• Ninth Street Bakery

  • (10)
    4
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
American
Delivery
Take-out
Bakery
Catering
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Bakery cafe. Menu has a vegan sandwich and sometimes offers vegan lunch specials, but no longer offering vegan weekend brunch or vegan dinners. Open Mon-Sat 8:00am-5:00pm, Sun 9:00am-5:00pm.


Venue map for Ninth Street Bakery
© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by turtleveg

Vegan_ACL

Points +2417

Vegan
01 Oct 2022

Pleasantly surprised

I’ve always loved their bread and the few vegan baked goods they regularly make, but I’ve never gone for lunch for real food. I don’t know why I was so shocked. The lentil soup was divine and the hand pie had so much more flavor than I expected it to have. I would go back here for a meal again any day. They had quite a few vegan choices on their menu but were sold out of a couple items (in all fairness I didn’t go until about 2pm so the lunch crowd may have cleaned them out). I would highly recommend their real, not to mention their amazing breads (not all the breads are vegan so make sure to ask).

Advertisement

leaf____

Points +195

Vegan
18 Apr 2022

Wholesome vegan options

It's a really nice local bakery with great homey vibes. Staff was really great about making sure things were vegan. My only complaint is they don't have a HUGE list of vegan options, but the ones they do offer are so good it makes up for it. I got the hummus & veggie sandwich and the Indian lentil curry with a side salad - best meal I've had in a while. Their vegan pastries are also really good! Plus, of course, the bread. So good. Overall it's a solid lunch spot for vegans looking to support a local business!

Pros: Vegan options they do have are 10/10, Really friendly & accommodating staff, Vegan menu options are clearly marked

Cons: Not the most vegan options compared to non-veg

EmilieMcIntosh

Points +45

Vegan
27 Sep 2020

Wonderful bread and bakery

Awesome service and great bread.

claire.ellen

Points +28

Vegan
01 Apr 2020

Good food

Awesome bread, decent amount of vegan options, delicious food.

RERSC07

Points +111

Vegan
12 Sep 2019

Tasty vegan fare

Great service and large portions. Had vegan veggie curry over rice and salad with tahini dressing which was delicious.

Pros: Vegan options clearly marked , Indoor and outdoor seating

xxxx

Points +267

Vegan
26 Aug 2019

The food here is OK

The food here is OK. I’m not a big fan of their bread so the sandwiches here are not my thing. The Indian lentil curry is pretty good, but the Thai curry and the vegan baked goods are mediocre. Selection of vegan baked goods is limited.

Pros: Cheap for downtown Durham, Vegan items clearly marked

Cons: Food is nothing to write home about, Selection of baked vegan items is limited

Chris666

Points +373

Vegan
01 Aug 2019

Good food at a reasonable price.

There were not many vegan spots for breakfast around Durham, so this place was great. I had a vegan hummus and veggie sandwich that came with chips and a pickle and a coconut chocolate banana ball. Both were delicious. My brother had the vegan curry lentil rice bowl, and that was also quite tasty. They provide a good amount of great tasting food at a reasonable price. I would totally recommend. Just be aware, the wheat bread isn’t vegan (honey). But the seven grain brain was good.

Pros: Some good vegan options and pastries. , Reasonably priced. , Good quantity of food.

Cons: Not a fully vegan restaurant. , Some entrees weren’t available till lunch.

turtleveg

Points +1590

Vegan
13 Jan 2017

So good!

UPDATE Jan 2016: my review below reflects Ninth St Bakery when Chefs Matt & Katya worked there. They are no longer there. Ninth St still offers vegan food, but they don't have the weekend vegan brunches or special dinners anymore.
---
Chef Matt and Chef Katya never fail to amaze. They ran Durham's vegan pop-ups Stay Fresh and Day One but now has merged them into Ninth St Bakery.

Every Saturday night the menu is 100% vegan (and most items gluten-free or GF option) and changes weekly - it is always very creative and tasty. There is a delicious dessert option too.
My favorite menu so far was the "southern picnic" theme with "chicken-fried" tofu, biscuits, baked beans, cole slaw, watermelon salad and deviled "eggs" (inside a hollowed out small potato shell). I have no idea how he made those deviled eggs, but they tasted delicious!
And also the lemon-braised tempeh on another night was the best tempeh I've ever had.

Every Sunday, the brunch menu is 100% vegan and offers tofu huevos rancheros, tofu bacon biscuit sandwich, or pancake stack, and a couple other items.

On weekdays, the lunch menu always has a few vegan standards (falafel, thai curry bowl, veg sandwich, etc) plus a vegan special and soup. The rest of the menu on weekdays is not vegan.

Updated from previous review on Wednesday July 10, 2013

Updated from previous review on Tuesday April 15, 2014


Updated from previous review on 2016-01-08

Pros: great, creative food, vegan chefs , outside tables

Cons: not fully vegan

augstone

Points +168

Vegan
12 Nov 2016

Love this place

Very friendly and helpful staff! The gluten-free vegan Pumpkin Bar is delicious. A few vegan options, the Thai Curry with brown rice was pretty good. Cool seating area with barstools and plenty of outside seating.

Alyannkar

Points +1163

Vegan
29 May 2016

Eh.

I read the reviews and was super pumped to hear that there was a cafe/bakery doing fun vegan things. I walked in and there was actually just one vegan/gluten free option. It was a cake. They had no vegan milk option for their coffee and the person behind the counter was just rude. I walked right out. I say this with understanding...I worked in customer service for five years. Everyone has an off day, but there is a difference between a bad day and treating a customer rudely.

Pros: Vegan/Gluten free dessert

Cons: Service, No vegan milk for coffee, No vegan/gluten free meal options

turtleveg

31 May 2016

yes, they have unfortunately changed and are no longer as vegan-friendly as they used to be. They do have other vegan food options (not gluten free) but my original review was when they had 2 vegan chefs working there who were friendly, motivated, and creative. They both moved on a couple years ago and Ninth St Bakery hasn't been the same since.




This page has been viewed 4671 times.