• Monpan Shokudo

  • (8)
    33
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Asian
Fusion
Honey
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Asian fusion restaurant where the signature dish is Monpan, a flat bread filled with vegetables and tofu. Offers buddha bowls, stir fry, noodles, and pasta dishes which can all be vegan. Hours reported to be unreliable, check ahead. Open Thu-Sun 11:30am-8:00pm.


Venue map for Monpan Shokudo
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by Cuthien

DominikFöldes

Points +132

Vegan
25 Jun 2023

Interesting restaurant

This restaurant is in a home of the owners. We liked the experience and the cozy atmosphere. We had tofu with garlic and a Monpan. Both dishes were very good, including the homemade plum liquor. The menu was harder to navigate at first, as it was several pieces of paper but it was in English.

Pros: Cozy

Advertisement

AitorBegeta

Points +1567

Vegan
18 Jun 2023

Complete experience

This small and very familiar restaurant has a complete menu of vegan options. Everything I tried I really liked. The cook prepares all the dishes at the moment and it can take her time. If you want to eat and enjoy a complete experience, this place is perfect.

laiansu

Points +184

Vegan
28 Jun 2019

Hidden fusion kitchen

Place doesn't looks a normal restaurant and it is on a very quiet street however I would recommend going there if you are close by. Owner was a very nice lady and understood when I ordered the food vegan and also took into consideration my allergies (I had them in japanese on a paper).

Food was interesting fusion of mongolia and japanese. We ate the monpan breads. Delicious!

The owner has a cat that might come down but didn't while we were there unfortunately :)

Pros: Many options , New fusion

Cons: A little far away

Cuthien

Points +53

Vegan
08 Dec 2018

Amazing find. Very vegan friendly!

A great little gem. This place offers a wide range of vegan fusion dishes, all customisable. Upon entry they owners asked if we were vegetarian or vegans, and they understood perfectly what vegan meant and offered to make any dish vegan.

I had the monpan and my friend had the vegan Buddha bowl. Both were delicious and very filling!

The restaurant is very unique and homely, the owners extremely friendly, and the food was amazing!! It felt like going to a beloved grandma’s for dinner. They offer an English menu and one of the owners speaks English, so it’s very tourist friendly.

A wide range of drinks are also available, and the price is very reasonable! All in all I highly recommend this place. If I could, I’d give it 5 stars.

Pros: Cheap, Good portion size, Mostly vegetarian & vegan

DenverTamara

Points +31

Vegetarian
08 Jun 2018

This place is amazing.

I am traveling with non-vegetarians and this place was a hit for everyone. 5 stars in my opinion. Cute little place, too. I sat on the swing chair while I ate. Highly recommend!

Pros: Owner speaks English well, Low price

Cons: Cash only

arielxuxu

Points +38

Vegan
23 Apr 2018

This place is 5 star for me.

This place is 5 star for me. There are so many vegan options and food are simply amazing and affordable. The owners were super helpful to work with us. My number one place to go in Kyoto.

Tpatel

Points +17

Vegetarian
10 Apr 2018

Delicious!

Went there for lunch after walking part of philosophers path in Kyoto. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, and the food was amazing! We enjoyed our dinner here and they had a separate English menu and plenty of vegetarian/vegan options. Such a cozy place!!

Pros: vegetarian options, friendly staff, great food and good price

JasonBlaslov

Points +54

Vegan
18 Feb 2018

Really cozy restaurant with nice veg options

A small cozy restaurant with an living room kind of atmosphere. It took us some time to decide, but the staff was really nice in explaining to us all the different things on the menu.
I ordered the Mongopan "pizza" as well as the fried noodles. Very filling and yummy 😋
The price was also very reasonable!

Pros: Yummy but still cheap, very friendly staff, good v

Cons: You'll know by some ingredients that lay around at




This page has been viewed 3267 times.