Vegan
Japanese
Organic

Tokyo vegan restaurant and organic food shop at 東京都文京区根津1-1-14‎. Has an English menu and the staff can speak a little English. Open Mon-Tue 11:30am-3:30pm, Fri-Sat 11:30am-3:30pm.


Venue map for Nezu no ya
© OpenStreetMap contributors

60 Reviews

First Review by Shauna333

Coweos

Points +470

Vegan
13 Oct 2023

Delicious and generous

A lot of variety in the lunch set. Everything is delicious and the whole set is more than enough.

Pros: Variety , Generous , Tasty

Advertisement

azuki_monster

Points +632

Vegan
30 Sep 2023

Cute place with nice atmosphere

We had a very nice lunch at nezu no ya. The atmosphere was very calm and relaxing. The food was good and the portions (lunch set menu) large.

AlasdairLawrence

Points +13

Vegetarian
12 May 2023

Delicious and calm

A lovely, quiet little place with sweet gentle music and wholesome filling food. Wasn't totally sure what I was eating at some points but it was definitely all vegetables and fruit. Menus are bilingual and very clear

Nattata

Points +365

Vegan
25 Apr 2023

Good Japanese set meal!

Cute little cafe. I went in 30 minutes past opening on a Friday and it was already full! But I only had to wait about 5 minutes. Service was very fast too. Not quite in the top tier of meals I had in Japan but still a very tasty set, highly recommend if you're in the area!

Pros: Fast service

MartinaSalvaterra

Points +121

Vegan
26 Mar 2023

Delicious veg traditional Japanese food

I loved everything about this place: was cozy, the shop was great and the food was so tasty! One of the best meals I had in Japan.

Pros: Traditional Japanese food

LisaUndTim

Points +90

Vegetarian
24 Mar 2023

Thumbs up!

Little and cute vegan Restaurant. They have a small Menue and delicious food. We couldnt understand the menue, so the food was a surprise - but a good one.

Pros: Completly vegan, Very delicious, Friendly stuff

Cons: Couldnt read the menue

bettafrg

Points +1767

Vegan
17 Mar 2023

Tasty Japanese vegan food

Dishes are simple and delicious, the ingredients are fresh and the price is reasonable.

MicciM

Points +1467

Vegan
07 Jan 2023

Speechless

A woodsy, jazzy atmosphere welcomes you in a quiet place, extremely traditional and yet contemporary.
The food is fanstatic, you’ll enjoy even the small slice of pickled carrots. Also, try one of the cakes of the day, We had the pleasure of eating the matcha cartone cake and it was so delicious that We had ordered a second portion.

Plus, it’s connected to a small minimarket (non Vegan) where you can buy delicious matcha and handmade reusable menstrual pads.

thedlkr

Points +77

Vegan
06 Aug 2022

Vegan Versions of Traditional Japanese Home-Cooked Meals

The food here is like a vegan version of what most Japanese people would remember their grandmother cooking for lunch. It's authentic and delicious. The interior is relaxing and rustic.

This is not a fancy place designed to wow you with innovative, unique, world-first culinary creations. So, don't come here expecting that.

Their core clientele is local women. Thus the portion sizes would be considered small by American standards. That said, I think you'll find the food is surprisingly filling if you slow down and savor it.

This restaurant is a casual affair designed initially for locals. They've been accommodating, but remember that this wasn't set up to cater to fussy foreigners.

The location may perplex you. There are two ways to get to the restaurant — either through the health food store it's attached to or by walking around the corner, down the alley (it's on the left).

Oh, and the opening times are erratic. This is not a full-time restaurant open day and night, year-round. They have just one cook, and she picks and chooses when she will make herself available. So, you'll have to either check their website (all in Japanese) or call them (in Japanese).

Updated from previous review on 2022-08-05

Pros: Authentic Japanese home-cooked style meals, the menu is always changing, relaxing interior

Cons: Hard to find, erratic opening hours

velantelle

Points +95

Vegan
19 Jul 2022

Traditional and very delicious!

I love their tempura (main dish). It’s very traditional with miso soup and pickles etc, so it is very popular amongst the people here in Nezu.

Pros: All vegan, Good price, Organic

Cons: Opening hours are particular

Ewelina_In_Tokyo

Points +607

Vegan
03 Mar 2020

Tasty vegan lunch

I spent a pleasant couple of hours during lunch there - worth waiting in line if there's any.

Pros: Tasty food and generous portions., Pleasant, cozy atmosphere.

Cons: A little pricey., Quite well hidden.

AmieF

Points +30

Vegan
29 Feb 2020

Excellent

We went en route to Ueno Park. Lovely to sit in with tables big enough for our group of 6, friendly staff and great food. I had the lunch set and bought a piece of cake to take away. Both delicious! It's tucked away behind an organic food store if you're worried you're at the wrong place!

umu

Points +60

Vegan
28 Dec 2019

Adorable and delicious!

The food was SO delicious, my sister was absolutely in love. The interior was also just so so cute. I would definitely recommend going!

GrayHorwitz

Points +1659

Vegan
24 Dec 2019

Charming atmosphere and great food

The lunch special is filling, tasty, well-priced, healthy and fast. The atmosphere is quiet and perfect for a quick meal alone or for a date. Really amazing place over all and one of the places I’d consider taking friends who visit from out of town.

HadenaZubon

Points +48

Vegan
31 Oct 2019

Great set lunch

Had a very satisfying higawari set lunch featuring vegetable tempura and rich soup. The seating is a bit sparse so youay have to share a table with others but that led to some chance encounters. The dessert wasn't for me, a bit dry but overall well worth the price and travel to seek out this hole in the wall.

Pros: All vegan filling set lunch

Cons: Vegan cakes a bit dry

ssuthin

Points +470

Vegan
29 Oct 2019

Very happy

Small but cute, entirely vegan

Pros: Near Nezu station - Chiyoda metro line, Nice atmosphere

Cons: Only 5 tables, One staff

Fonsecam

Points +122

Vegan
12 Oct 2019

Delicious food

My husband and I sought out this tiny restaurant specifically because it serves only vegan food. It did not disappoint. We loved everything we ordered, and my husband even enjoyed the tea, even though he is not a tea person. Would recommend.

Pros: Vegan restaurant, Delicious, Good value for the money

Cons: Cash only

LeoNore

Points +23

Vegan
08 Oct 2019

cozy vegan, organic restaurant

friendly staff, English menu and very tasty lunch sets.

Pros: all vegan and organic

Totallynotvegan

Points +152

Vegan
22 Sep 2019

Wonderful

The food is super delicious and the miso is completely homemade. The staff has some English and it was easy to communicate. The spring roll is super yummy and crunchy, would definitely go again to try their other specials if I was in the area again. The price for the quantity of food is also very good. And a nice feature is the refills of rice and tea with the lunch special.

The location is decently easy to find, tucked in a side street on a busy intersection.

Pros: Vegan, Friendly staff, Free tea refills

AngelaFaragasso

Points +480

Vegan
15 Jul 2019

Wonderful vegan restaurant

This restaurant became one of my favourite in Tokyo. Very nice atmosphere and delicious food.

sgina

Points +32

Vegan
09 Jul 2019

delicious!

what a great restaurant! super cozy, yummy food and nice staff!

kelwood13

Points +383

Vegan
27 May 2019

Quiet Spot Near Ueno Park

My partner and I went here after a (very hot) walk around the park and we absolutely loved it. The atmosphere was very cozy and we enjoyed our curry and rice ball lunch sets. The cashew cake dessert was small, but yummy, and the iced coffee was perfect after adding some of the provided soy milk and maple syrup. The woman in charge spoke minimal English, but we had no trouble communicating and she was very sweet. If you’re trying to find the cafe using gps or a map, note that it’s on a tiny side street, which initially may make it more difficult to locate.

Pros: Delicious food, Cute atmosphere, Sweet staff

Alyannkar

Points +1163

Vegan
23 May 2019

Quaint and calming cafe

This cafe was one of my favorite places to eat in Tokyo. My hubs and I found this place in the back of a small organic market. There were several locals in the cafe, which is one of our fav indications that we are about to eat at a good restaurant. There was an English menu, though we decided to try the daily lunch offering. There were potato croquettes, several sides, pickles, soup, and more! This was SO delicious and the included tea was also a great touch.

Pros: Amazing food, Fresh, Kind staff

PatSzam

Points +57

Vegetarian
17 May 2019

Hidden place with good food and nice interior

2-3 lunchsets plus sides and desserts. Yummy vegan food in reasonable price, English menu available and tastefully decorated interior. Service a bit slow and shy, but that’s a cultural thing I suppose.

Zokkery

Points +58

Mostly Veg
13 May 2019

Nice Café with good food

The café in the back of the Nezu no Ya shop is a nice place to spend a quiet time (when outside of rush hour)

The today's menu we had was a real joy to see. Very nice Japanese traditional menu experience, yet completely vegan. A perfect example how local traditions and compassion for good food can be kept without the need for animal exploiting.

The staff was very friendly. She explained us the menu and the idea behind, how the replace a traditional fried fish with fried lotus root and a nori sheet to replace the skin. Cool, something to try at home on a Sunday :-)

The price is ok. The portion size is adequate to local standards (read too small for me).
I was a bit disappointed by the the extra options. My large portion rice (+100yen) seemed hardly more then my partner's and cafe+cake set(+350 yen) was good, but more the size of a food tasting sample.

All in all, I recommend this place very much and will go there again when I get the chance.

Updated from previous review on 2019-04-29

Pros: Atmosphere, Authentic Japanese food, Nice staff

Cons: Opening hours, small size

JuliusFuentes

Points +296

Vegan
10 May 2019

Food for the soul

Forget chicken soup, this is the real deal if you want food that fills your heart. We had mock meat chicken "kara-age" style, and organic lemon as garnish. The pickles on the side complemented the dish beautifully. The restaurant is small, seating about 16 people, but it brought me memories of traditional Japanese cuisine that mothers make, with miso soup and brown rice is the center peice of every meal. Each bite was a celebration of what food should and can be. When you're done with your meal, I recommend taking a stroll around the neighborhood. It's a quiet area that has a certain gracefulness to it.

Pros: Wholesome food, great service, perfect ambiance

Cons: Absolutely none

FrankieW

Points +2509

Vegan
07 May 2019

Authentic, auspicious and amazing food.

Tucked neatly behind an organic produce shop, Nezu Noya vegan restaurant is a treasure.

We had spent the morning in Ueno park (hence the photos) and made our way here on foot. The set lunch menus are inexpensive, abundant and nourishing. The seasonal veggie curry was delicate and the daily special were pumpkin croquettes, exceptionally tasty and crispy.

The staff are delightful, attentive and respectful




This page has been viewed 24867 times.