• Naked Cafe

  • (9)
    13
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
American
Delivery
Take-out
Catering
Fusion
Gluten-free
Honey
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. American breakfast, brunch, and lunch restaurant with a few outlets in Greater San Diego - this one is located in a plaza setting with a courtyard. Vegans could get the breakfast fruit bowl and the ying yang dish (minus the dairy); a lunch wrap with tofu, a salad, or a brown rice & veggies wok. Ask about the day's soup. Has plant milk for coffee and shakes. Open Mon-Sun 7:30am-2:30pm.


Venue map for Naked Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by GeorgeR

jrdelisi

Points +283

Vegan
28 Dec 2023

Good for breakfast or lunch

We enjoyed the outdoor seating in the courtyard. I loved that they’re dog friendly, they even have a menu for dogs.

The menu has some items marked as vegan, and several that can be made vegan. I had the transcendence wrap, which was good and spicy. I also enjoyed a chai with almond milk. Other vegan items include stir fry/ bowls, and some breakfast items like French toast and pancakes.

Advertisement

SeanBerger

Points +686

Vegan
26 Feb 2023

Lots of options and easily customized

The best part of The Naked Cafe is that the menu explicitly calls out the restaurant's willingness to make (almost) any dish into a vegan version. Substitutions are super easy and nothing feels like an inconvenience to ask. The coffee selection is also great! This time around, I had the crispy burrito and substituted egg whites for potatoes.

Pros: A couple of vegan items on the menu, Lots os substitutions available, Great coffee and tea options

Cons: Can be crowded during the weekend

Roshanda14

Points +36

Vegan
08 May 2021

Vegan Options

This morning I ordered the vegan coconut French toast and vegan sausage. Very satisfying! 😋

beltongirl

Points +455

Vegan
01 Feb 2020

Yummy Breakfast

The goddess wrap and the breakfast burrito with the soy chorizo

veggiewoman

Points +374

Vegan
10 May 2017

Great place to go with vegans and non vegans

Went for breakfast with a group of 6 of us, some veg and some not. Pleased there was something for everyone. I had a vegan sausage breakfast wrap and my son had a fruit soy smoothie. Large space good for big groups.

Pros: Almond and soy milk available , Good for big groups and kids

MissRoss

Points +13

Vegetarian
06 Apr 2016

fresh and delicious

I ordered the yin and yang without cheese and sour cream and substituted a corn tortilla to make it gluten free as well. I was worried that it may be too spicy as it was made with jalapeños, however, the jalapeños were fresh and had the seeds cut out so they have the dish flavor without being too spicy. Very tasty.

Chia

Points +3635

Vegetarian
06 Nov 2012

Makes the Effort to Provide for Veg Diners

I had read about this place on HappyCow, and was here in November 2012 for lunch. Here's my Naked Cafe review.

Naked Cafe is located in Carlsbad Village which is quaint and near the ocean. The plaza it's in houses many other shops. There is both indoor and outside seating. On the day I went, 2 musicians from the music shop (also in the plaza) played string instruments in the courtyard for all to hear.

If you do not care about cross-contamination or don't think about what goes on in the kitchen, then you would be okay eating at Naked Cafe. As with most non-veg restaurants that provide veg options, the food (meat + veg) is prepared in the same kitchen, on the same grill, using likely the same utensils.

The menu is Southern California American fare: egg and toast kind of breakfast, wraps, sandwiches, burritos, and the like. Dairy, eggs, and meat are prevalent; however, you will also find vegan options. Grilled tofu is an option as accompaniment to a stir fry, a rice bowl, wrap, and build your own sandwich. Soymilk is on stock.

I ordered the "transcendence wrap" which is chili grilled tofu in a tortilla wrap served with a side of quinoa and salad greens. It was very tasty. The coffee is organic and tasted okay.

If you are vegan, let your waitstaff know.

For a town like Carlsbad, which is predominately upper class income and caucasian with no pure veg restaurants, Naked Cafe is about as good as it gets, and it's all right. The owners also operate a few other Naked Cafes in the area (Solana Beach, Encinitas, San Diego).

Pros: tasty tofu wrap

cookie19

Points +48

Vegetarian
05 Nov 2012

Naked Cafe

This place is amazing! They have the best healthy whole grains EVER! Great service and great atmosphere~!

Pros: WHole grains, Atmosphere is amazing, Friendly staff

Cons: The chairs kinda hurt my [censored], long wait fo the bathroom, they serve too much eggs

GeorgeR

Points +96

Vegetarian
03 Jan 2011

Good Food, Nice Variety

We ate at the Naked Cafe in Carlsbad for lunch and they had a fairly good selection of vegetarian and vegan items. My wife had the Yin and Yang without the dairy and it was great; I had the Ginger Rice and Black Beans which had some wonderful flavors. We switched plates half way through eating, and neither of us could decide which we liked more. Prices are fair. The location and atmosphere is simple and casual. Nice place, we'll eat there again.

Pros: vegan options, reasonable prices

Cons: limited hours




This page has been viewed 7491 times.