CLOSED: My Village

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 17 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Contact
+44-2034892293
Find

37 Chalk Farm Road, Camden, North West London, England, NW1 8AJ

Cozy rustic cafe/bar offering variety of vegetarian and vegan Mediterranean and Kurdish dishes, delicious coffees, fresh juices and wine. Directions: Located pass the Stables Market before Roundhouse, on opposite side of road. Confirmed closed, Jul 2017.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, Mediterranean, Juice bar, Take-out

17 Reviews

First Review by bencamps

Cosy and homely - Edit

Amazing vegan food, great selection of smoothies, lovely staff, and really cosy and homely vibe.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good value, good food - Edit

Huge portions. The salads come together well and all the individual bits are lovely.

I usually have a falafel salad and hot spicy mocha (lovely but for those with a sweet tooth). Keeps me full all day.

Also try grandma's soup-it is beautiful and fresh.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The best vegan food in London - Edit

This place was absolutely perfect, from the kind and humble staff, the amazing food and the interesting interior design. Not only that, the mixed meal had everything a vegetarian/vegan needs and very generous portions. We where pleasantly surprised by the kindness that met us and the middle-eastern flavors.

Pros: Great quality, cosy atmosphere, great service, gre

Photo of CLOSED: My Village  by <a href="/members/profile/Shereen%C3%96">ShereenÖ</a> <br/>Vegan ans gluten-free Falafel plate  <br/> December 10, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/14584/199155'>Report</a>

Vegan ans gluten-free Falafel plate

Photo of CLOSED: My Village  by <a href="/members/profile/Shereen%C3%96">ShereenÖ</a> <br/>Mixed Meal <br/> December 10, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/14584/199154'>Report</a>

Mixed Meal

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Alright place - Edit

Food is nice and the staff friendly and welcoming. Interesting interiors. A good place to chill

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice & tasty - Edit

Charming small rustic restaurant/cafe, beautifully designed and decorated, with friendly staff. The food was very good, but not the best ever. It was full so we had to wait to get a table.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

free tasters - Edit

Amazing food! Get the spiced hot chocolate!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Favourite spot, worth seeking out! - Edit

Have been here quite a few times and introduced various other people to this little gem of a place! The second you step through the door it's as though you've hopped on a plane and arrived on holiday..love the decor, love the food, love the reasonable prices and family run atmosphere. If you are lucky you might even be offered a sample of their delicious soup or inventive drinks while you settle in. Fresh, colourful and healthy food, pretty much can't go wrong whatever you choose!

Pros: Delicious food, Unique atmosphere , Great value for area

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice food ! - Edit

1- Location : 4/5
2- Service : 5/5
3- Food : 5/5
4- Price : 4/5
5- Decoration : 4/5

GO VEGAN

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cosy - Edit

Nice choice of Mediterranean veggie food with a kind of rustic theme. Well recommended!

Pros: Interesting decor, Nice selection of food, Expected prices

Cons: Crowded at times, Staff seem under pressure, Not fully vegan

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great vegetarian, vegan and Kurdish cuisine - Edit

Visited this restaurant for the first time this weekend and loved it. It's oozing with character, cosy and rustic. The service was a little chaiotic but it didn't matter at all. I had a fabulous meal - stuffed vine leaves, humous and various salads.
If you visit for the first time you might find it handy to know that you should find a seat, they bring you a menu and then you order at the bar. Make sure they give a slip with a number on it as they sometimes forget. If you don't fill up the whole table then you may be expected to share.
Loved that they gave everyone who came in a sample of the soup of the day and while queuing I was also given a spicy coco drinnk to try and I'd certainy recommend it.
Total bill came to around £17 for two main meals and two drinks.

Updated from previous review on Sunday October 18, 2015

Pros: Great food and drinks, Cosy and friendly atmosphere

Cons: The service was a little chaiotic, The loos were quite scruvy

Photo of CLOSED: My Village  by <a href="/members/profile/Edible%20Journey">Edible Journey</a> <br/>Stuffed vine leaves with humous and salad - delcicious! <br/> October 18, 2015  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/14584/121746'>Report</a>

Stuffed vine leaves with humous and salad - delcic...

Photo of CLOSED: My Village  by <a href="/members/profile/Edible%20Journey">Edible Journey</a> <br/>Inside My Village Cafe <br/> October 18, 2015  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/14584/121745'>Report</a>

Inside My Village Cafe

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Felafel ISN'T Felafel! - Edit

First visit there yesterday after reading other reviews. Cosy and eclectic interior which gets very crowded with the Camden Lock crowd. Menu is formulaic which allows for little variety- however what they do, they do pretty well. Except for the felafel.

My husband ordered the felafel wrap and was surprised to find it made with shredded and diced vegetables instead of chickpeas or fava beans. When he asked the owner about this, he was told they are trying to encourage people to eat vegetables !

We thought this was a cop-out. Felafel is only felafel if it's made out of pulses. So be aware of this if you were looking for a vegan protein fix.

Pros: Decent value, Vegan options, Healthy

Cons: Misdescribed ingredient, Gets very crowded

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good - Edit

Small place in Camden with very nice atmosphere. Food was pretty good, but not perfect. Place was full and we had to wait little bit longer. Worth for visit for sure, but I'm afraid that you will be not amazed.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Really Tasty - Edit

Stumbled across this place while looking for somewhere inside to eat. Had the falafel wrap with halloumi which was really really tasty. Coffee and tea were great too. Would definitely recommend. Staff very friendly too.

Pros: tasty food, quick, if you're in a rush, warm!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Brilliant place - Edit

What a find just away from all the crowds. Thanks to Happy Cow app again. A mish mash of different furniture inside. The food was great and the drinks were amazing. I've no clue how the chocolate drinks were made but her indoors loved them. The grandmas soup was great.

Pros: drinks, grandmas soup, general atmospehere and service

Cons: toilets a bit small

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious - Edit

The food here is great, very inventive and tasty. I had the vegan option My Village Meal which included aubergine, biryani brown rice, farik, stuffed vine leaf and a couple of salads with really great dressings. I tasted my friend's side of hummus which was one of the best I've tasted. We were also given a taster of amazing lentil soup when we arrived and the soya latte was nice and strong. Cosy inside which was great for a rainy day. Will definitely go back.

Pros: Delicious food, Nice atmosphere, Great coffee

Photo of CLOSED: My Village  by <a href="/members/profile/saramarshall">saramarshall</a> <br/>Soya latte <br/> January 2, 2014  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/14584/61548'>Report</a>

Soya latte

Photo of CLOSED: My Village  by <a href="/members/profile/saramarshall">saramarshall</a> <br/>My Village Meal (vegan) <br/> January 2, 2014  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/14584/61547'>Report</a>

My Village Meal (vegan)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Friendly, chilled out North London cafe - Edit

I always go here when i'm in Camden. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the owner is often around offering free samples of 'grandmothers' soup and iced chocolate drink. This vegetarian/vegan cafe has great falafel meals and salads. There are vegan options available and most products are organic. I always recommend this place to friends and family. The seating is cosy- wooden benches and pillows- and candles in the evening. Great after a shopping trip in the nearby stables markets!
Updated from previous review on Thursday February 14, 2013

Pros: Healthy, Delicious food, Friendly Staff, Great relaxed atmosphere

Cons: No seats during busy lunch hours

Photo of CLOSED: My Village  by <a href="/members/profile/ColletteFarnol">ColletteFarnol</a> <br/>Falafel/ Salad meal <br/> February 14, 2013  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/14584/44203'>Report</a>

Falafel/ Salad meal

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Simple, Healthy, Tasty - Edit

Visited on 15th November 2012. Whilst in the queue at the counter my girlfriend and were offered free 'tasters' of drinks and a soup by a very friendly server, possibly the owner. The decor is rustic, warm and homely. The menu is Middle Eastern inspired and kept simple, almost all items can be made as vegan and the staff are very aware of veganism. There are lots of teas, coffees and juices as well as wines and beers. We both had the Falafel meal (made vegan) which was super tasty and healthy. I've been here before for take-out but this was the first time I've had a sit down meal. I couldn't be more impressed.

Pros: Great healthy food, Great value for money, Great service and atmosphere

Photo of CLOSED: My Village  by <a href="/members/profile/bencamps">bencamps</a> <br/>Falafel Meal (Vegan) <br/> November 17, 2012  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/14584/40291'>Report</a>

Falafel Meal (Vegan)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to North West London Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has CLOSED: My Village closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 4887 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support