• Monk's Cafe

  • (7)
    11
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
American
Western
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Cafe with vegan choices, such as a vegan burger, seitan cheesesteak, parsnip soup, and autumn squash pesto. Please note that menu varies by season. Open Wed-Sun 12:00pm-11:00pm.


Venue map for Monk's Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by lizardlucas

PeterMoulson

Points +37

Vegan
15 Oct 2023

Excellent vegan options. Helpful staff.

Mostly meat/seafood, but the wait staff know their business, and helped me have a great vegan experience here

Pros: Philly seitan/mushroom cheese steak, Helpful staff who know their vegan options , The atmosphere is olde worlde and comfortable

Cons: No dislikes

Advertisement

MelsieT

Points +43

Vegan
31 Jul 2022

Wandered in when Hip City Veg closed early


The vegan cheesesteak was really good!

MESParis/NYC

Points +453

Vegan
21 Apr 2022

Impressive vegan options for a joint like this

While I'd almost always prefer eating in a vegan restaurant, when traveling with my non-vegan husband, places like Monk's come in handy. There were three clearly labeled vegan options on the menu and the staff was very attentive to questions and confirmations about ingredients. I had the lentil dish with miso sauce. It was quite good. Kids had vegan burger and vegan seitan "cheese steak" sandwich. All were happy. Prices were fine.

Pros: Clearly marked vegan options, Fun atmosphere

BradRainke

Points +450

Vegan
29 Aug 2021

Good for a few vegan options.

Good drinks , good service. Great interior.

devonwithano

Points +5167

Vegan
03 Jul 2021

One of my Favorites

While they don't have too many vegan options, whenever they have hummus on the menu I have to go here. I think they have the best hummus I've ever had in my life. That's been the highlight of every meal that I've ever had here. It's sad they sometimes it's not available on the menu!

Pros: Great service, Awesome food preparation

Cons: Crowded, Tiny, Lacks vegan options

StephanieBarnhart

Points +30

Vegan
31 Mar 2019

Best vegan cheese steak in Philly.

Add broccoli rabe to the setian cheese steak and get the fries.

lizardlucas

Points +1001

Vegan
09 Jan 2019

Surprising amount of options

I came here with, and at the recommendation of, a bunch of omni friends, not really knowing what to expect, but their food is amazing! Not to mention the beer selection - awesome. Staff is knowledgeable, can sub things for you, and they also have some seasonal rotating options. Unfortunately I was here a few months ago (sorry, I don't usually let my backlog get this bad!) and don't remember what I got, but it was a seasonal option for fall and really good! I thought it was a bit pricey, but I could just be unused to the standards in the area.

Updated from previous review on 2019-01-09

Pros: Good selection, Great beer

Cons: Busy - hard to find a table




This page has been viewed 2476 times.