• New Plum Tree Garden Lemonleaf Grill

  • (9)
    16
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Chinese
Thai
Delivery
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Offers a separate vegetarian menu - vegans should call and ask about specific ingredients. Has mock chicken style meat (seitan), mock beef (made from soy), and tofu. The seitan can be ordered in General Tsao sauce or sesame style. Accommodating to special request and substitutions - just ask. Open Mon-Thu 2:00pm-8:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:00am-11:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-10:00pm.


Venue map for New Plum Tree Garden Lemonleaf Grill
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by MmmSeitan

wfpb-sari

Points +84

Vegan
23 Feb 2023

Vegetarian menu, great vegan choices

So if you are looking for healthy vegan food, this is not for you. If, however, you are looking for some amazing General Tsao not-chicken (seitan) and vegan fried rice you will be thrilled. The General Tsao was crispy with the perfect sauce. New Plum Tree is not just for take out- it is a pretty sizable restaurant very much like the ones I went to as a kid in the ‘80’s- hanging lanterns, giant fish tank, etc. The staff is friendly and service is fast.

Pros: Vegetarian menu that can be made vegan, Fast, Delicious

Cons: Not terribly healthy

Advertisement

genericartistry

Points +403

Vegan
12 Mar 2022

Best Vegan Chick’n

The general tso’s chick’n was out of this world - super crispy and the sauce was divine.

Pros: lots of vegan options, moderately priced

TheBullishFamily

Points +26

Vegan
11 Jan 2021

Vegan Sesame "chicken" with white Rice

Out of this world !

Pros: Quite a few options

PerfectlyImperfectVeg

Points +322

Vegan
29 Jan 2019

Very good options for a vegan!

General Tso's "chicken" was really good! Sesame "chicken" too!!

Pros: No wait, Can get brown rice for a little extra, Quality food

danimuniz07

Points +90

Vegan
30 Sep 2018

Wow!! Amaziinggg!

The other reviews made me so exited! Everything is amazing! Try the general tso chicken (seitan) and the vegetable fried rice with no egg! Soo freakin food! We had to order more cause we ate everything so fast, but the portions are awesome too! Lots of options! Definitely will come back!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Great service, Hella tasty

Cons: They were a bit confused when I said “seitan”

SsejicaMarie

Points +34

Vegan
24 Jun 2017

amazing seitan!

Both myself and a non veg ordered the general Tso's "chicken" and it was amazing! It tasted even better than regular chicken.

My mother in law tasted it and thought it was delicious and thought it was the best Chinese restaurant style chicken ever (Bc it wasn't stringy) until we told her it wasn't even meat 😉

Pros: options for omnivores and veggies, menu is easy to understand for main dishes, lots of food with meal

Cons: ask about by side dishes (that's a little confusin, don't offer a combo platter. , a teeny bit more expensive

cinsaint

Points +72

Vegan
23 Jan 2017

great place

the food is always super fresh and Jean is the perfect server, one of my favorite places to go in my area.. vegan options, and they can make just about anything on the menu vegan..

Pros: great options, fresh food! great prices..

Cons: no cons

MichelleKreidler

Points +88

Vegetarian
09 Jun 2014

Very good...not great, but worth checking out.

Good food (not great). We were thrilled the mock meat is seitan! Ordered it in General Tso's and Sesame Chicken. Seitan was wonderfully prepared, sauce was just okay. Would go back again because of the menu (many more things to try) and wonderful service. Huge portions, lovely menu and friendly staff make this worth a return trip.
Updated from previous review on Monday June 09, 2014

Updated from previous review on Monday June 09, 2014

MmmSeitan

Points +39

Vegetarian
01 Feb 2012

SEITAN!!!

So, I love Plum Tree and have been going there for several years. They have a separate vegetarian section of their menu with mock meat, and the mock meat is seitan! You can order it in General Tso's or Sesame style. Both are very good. They also have tofu if that's your thing, vegan thai spring rolls, and a huge variety of different veggie side dishes (sauteed broccoli is my favorite.) They have pan fried or steamed vegetable dumplings that I'm pretty sure are vegan. If you're vegan, make sure to order the vegetable fried rice without egg. I think their Miso soup might be vegan, but I'm not 100% sure, as I've never been crazy about Miso soup and haven't tried it.

Some of the employees speak better english than the others, but everyone that I've encountered working there is very helpful, patient, and wants to make sure they take your order correctly.

This is a great local place with quality food, and it beats driving all the way to Philly to get your chinese food/protein on. Sometimes if you place a big order they give you free extras. A lot of time the "free" item is crab rangoon, so if you're going to be completely horrified and offended to find an order of crab rangoon in your bag, make sure you talk with them about that ahead of time.

Pros: Close to home, Delicious, Lots of options

Cons: Can be pricy, Sometimes a communication barrier, Not 100% Veg Restaurant

MmmSeitan

01 Feb 2012

Also, sometimes they will make you custom food (like fake chicken fried rice), but I guess it depends on the chef, how busy they are, etc. Oh yea, and if you go, tell them Molly and Bubba sent you!

MichelleKreidler

31 May 2014

Thanks for this review. Hope to try this restaurant next time I'm in town. Unfortunately, we didn't make it there tonight. The address listed above is incorrect. The correct address is: 2034 E Old Lincoln Hwy. If you don't plug EAST into your GPS, you will not be able to find the restaurant (We learned the hard way).




This page has been viewed 6484 times.