took cash, lacked "atmosphere"


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasty and welcoming - Edit

This small Indian place is owned by an extremely kind person, who will gladly explain you in English which items are vegan (which are many). He will also make sure everything is according to your liking and offer you some treat in case something is lacking.

During lunchtime there's a lunch buffet and in the evening you can opt between a dinner menu (several samples of the dishes on the menu that day) or one dish with rice/salad only. The price is very fair for Luxembourg standards, and even cheap for the lunch menu.

The food was like home-made, tasty and very spicy - in a good way.

They recently joined the Vegan Society and offer its members a complementary tea/coffee after meals.

They serve alcohol and have some good organic red wines which go great with the meal.

The jazz music playing was lovely too: an inviting place to relax and feel welcomed after a long day.


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good lunch buffet, mostly vegan - Edit

Here you find a good and Simply lunch, indian and european buffet, mostly was vegan, but you have to ask wich is vegan.
Very friendly staff.

Updated from previous review on Tuesday September 09, 2014


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Authentic, honest food - Edit

The Nirvana café is the best place for vegetarians and vegans to eat Indian food in Luxembourg -- don't expect anything fancy schmancy: expect honest, authentic, satisfying food. The Nirvana Café is open every day from 11-21h except on Sunday. The Lunch buffet is from 12-15 o'clock; in the evening the buffet is open from 18-21. They do not use ghee or butter; however, on should ask which buffet items are vegan. The buffet changes every day.


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Nirvana Cafe closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 5302 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support