Beer/Wine
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Nice atmosphere. Usually offers a couple vegetarian options. Uses separate cooking surfaces for the meat and fish. Open Mon-Sat 11:00am-10:00pm, Sun 4:00pm-10:00pm.


Venue map for Mizuna
© OpenStreetMap contributors

21 Reviews

First Review by juliotnunes

montanagirl

Points +23

Vegetarian
12 May 2023

Lots of vegetarian options

Very good food, nice atmosphere! Great service. Wonderful dining experience.

Advertisement

inkedupvegan

Points +141

Vegan
18 Oct 2022

Great vegan options

Went to dinner with omnivore colleagues and everyone was happy. The ginger tofu salad was fantastic and the seared avocado entrée was good. There were a few more vegetarian dishes that really should have a vegan option.

Pros: Multiple vegan options, Vegan carrot cake dessert!

cjfussner

Points +998

Vegan
04 Sep 2022

Upscale Vegan Options

Wonderful service and great food! We were so pleased to have multiple options. The atmosphere and cocktails make it all the better. We had lentil soup, a mushroom risotto, and the special that day was a vegan mac and cheese which I had been craving!!

Pros: Craft cocktails , Multiple options, Nice atmosphere

mezmorv

Points +20

Vegan
24 Jul 2022

Excellent vegan selections for all four courses

Vegan choices were all really good. They have an entire vegetarian menu with selected items on it available vegan. (They also have a non-vegetarian menu.)

Pros: Entire vegetarian menu with vegan options (separa

JefMalpass

Points +28

Vegan
19 Mar 2022

GEG

Nice restaurant with a lot of options. Fine dining

Pros: Lots of options

Cons: Serve lamb

JudyStrickler

Points +23

Mostly Veg
27 Jun 2021

Better the first time

Went to Mizuna a couple of years ago and had an amazing slice of vegan meatloaf that I dreamt of for days afterwards. Upon our return post COVID, we were really disappointed by the quality of food and ambience for the price. Very expensive and didn’t leave us with a “wow” experience. Crossing it off our list of restaurants to enjoy.

Vissott

Points +407

Vegan
03 Feb 2020

Good vegan options

We visited Feb 1,2020. There are 2 separate menus-1 for meat eaters one for vegetarians and vegans. There were several vegan options. I had a vegan stew which was excellent. Hubby had the ‘meatloaf’ which came with a cheesy mash, so vegetarian. Both really excellent.

Pros: Good for mixed meat and veg eaters, Plenty of options

Cons: Quite pricey

sylfount

Points +13

Vegetarian
27 Jun 2019

Entire Vegan/Vegetarian Menu!!!

Many reviewers have missed the fact that Mizuna offers a completely separate vegetarian menu ( you must ASK for it!!! ) with many vegan options. This is a higher end, full service fine dining restaurant, that uses local farmers and ingredients... so yes, prices are a bit higher but food quality is high and ambience is beautiful. In summer, get a table on the patio.

Pros: outdoor dining, many vegan options, local farm to table ingredients

Cons: Can’t rate this 5 stars because Happy cow prevents

Ana-Michy

Points +37

Vegan
07 Mar 2019

Love love love Mizuna!

My daughter and I have loved Mizuna for years! It is our New Year's Eve dinner haunt before movies and fireworks downtown. The food is wonderful, the ambiance lovely and the vegan carrot cake is OUT OF THIS WORLD! Mizuna is where we go for special occasions because they have never let us down. We love you Mizuna! When we get moved back to Spokane, Mizuna is our first stop back to celebrate coming home! See you in December!
Ana-Michy & Emmeline

Pros: Vegan friendly! , Love the ambiance, Great for downtown walking

Cons: Hmmmm..., Thinking..., Could use more vegan options I suppose.

JulieEA

Points +2448

Vegan
09 Sep 2018

Not worth the price tag, but cool place downtown

I had heard a lot of Mizuna, but didn't feel like they offered particularly good service or vegan options. Yes, there are a few vegan things on the menu, but they are not clearly labeled, and the server said he "thought" they were vegan. I ended up having a super delicious soup (the best thing I ordered) that he KNEW was vegan, but the entree of "falafel" was just a piece of pita that was soggy with (a tasty) sauce, a few tomatoes, and pieces of falafel. Not particularly great presentation or sustenance considering the price tag. The vegan carrot cake for dessert was pretty good (great texture), but again, not worth the price tag. For the price, they should improve the amount and quality of food. I do think it would be a better place for just soup and cocktails or dessert and cocktails than for an actual lunch or dinner.

Pros: soup was delicious, had vegan cake

Cons: waitstaff was very aloof

blee

Points +24

Vegan
28 Aug 2017

Vegan

Downtown Spokane-- visiting-Vegan or not--I recommend= "Vegetarian Bouillabaisse"--- sooo nice to find a place w/ Vegan options & good too!! Service great, & not long wait for food-- little pricy, worth it!!

Pros: out-door seating option = very nice evening Aug.!

mkirkwag

Points +37

Vegetarian
09 Aug 2017

A very nice night out

Nice ambiance and great service. The man who served us was perhaps the best waiter I've ever encountered -personable, friendly but non-intrusive, prompt and best of all he helped with my dietary restrictions matter-of-factly and intelligently. He had options at the ready. We had a table for two near a wall with enough space between us and other diners to have some sense of privacy - a rarity!

The appetizers and main dishes were good, but didn't attain greatness. We chose Mizuna because of the vegetarian menu, so wished it had been just a little more flavorful than it was (we shared lettuce wraps and I had the tangine). I would be nice if the chef didn't depend on field roast so much. That said, it was still very good!

The desserts, on the other hand, were fabulous. My husband had key lime pie and loved it and I had a wonderful spicy, coconut-based ice cream with roasted pears that goes down in my personal annals of great food. We were celebrating an high-number anniversary and if we lived there, I'd go back (at least) every anniversary just for that dessert.

One comment - they list a lot of cheese on the vegetarian menu. If you're going to include cheese on a veggie menu, you should specify that it uses vegetable rennet, as vegetarians don't want to inadvertently eat meat. We need to be able to trust the menu.

Pros: Great Service and Good Ambiance, Lots of Options for GF, Vegan, Vegetarian, Fabulous Desserts

Cons: Not as flavorful as expected, Reliance on Field Roast , Vegan/Vegetarian Food Could Be More Creative

ArlainHickman

Points +22

Vegan
19 Jul 2017

MY FAVORITE FOOD IN SPOKANE

These Chefs know how to cook VEGAN! The cookware for vegan is separate from the meat dishes. The field roast is to die for. And don't forget to top it off with the carrot cake!

Pros: the atmosphere is as excellent as the food

Cons: slightly expensive but worth it!

veganhippiefreek

Points +62

Vegan
27 Oct 2016

longtime favorite

i've been going to mizuna since they opened back in late 90's, before i was even vegan actually...
the plates have always been excellent, & alison's carrot cake was one of those things that taught me how good vegan food can be, so glad she went on to open her own all vegan restaurant boots bakery & lounge...
even tho i don't live in spokane anymore, i still like to eat at mizuna every chance i get while visiting friends & relatives there...

Pros: great vegan options, alison's carrot cake

Cons: expensive, small servings, serves animal products

Dragonfrye

Points +92

Vegan
18 Sep 2015

good

Good vegan choices but expensive, can easily spend $50 on dinner for 2

sandykaren

Points +362

Vegan
14 Sep 2015

Nice place with good options

I ate here three times (two lunches and a dinner)during my five day work trip to Spokane. The lunches were better -- the vegan meatloaf sandwich was very good, albeit very messy! I ended up eating it with a fork lest it become part of my ensemble. The other lunch I had was their wrap (made with tofu instead of fish), which was also very good. At dinner, I had the risotto cakes, which sounded amazing, but sadly ended up being very bland and uninteresting. Still, the place was lovely and though the food takes a while (don't come if you are in a rush), the service is friendly. As far as I could tell, most places in Spokane use Small Planet tofu, which is a local brand I've never had. It was amazing. I'm a tofu fan, but never realized that tofu can actually have a wonderful flavor just sauteed, without all the usual manipulations (breaded, marinated, deep-fried, etc.). I'm sad I can't get it in the Bay Area!

Pros: Lovely atmosphere, Good vegan options, Small planet tofu is amazing

Cons: Slow

ASomerville

Points +508

Vegan
18 Feb 2015

Very Good

I wish this place was still all veg, but it's still a good option for a veg*n looking for a fancy meal downtown. Pricy, but the food backs that up. I'll be back.

Pros: Food quality, Service

Cons: Expensive

jenly

Points +205

Vegetarian
03 Jul 2013

It would have 5 stars if allowed

My family ate here last week at the beginning of our vacation in the area. There is a completely separate vegetarian menu and most of the items are vegan. My youngest child ate off the regular children's menu and had the tofu fried rice. One of my children had the eggplant/mushroom meatballs and another the grilled jerk tofu. My husband had the thai tempeh curry and I had a lasagna. Everything was excellent.

We also had some salads and other appetizers I am failing to remember, along with a couple of very good glasses of wine.

While the restaurant was pricy, this was the beginning of our vacation prior to our descent into the vegetarian wasteland that is Idaho. So for us it was money well spent.

Pros: excellent food, friendly staff, good selection of veg dishes

Cons: expensive, very busy

Nye

Points +29

Vegan
04 Sep 2009

Very nice

I gained a new appreciation for tofu after having their grilled tofu with quinoa and chimichurri. All of my omni companions were also quite happy with their meals as well. Worth a visit for sure.

Pros: very veg friendly, excellent food

Cons: pricey

vaunderbroad

Points +41

Vegetarian
09 Aug 2008

Mizuna is my favorite restaurant

Mizuna's used to be Spokane's only 100% vegetarian restaurant, (they found over the years that there wasn't enough support financially so they added a menu that has organic meat items) but the cool thing is they still have a veg menu, most of the staff is vegan, and very friendly. So when I go there I get the Vegetarian menu, if vegan just tell the waitstaff and they will make sure only vegan items will get to you. They have wine, beer, coffee drinks, and vegan desserts, they also make sure that the meat never cross contaminate's the veg dishes. It can be pricey, but the vegetarian menu is reasonable with the entrees averaging 11 dollars, I go there for soy mochas and organic carrot cake and it costs me ten dollars with tip. Easily Spokane's finest restaurant.

Pros: vegetarian menu and vegan friendly, vegan friendly, special holidy menus and live music

Cons: It's lost on this town, It's no longer 100% vegetarian

vaunderbroad

09 Aug 2008

oh, I forgot to mention, they have outside seating for the warmer months.

juliotnunes

Points +744

Vegan
03 Dec 2006

Mizuna

For my vegan friends.......there is a small selection of vegan food, but it is very good. There are a couple of vegan deserts that are good as well. It is a very classy place and it is somewhat a dressy and older crowd. The prices are a little high but well worth it.




This page has been viewed 7389 times.