Mod's Vegan Cafe at the Thirsty Scholar

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 34 reviews )

Find

50 New Wakefield St, Manchester, England, M1 5NP

Vegan pub grub from ciabatta toasties to Jamaican curry and Tex Mex food; plus ciders, beers, and wine. Also sells cakes. Open Mon 12:00-19:00, Wed-Thu 12:00-19:00, Sat 12:00-17:00. Open on Tue for drinks only.

Categories: Vegan, Beer/Wine, Take-out, British, Jamaican

34 Reviews

First Review by Kevster

Lujgano

Points +38

Vegan
11 Oct 2020

Sabrosa hamburguesa

Vine porque lo vi en Happycow y me gustó. Es un pub, la gente irá sobre todo a beber, pero la verdad es que la hamburguesa estaba realmente buena. Burguer con patatas y una cocacola 8£. Eso es barato comparándolo con la mayoría de veganos.

Pros: Sencillo y barato.

Cons: Nada realmente, no esperes grandes surtidos.

satanspropaganda

Points +42

Vegan
22 Feb 2020

Amazing and well priced food in a great pub

I love the thirsty scholar, so popping in for lunch on a Saturday and having amazing vegan food alongside a great pint is just perfect. The Udon Noodles were incredible with just a hint of spice and a hell of a serving size, then the hummus plate just delicious.

No complaints, cold beer and great homemade food

Pros: Well priced , Owner extremely friendly , Great beer

AlmaEgan

Points +350

Vegan
29 Nov 2019

Hidden vegan gem

It's not gourmet or fine dining but it's a great spot for a burger and chips with a pint. They use faux meat so it's not a vegetable patty . Quirky decor and the chef is lovely and friendly

Pros: Huge breakfast

Advertisement

Absel

Points +16

Vegan
22 Sep 2019

Great Value and Vibe

Not sure I would have ever thought to go in here if not for this website. I was expecting a separate vegan cafe within it, but it's actually just that the pub has a vegan menu. I had the Rogan Josh which was lovely, and they certainly didn't skimp on the portion size. The staff seemed personable, and had some good beer recommendations.

Pros: Large portions, Reasonably priced, Jolly staff

Cons: Decor was a bit tired, but not unpleasant

DoctorGrubles

Points +70

Vegan
19 Feb 2019

Awesome food, cool venue and friendly staff!

We went here in the evening for drinks, and returned in the “morning” (12:00) for breakfast! They have Free wifi, and also does coffee.

rootEth

Points +42

Vegan
15 Dec 2018

You won't leave hungry!

This is pretty simply pub grub. It's edible, cheap, and you get lots of it, there's very little risk of leaving hungry!

I'm a big guy, and I eat a lot, but I ordered the burger and chips plate and could barely finish it. I dread to think how big the platter is!

I went for an Asian burger, can't remember country right now, but it has a nice flavour to it. The burger toppings weren't anything special, but it is pub grub so was as expected. The chips were just deep fried chunky chips really.

Be aware though that the pub doesn't have a lot of seating inside and I accidently turned up on quiz night so was even less! They do have outdoor seating but bit cold in December! The music was pretty good and not too loud when I was there.

The staff are a bit mixed to be honest, the bar staff didn't really know anything about the food and seemed quite put out by me asking questions, however once they got the chef (and owner maybe?) he was really friendly and helpful.

Also worth noting, the bar mats were promoting mental health awareness, really happy to see this and a great idea!

Updated from previous review on 2018-12-15

Pros: Massive portions., Friendly chef / owner., Really good value for money.

Cons: It's pub grub so not the finest dining!, Bar staff are not very helpful., Limited seating.

cadugdale

Points +57

Vegan
17 Sep 2018

Basic vegan pub grub in central Manchester

A friend and I, both vegan, decided to visit the Thirsty Scholar for lunch today. the pub is set down from the road and would be easy to miss if you weren't looking out for it!

The place was empty when we arrived and there was a terrible bass beat booming around. Fortunately one of the staff was able to turn it off, otherwise we would have had to leave.

We were greeted in a friendly manner, and given a menu to read. There was plenty of choice, mostly burgers, but we knew that from the website.

The chef asked if we needed help, and helpfully discussed my gluten free needs. My friend and I both opted for the hummus platter. I had some chips instead of the pitta bread, which worked very well. My friend ordered a medium portion of chips alongside her platter - she was unable to eat it all!!

The platters looked great, as you can see, the salad was lovely and fresh, and the hummus tasty.

The pub seating has seen better days, but the food was great value for money.

Sadly they had no Thatcher's Gold cider, and the young lady at the bar told me that she believed all ciders are vegan, which was a little disconcerting as I know that they are not. However, the Rosie was tasty. We later discovered a list of vegan beers and ciders pinned to the wall, it was a shame that she wasn't aware of it.
My other half loves a good veggie breakfast, so I'll have to take him along another day.

Worth a visit for simply vegan food - give it a go!

Pros: helpful chef, all vegan

Cons: limited choice for gluten free diet but chef helps

FernandaOliveira

Points +890

Vegan
22 Aug 2018

loved it

had the double lunchfast and everything was ultra delicious and their prices are quite affordable

CatrionaTravels

Points +82

Vegan
18 Aug 2018

Best Vegan in Manchester

My favourite vegan place in Manchester. Doesn’t seem like a pretentious Vegan restaurant- instead an actual pub with locals! The staff are very kind and the food is amazing- especially the burgers. Would definitely recommend eating here.

Pros: All Vegan options, Great pub atmosphere, Reasonable prices

jstig

Points +203

Vegan
03 Jun 2018

Great Place

We had a great chat with Martin "the Mod" (Cook and co-owner)and the bartender. Lots of stories. Typical pub food but vegan which was great.Went for lunch, would have liked to gone back for dinner and music. Definitely recommend.

JoelMaz

Points +38

Vegan
19 May 2018

Amazing value, pub classics

Portion sizes were huge! We got two of the larger meals and we could easily have shared one.
The brunchfast was excellent and filled me up all day, along with a few beers.

Pros: all vegan food, good beers, location

Scarface_9toes

Points +60

Vegan
10 Jan 2018

Wonderful chili, beer and chat

Sublime vegan Chilli by Martin The Mod,swept down with a pint of Blonde Rogue. All followed by a nice chat with Martin! Delicious.

Pros: Decent menu and everything was on. No specials but

Cons: None

TrixieFirecracker

Points +2513

Vegan
06 Nov 2017

Menu not always on

I knew food was on until 7pm and when I arrived about 3pm I wasn't hungry. I looked at the menu, thought about what I wanted to order, and decided to sit with a drink for an hour then get food. Went up to the bar about 4pm and was told it had been a busy day for food and there was only one dish on. It was a special of a chickpea dish and rice, which I didn't fancy, so left to go elsewhere.

Staff were pleasant and drinks were reasonably priced (80p for a soda water & lime) but disappointing that you can't rely on the regularity of a menu. I was only through in Manchester for the afternoon, if go back here I'll make sure it's for lunch.

Pros: Reasonably priced drinks, Spacious table areas, All food is vegan

Cons: Irregular food hours, Menu taken off without warning

VickiWanSlattery

Points +1355

Vegan
15 Oct 2017

Hearty vegan pub grub, plus cakes - takeaway available

This was the nearest place to me yesterday, found it using Happy Cow!

Great central location.

Got a very reasonably priced, tasty chilli and bolognese for £10 to take away and also some vegan cupcakes, 3 for £5.

The chef was very friendly and welcoming, he took time to talk through options of what to buy and was very accommodating.

He also told me about the vegan group that meet up once per month and invited me to that too.

Pros: Friendly and welcoming staff , Sells vegan cakes , Reasonable prices

Cons: Dark inside , No parking outside

DelPickup69

Points +31

Vegan
07 Jul 2017

Belly busting great food

I found this place slightly hungover and very hungry, and after struggling to decide from all the options available I ordered the big vegan breakfast. It was fantastic, but I was unable to finish it, there was so much food. The food, the pub and the chef were great, I will be visiting Manchester again just so that I can go here and try the rest of the menu.

Pros: Excellent Food, So much choice, Great music

Sudokanji

Points +42

Vegan
20 Jun 2017

Fun and satisfying pub grub

Martin The Mod is friendly and down to earth. There are loads of options for the food and it's good value. I really like having a big veggie fry-up breakfast and a pint of beer with music in the background: the Thirsty Scholar is a relaxing and chilled place to eat. Martin's always happy to have a chat, making it feel really friendly. In fact, I'd taken my Italian family - they said "In here we are not foreigners, we are friends." What more can I say? Last time we were in I had a huge fried breakfast (which filled me up - glad I didn't go for the next size up!) Someone else had noodles and crispy tofu, another salad, and we all shared the biggest plate of chips I have ever seen. One of the best meals I had in the city centre.

Pros: Friendly, Good value, Comfort food

Cons: None

Alyson

Points +651

Vegan
19 Jun 2017

Vegan pub grub

A very friendly welcome from Martin the Mod the chef, when I visited with friends and family at the weekend. Something for everyone from the vegan pub meal menu, including a massive bowl of chips! Friend loved the vegan breakfast. Also has vegan cup cakes available - very tasty, but we were so full could only manage one to share!

Pros: Classic vegan pub grub, Friendly, Choice

CarolaMontagut

Points +40

Vegan
10 Mar 2017

Lugar pintoresco.

Típico pub inglés, con la singularidad que está debajo de un puente. Comida muy limitada, mayormente hamburguesas con patatas. El jefe muy simpático. Bien para comer rápido y barato en un típico pub inglés.

Dusty27

Points +137

Vegan
22 Sep 2016

Interesting

Cheap and cheerful, set in a bar, food not the greatest but cheap enough

Pros: Cheap, ok portions

Cons: no healthy options, a bit bland

dreamofhorses

Points +44

Vegan
11 Sep 2016

Vegan pub food

Fantastic customer service and staff when I visited. Really friendly and happy to advise with food orders. Menu is your typical pub food, beer and burger, etc but all 100% vegan! Vegan junk food, very generous portions. No health food here!

Pros: Friendly staff, Plenty of seating, Comfort food

Cons: Bit greasy-spoon esque - though could be a pro!

vegankitten_uk

Points +28

Vegan
28 Jan 2015

A manchester legend!

Mod the DJ and resident chef at the thirsty scholar takes pride in his cooking. Always makes generous portions so everyone is very satisfied after one of his meals.

The majority of his food is actually vegan. the only vegetarian thing he offers is a fried egg option on a full english breakfast! which are massive!

As a regular visitor I know that he will make adjustments to meals on request such as smaller portion or less spice if you ask at time of ordering.

He also offers a 'meat-free monday special' of rice and three for £5, or everything for £8, this is held from 4pm to 7pm most mondays except for bank holidays.

Pros: generous portions, variety, not too busy

Cons: can be noisy due to pub location, dull lighting - pub

blinki

Points +630

Vegan
03 Jan 2015

Good Food in a Good Pub

Only been the burger menu when I've been there but there's a good few options on there. I strongly suspect the burger I had was one of those packet mixes but it was still good. Nothing fancy but typical pub food done vegan, what's not to like?

Given the huge portion sizes I think it actually works out pretty cheap. The biggest size burger, chips, onion ring meal should really be considered two meals.

Mod is a nice guy and the bar staff are all friendly, the pub generally has a good feel to it.

KatherineParrish

Points +27

Vegetarian
03 Mar 2014

Great Sunday pick me up!

Hi there the text says lass ogowrie, but this has shut - but it's at the thirsty scholar where we went and had great vegan burger and chips there was a good choice of burger, also do big all day brekkie stuff and a chillie and a noodle option. great for beer too - felt like a student again. great friendly staff too.

Pros: can have beer too, friendly staff, good portions

Cons: not good if you don't like pubs

shirlveg

Points +16

Vegan
12 Nov 2013

Huge portions, small prices, friendly chef!

The chef at this veggie pub is also a DJ and is a totally friendly and cool guy! The portions were huge and the food tasty. Prices were great too. I will definitely return when I am in Manchester again!

BenGallagher

Points +49

Vegan
03 Oct 2013

Pretty cool

This place makes delicious bean burgers. The staff are friendly and helpful and it has a very nice atmosphere.

Pros: Friendly staff, Nice location, Good food

Cons: Early closing time for kitchen

ChelseaKeene13

Points +23

Vegan
04 Feb 2013

Mods - tasy fast food

I love Mods, just when you need a burger or toasty, lovely comfort food in great portions with some added humour from the man himself.

Pros: Good Quality, Good Quantity, Good Price

bencamps

Points +565

Vegan
29 Jan 2013

Gutted - No Chef!

I was really looking forward to visiting the Thirsty Scholar having read the earlier reviews. It wasn't to be as on my visit (25.01.13) the chef hadn't turned in to work - to be fair the roads were terrible because of snow. Great pub though, I won't be put off by this next time I'm in Manchester (probably about 5 years time) I'll definately go back. 4 cows for the vibe, friendlyness and good selection of beers and ciders....

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Manchester Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Mod's Vegan Cafe at the Thirsty Scholar closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 20885 times.