Lacto
Ovo
Juice bar
Vietnamese

Vegetarian restaurant in a peaceful garden setting. Large menu, including fresh juices. Some English spoken. Frequented by locals and tourists/expats. Dec 2018 reported not fully vegan. Open Mon-Sun 7:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Ngo Quan Chay
© OpenStreetMap contributors

26 Reviews

First Review by Isabelrose

mamba

Points +1256

Vegan
27 Dec 2023

I wouldn't go there again

This is a simple place which is expensive for what it is - you pay for being near the War Remnants Museum. We had the vegetable tempura and crispy noodles. The portion size of the tempura was a joke, but plenty of crispy noodles. Food was OK but nothing special.

Advertisement

AmorSinMayusculas

Points +105

Vegetarian
04 Dec 2023

Small portion, good flavour

Tasty vietnamise dishes, a little bit spicy. Very small portions for the price.
They offered us a tofu dessert and ended up being plain cold tofu with a little syrup

Updated from previous review on 2023-12-01

charliejade

Points +36

Vegan
04 Nov 2023

Good!

Good portion sizes. We had summer rolls with peanut sauce, crispy noodles and mixed veg stir fry.

FilthyVegan.

Points +4981

Vegan
24 Apr 2023

Expensive for what it is

Food was average at best. I can get better for half the price. Run down interior.

actualrat

Points +45

Vegetarian
22 Apr 2023

Sweetest staff and good cheap food

Just so lovely. No idea why people are referring to the owners as rude - they were so smiley and kind with me despite the language barrier. It’s definitely a casual and chill place and you won’t be waited on hand and foot but the prices reflect that, particularly in an area surrounded by “upscale” veg restaurants of average quality at high end prices. They always helped me kindly with little things like extra chilli, even if it took some silly gesturing. I loved it here, it was very affordable given post covid price increases, and I felt so welcome.

DichQuan

Points +23

Vegetarian
02 Jan 2023

Giá rẻ

Tiệm ăn bình dân, đồ ăn ngon, giá rẻ. Có cơm văn phòng.

WilliamPoole

Points +131

Vegan
24 Sep 2022

Not surprised it’s empty

Overpriced. Staff are rude. Food is ok. Everything on the bill was more expensive than in the menu… what more can I say? Wish it was better.
Also tried as hard as possible to communicate soy milk in the coffee instead of regular milk but she brought out both a milk coffee and a soy milk on its own. Happens a lot in Vietnam as English is not well spoken but just worth noting. Then was obviously charged for both, and then was overcharged for both as stated previously.

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-24

suchaly

Points +33

Vegetarian
19 May 2022

High recommendation

The food here is taste sooo good and not expensive. Its better than many other big restaurants

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-19

Pros: Good

Cons: No cons

SofiaTojal

Points +25

Vegetarian
15 May 2022

Very good, with lots of options!

The food was very tasty. We ordered spring rolls and fried rice. The passion fruit juice is reaaaally good also. A solid 4 for the price and quality!

Pros: Lots of vegetarian and vegan options

Suhas_hiwale

Points +56

Vegan
26 Dec 2021

A shack in District 3, great food

A small nice place with great service. Very nice vietnamese food. Had schezwan tofu, soup and rice. Was a great lunch.

Updated from previous review on 2021-12-26

Ardavon

Points +292

Vegan
05 Dec 2019

Solid, affordable

Good stuff! Across from the war museum

Pros: Authentic Vietnamese cuisine , Cheap

SteveL

Points +94

Vegan
15 Nov 2019

Excellent Food & Good Value

We’ve been here for two breakfasts & one lunch since arriving in Ho Chi Minh City. Could keep on coming back as there are plenty of options on the menu & they are great value. Full of flavour & with plenty of fresh ingredients. The Restaurant has a quiet ambience away from the noise of the street. Certainly one of the better places we’ve been in the past 3 weeks. Recommended!

Pros: Lots of Vegan options , Good value, Pleasant ambiance

Cons: Little English spoken but English on menu

Jpschokker

Points +31

Raw
17 Aug 2019

Good food, place is okay but didn’t have any smoothies which sucked.

was good, nothing amazing but glad it was vegetarian. Spring roll was amazing.

Pros: Vegetarian options , Cheap, Fast

Cons: No smoothies, Fans not aircon

Bloublou

Points +17

Vegetarian
04 Aug 2019

Great place

Absolutely loved this place. I highly recommend the Szechuan dish!

Pros: Lots of dishes

Snicholls

Points +84

Vegan
28 Feb 2019

Good find

It’s always a good sign when a place appears to be popular with locals, as my visit here was. Food was good, I wouldn’t say it’s amazing but definitely worth eating here.

mikemike

Points +16

Vegan
18 Jan 2019

Good food here!

Nice restaurant next to the war museum. Had the mock beef, dumplings and rice. Left with a happy tummy!

veggiesandstuff

Points +91

Vegan
20 Nov 2018

Not fully vegan

There is a lot of food on the menu with eggs or dairy. But friendly staff and great food and drinks. Still a great spot for vegans!

Cons: Not fully vegan

philS

Points +88

Vegan
28 Apr 2018

Disappointing

Not a good choice, food tasty, see a rat run through the restaurant ruined my meal.

Pros: Tasty food

Cons: Saw a rat run through the restaurant , No English was spoken

Tisa93

Points +342

Vegan
21 Apr 2018

Lovely place after the museum

Went here after our trip to the museum, staff was lovely, got the spring rolls and fried mushroom rice - small portions but still AMAZING. Best spring rolls I’ve had. Bit pricey.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Nice staff , Tasty

Cons: Bit expensive

flytheorient

Points +325

Vegan
08 Apr 2018

good, clean

Right in city center easy to find courteous staff menu has English description with pictorial so foreigner-friendly.

Not entirely vegan. Some dishes have eggs

Pros: good location, clean

Cons: not entirely vegan

BradleyDickman

Points +57

Vegan
04 Apr 2018

Amazing!!’

I had the Pho, it was delicious, highly recommend. Only been in Vietnam for 2 days, best food I have had so far. I had to come back and edit the review as it was the best pho I had on my whole trip in Vietnam.

charlesr

Points +117

Mostly Veg
12 Oct 2017

good food and quiet setting

Agree with other reviewer not a garden but a courtyard. Nevertheless a quiet refuge from the busy, noisy street. Not 100% vegan (so 4 stars) and somethings on the menu which would make for an unhappy cow. But lots of vegan stuff there, just be careful. I had mixed stir-fried vegetables, not very adventurous, but good. Very clean given where/what it is. Definitely worth going to and 2mins walk from war remnants museum

turnvegan

Points +170

Vegan
26 Jul 2017

Soups: small portions and no particular taste

Out of the two soups: bitter melon and five colours, both tasted the same (same "base" soup) and were served in small cups. The latter was better, as had more vegetable pieces (just slightly cooked). I don't think the soups are worth the price, not sure about other dishes (from around 50k dongs up).

Pros: Close to tourist attractions

Cons: Small portions and rather costy

Shilian165

Points +111

Vegan
28 Jun 2017

amazing staff

Nice environment, good food, very fresh, very helpful and kind staff, really enjoyed my lunch here, great overall experience.

RunChay

Points +54

Vegan
17 Jun 2017

Lovely Spot for a Feed

Lovely Spot in a small courtyard (not a garden). Good menu and all the dishes had a rich and distinct flavour. Worth checking out.

Pros: Variety of tasty dishes., Cute decor.

Cons: Misting system wets your food/utensils

Isabelrose

Points +125

Vegetarian
30 May 2017

Beautiful, High Quality

This is a very nice restaurant with a naturey setting--plants and lizards! It's kind of tucked away so it's quiet but close to many things in D1. The food is extremely good. The service is good too. They have great juices and drinks. It's a relaxing place to eat, cool off, or go to with friends or a date. It's also a good spot to go alone.




This page has been viewed 3905 times.