• Mother Chu's Taiwanese Cuisine

  • (10)
    14
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Chinese
Taiwanese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. This restaurant is owned by the son of Mother Chu's Vegetarian Restaurant owner. However, it does serve meat but provides a separate menu for vegetarian dishes, which includes some popular Taiwanese snacks. The restaurant has branched out to a cafe next to it, serving milkshakes, ice cream, coffee, and desserts. Open Mon-Sun 8:30am-8:30pm.


Venue map for Mother Chu's Taiwanese Cuisine
© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by MaitreyaBelmore

BritLostInOz

Points +27

Vegetarian
16 Nov 2022

Meh, go to the original mother chu's for better experience.

Mapu tofu not great. Wouldn't recommend. Wintermelon tea was 10/10 though

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-16

Pros: Decent amount of veggie options , Wintermelon tea was incredible , Fried bread sticks good

Cons: Mapu tofu very oily , Quite an overpowering coriander taste

Advertisement

Lycious

Points +1371

Vegetarian
18 Jul 2022

Vegan and vegetarian options. Fast paced environment @ Chinatown.

Vegetarian options is on the last page of the menu. Dishes with eggs are clearly labeled.

Updated from previous review on 2022-07-18

Pros: Fresh soy bean milk

Cons: Dishes tend to be oily.

LalaLima

Points +128

Vegan
10 Nov 2020

One of the best in town

The food is so tasty!! 😋

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Food tastes delicious

SimoneDK

Points +30

Vegan
01 Jan 2020

Staff does not speak english

I asked if any of the vegetarian meals were vegan, and she did not know what that meant. Then I asked if the noodles were made with eggs and she did not understand that either. I eventually just took a chance and ordered the vegetarian noodle soup and it was pretty bland.

Jade-AliseSwarbrick

Points +24

Vegan
13 Jul 2019

Amazing food and service!

I love this place - a fully vegetarian option in the middle of the city. Lots of great options and friendly staff. Decor isn’t the best, but the food is awesome so totally worth the trip!

Pros: Lots of veggie options, Central cbd location, Friendly staff

Cons: A little expensive for what you get

BroPsyHippie

Points +87

Vegan
07 Mar 2019

Go to the “real” Mother Chu’s

Mother Chu’s Vegetarian Restaurant. In Pitt St

Lozcriston

Points +842

Vegan
28 Aug 2016

TERRIBLE!!! SERVED US PIG STOMACH!!!!

This was the worst restaurant experience I've ever had!!! The vegetarian bun was cold, and soggy. The glutinous rice roll was served in cling wrap and tasted like plastic. Then the "fried tofu vermicelli soup" came out. We had specified we were vegan, and ordered everything from the vegetarian menu. We even asked her to repeat back our order to double check. Tried the broth, and it tasted like pork. Tried something that looked like bean curd, and it tasted like pork as well! Asked the waitress again if it was vegetarian, she said "ohh! You're vegetarian? No, that's pig tripe" !!!!!!! I was SO UPSET!!!! We cancelled the rest of our order, and they refunded us minus the bun, roll, and 2 drinks (which still cost us $20!!!!!)

leonardhall

Points +326

Vegan
18 Nov 2014

Tasty Veg Options

Vegetarian section is on the last page of the menu folder. Food is tasty and well priced. Good portion size. I had the stir fried green vegetables and vegetarian congee (see pics).

I have a video review on my youtube, see my profile.

If you're visiting Sydney and in the China Town area then this is a good place for veg options. There is another Mother Chu's on Pitt St. which is Vegetarian only and I hear is good too.

Pros: Tasty, Good price, Easy to find location

sbszine

Points +250

Vegan
19 Mar 2012

Taiwanese vego food

There's a vegetarian menu here if you ask for it specifically. I enjoyed the pickles, the congee (made on water, not stock), and the steamed bun. The staff are friendly and it's a fun bustling atmosphere. Legend has it that the proprietor's wife is the daughter of Mother Chu from Pitt St, so we refer to this place as Son-in-Law Chu.

You pay at the table when you order, so have your loose change ready.

Pros: Vegetarian menu, Dishes not seen elsewhere

Cons: Vegan options not marked

MaitreyaBelmore

Points +416

Vegetarian
28 Jul 2010

Conveniently in the Heart of Chinatown

This eatery is conveniently tucked in the heart of Sydney's busy Chinatown. On the window, some kitchen hands are busy making dumplings, yu-tiaw (Chinese donuts), and other snacks. They mainly serve meat dishes, however do ask for a separate VEGETARIAN MENU, which includes vegetarian fried rice, fried noodles, noodle soups, congee (Chinese rice porrridge), stir-fries, etc.

The food taste good but doesn't have the "wow" factor, but the prices are good value, ranges from $1.20 for snacks/entrees and from $7.50 for main meals. The location is also very good, in case you are around Chinatown and hungry, especially if you are with non-veg friends - you would be able to sit down together and order what everyone prefer. There's always something for everyone here. This place is always buzzing with customers especially lunch and dinner time.

A must try: their Taiwanese snacks which they are famous for, e.g. dumplings, yu-tiaw (chinese donuts), vegetarian buns, pancakes, congee, and soy milk drinks (hot or cold).

Pros: convenient location, cheap, separate vegetarian menus

Cons: doesn't taste "wow"




This page has been viewed 7037 times.