• Natural Blend

  • (13)
    15
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Juice bar
Take-out
Caribbean
Non-veg

Serves fish, vegan options available. Vegan food and fish. Caribbean restaurant that uses soy mock meat and mock fish with brown rice, peas, and veggies. Counter-service with limited seating. Also sells veg baked goods, Jamaican patties, smoothies, and organic juices. Black-owned. Open Mon-Fri 8:00am-10:30pm, Sat 9:30am-11:00pm, Sun 10:00am-7:30pm.


Venue map for Natural Blend
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by Tweasel

jalopy

Points +209

Vegan
06 Jul 2023

Had the best smoothie of life

Ackee patty was just ok

BUT THAT MORNING GLO SMOOTHIE??!!!!
on that first sip I was like oooh I gotta make this last. I got it w cranberry juice instead of almond milk and it was the most refreshing thing on a humid bk morning. Immediately boosted my mood and energized my step

Pros: Smoothies

Cons: Expensive patties

Advertisement

jay.callores

Points +3799

Vegan
19 Jun 2022

Best place to drop in for Caribbean flavors

I am convinced that Natural Blend is the friendliest place in Brooklyn. I’ve been to 3 of the 4 locations and each time has always been a positive experience. They really live their ethos of “crafting authentic food infused with love, goodness, and nothing else at this place.”

This is for the Prospect Heights location because it’s the one I regularly go to. I love their patties, especially the callaloo; the lentils and the peas are a close second. Their lunch and dinner plates are tasty; I’ve tried the pepper steak and the jerk chicken. The medium size is a good portion and will more than feed you. Also don’t miss out on their bread and pastries. There’s much more to explore here—the smoothies, the stews, the curry chik’n, for my Caribbean cravings.

My only complaint is that Natural Blend uses plastic bags and utensils. Just make sure to request without and bring your own bags.

Cons: Uses plastic utensils and bags, Serves fish

janetgottlieb

Points +228

Vegan
05 May 2022

Delicious

Loved the pepper steak meal and also a veggie meatless patty. Of course I'd love it even more if there were no flesh on the menu, so I didn't have to worry.

GregPrasker

Points +441

Vegan
19 Oct 2021

One of My Faves

As I’m saying good bye to NY for a bit, obviously have to crush all the vegan spots on my way out. Natural Blend is one of my favorite spots in Brooklyn. The Lentil and Pumpkin Patties, the Citrus Ribs, The Sea Moss Shake, and obviously a few desserts. Really Something special.

NataliaVargas

Points +74

Vegan
19 Aug 2020

Fantastic curry chicken

The curry chicken is so delicious and filling. The lo mein is great as well. Don’t underestimate this place!

Pros: Lots of vegan options

gabandtonic

Points +2750

Vegan
21 Sep 2019

Great juices

I really loved their staple green juice: natural blend. Their smoothies are really great too!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Great affordable juices

lileezoo

Points +116

Vegan
29 Apr 2019

Full of flavor

I had the curry chicken and a coconut lemon bread (?) which the server recommended. It tasted wonderful and hit the spot after a long day of walking around the Brooklyn Botanical Garden.

Pros: Friendly servers, Hearty servings

Cons: Few seating spots

LaReina

Points +33

Vegetarian
19 Aug 2018

Nice

Love their Roast Breadfruit and Ackee in the mornings

junise

Points +32

Vegan
03 Jan 2018

Amazing!

I saw this restaurant listed on HappyCow and I just had to give it a try. As a West Indian-American, it was a little challenging transitioning to a more plant-based lifestyle simply because I missed some of our traditional dishes. Fortunately, Natural Blend has made that so much easier! When I visited, I made my own maca smoothie with tropical fruits and purchased their vegan curry chicken and brown rice & peas. While I am not a huge fan of soy or mock meats in general, I wanted to check it out and I was definitely pleased! And the beauty of it all is that the staff are kind, they prepare your food with agility, the restaurant has that good Caribbean feel and the food is reasonably priced. I definitely recommend!

Updated from previous review on 2018-01-03

Pros: Affordable, Agile preparation , Friendly staff

Cons: Soy products (for those who abstain from soy)

LaurenceFWI

Points +98

Vegan
03 Dec 2017

Great place!

I loved my lunch at Natural Blend! It's quite amazing to have vegan jamaican food in NYC! They had two vegan dishes. I choosed the one with the soy proteins, the rice and peas and the vegetables. It was very good, full of flavor and cheap ($10 for the medium size). They have also amazing choices regarding pastries: banana bread, carrot cake, black cake and even a zuccini cake... I had the black cake which is typical of Jamaica and it was excellent. They also have icecreams, smoothies and juices. The service is very quick and the staff very nice. If I could I would provide 5 stars but as they serve fish the system don't allow me to.

Pros: A good diversity of food, Excellent, Cheap

Yariv

Points +76

Vegan
03 Jan 2015

Decent but not much more

Has a somewhat-confusing array of Carribbean-inspired fake-meat dishes; lots of seitan and daiya. Greasy comfort food - can be good when you're in the mood for it; not something to go out of your way for.

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Small, Confusing menu

jrm212

Points +220

Mostly Veg
11 May 2013

lifesaver for veg picnic food!

for a last-minute picnic, we were desperate for healthy veg food...grateful to have found this place so close to the park! super fast, very friendly, you can sense that health is of their utmost importance. good green juice, sandwiches weren't *amazing* but hit the spot, vegan zucchini bread very tasty.

Tweasel

Points +13

Vegetarian
03 May 2013

Great, home made feel

I tried the mock meat curry for lunch, as it was recommended and ready to serve.
The curry came with a rice and bean mix. It was tasty and modestly spiced with a home made feel.
Would recommend!
I also just had to try the sea weed smoothie, which was very interesting.

Pros: fast, cheap, tasty




This page has been viewed 5102 times.