Mingalabar Myanmar Restaurant

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 18 reviews )

Find

18, 71st Rd, Chan Aye Thar San Township (at btwn 28th & 29th), Mandalay, Myanmar

Serves meat, vegan options available. Offers traditional Myanmar curries, snacks, and sweets. Has veg dishes mostly as sides when you order your main veg curry. Cannot order from the buffet - have to order from allocated vegetarian menu.

Categories: Buffet, Burmese, Non-veg

18 Reviews

First Review by Choying

MiandJa

Points +137

Vegan
11 Oct 2020

Great

We were there 3x during our stay - always best service - great food - great price! Really impressive experience!

theplantbasedsoul

Points +514

Vegan
04 Mar 2020

Would go back again

Loved this place! Lots of options on designated vegetarian menu— English speaking staff able to assist with menu selection/knowledgeable on vegan items. Great deal for the amount of food you get— definitely come here on an empty stomach. We ended up taking a lot home with us.

Pros: Nice dining area, Friendly staff, Very tasty food

PatiRati

Points +59

Vegetarian
17 Feb 2020

Surprise surprise

We only ordered 1 curry and 1 salad but got 2 soups each and 8 different side dishes (for 2 people). All of them vegan, even though we didn't ask for that, and delicious. One of our favourite restaurants in Myanmar. Come here hungry!

Pros: Lots of surprises, cheap

Cons: Way too much if you aren't hungry

Advertisement

PilarZambrano

Points +26

Vegan
24 Jan 2020

So many vegan opinions

Way to good to put it into words

EstherKool

Points +434

Vegan
23 Jan 2020

Tourist group restaurant, food is okay

This is a restaurant that attracts large tourist groups. The place is huge. Lots of waiters running around, but they are friendly. The food was good, but nothing special. Had the tea leaf salad with beans and nuts. It was good, but quite small.

Pros: Friendly staff

Cons: Big tourist restaurant

VeganMarine

Points +276

Vegan
29 Dec 2019

Vegan backpacker

Good food, great value. This should be a must stop for dinner. Initially you see 5000k entree meal and think "hmm okay" then get all the rice you want and atleast three to four sides as well as some fresh veggies. Can't beat it. Legit stuffed. Had tow different types of bean curry, both were great. Definitely go with an appetite.

Pros: Great portions of food

tellurictravels

Points +239

Vegan
10 Nov 2019

Best Service in Mandalay

Would give 5* if I could. Great service from all staff members. Whole vegetarian menu to choose from and the staff speak such good English and understand the term vegan very well. They made sure all of our free dishes (soup, sides etc) were all vegan. Cannot believe how much free extras you get here and such a good value for money. Food was super yummy and the extras gave us a chance to try lots of food we otherwise wouldn’t have.

Pros: Speak very good English, Great service , Lots of local dishes to try

EnmarShaked

Points +92

Vegan
13 Aug 2019

Great Place

This restaurant serves local food for tourists. The ambiance is really nice, staff is friendly and understands the meaning of vegan. Dishes are great.

Pros: Thank

Lucie&Jack

Points +278

Vegan
12 Feb 2019

Lovely food

We really enjoyed eating here! The bean curry was so delicious and they bring free sides as well! The manager was so helpful when we told him we were vegan, and when he bought over the food, he repeated that all food we order was vegan as he put it in front of us! And they top up your rice if needed. PLUS, after the meal, they bought free snacks for after!

Pros: Lovely staff, Busy, good atmosphere, Good price!

Vanietti

Points +115

Vegan
09 Aug 2018

Super tasty food + very nice staff

We had dinner here today and will be back tomorrow. They have several vegan options m. We had two different pulses curries and they were both tasty. Curries come with the traditional Burmese sides: MANY MANY veggies, all of them fresh and delicious. Thus, be careful not to order too much food: portions are big!
Staff is super friendly and will help veganize your meal. Highly recommended!!!

Pros: Super tasty veggies, Many vegan options, Friendly and helpful staff

Cons: none

SabAroundTheWorld

Points +51

Vegan
19 Apr 2018

Good food, large portions

A bit more expensive than other restaurants, but they more than make up for it in quantity. Main dish comes with lots of very filling side dishes, so be hungry when you go! Tasty food, very attentive staff, good wifi.

Pros: Quality and quantity

Cons: It can be quite hot (fans fans can't quite compete

Mariannes

Points +90

Vegan
07 Apr 2018

a lot of food :)

When you order a dish, it comes with soup, rice and sideorders. I had to specify being vegan, which it took them a while to figure out, but the food was delicious and there was so much of it! The sidedishes were however not all vegetarian so make sure when they place the six (!) different sidedishes on your table :) They keep filling up everything as well, so make sure you’re hungry :)

Emilykmiec

Points +242

Vegan
29 Aug 2017

Best food in Mandalay!

Went here twice while we were in Mandalay. The first time we went we didn't realize how much food comes with your main dish, so don't go nuts and order heaps of mains like we did! We got free starter soup, the 5 little side dishes, and dessert, as well as the numerous curries we ordered, and all of the food was unreal.

Staff are really friendly and you can just tell them you're veggie and they get you. One time we got fish sauce on the side like another reviewer, and the other we didn't get any. The food was so good here I'd give it 5 stars if I could.

Pros: Delicious food, Nice staff, Sweet air con

Cons: None

TJ

Points +189

Vegan
12 Aug 2017

Good food

The veg option is typical Burmese style where you choose a main dish, and it comes served with an assortment of side dishes (salad, pumpkin, mixed veg, eggplant, roasted peanuts), rice, and soup. Staff are very all very friendly and helpful, after reading the reviews I explained how I didn't want any fish sauce in my dishes... so instead they gave me a separate plate with fish sauce and shrimp paste (it's the thought that matters, and at least they understood not to put it inside haha).

Pros: nice atmosphere , friendly staff, reasonably priced

KylaJack

Points +257

Vegan
07 Aug 2017

delicious authentic Burmese food - and so much of it!

This restaurant is a real gem with very friendly and attentive waiters. The menu has a small selection of about 5 vegetarian main dishes but they come with rice, soup and a number of side dishes. Some of these had fish sauce but they checked each dish with us and just gave us what we could eat- including some raw vegetables, an aubergine dish, a white bean dish and a fermented dish that we think was soya bean! We ordered one starter, one salad and one main but were both given everything that came with the main. Lovely fresh juices too! Really recommend this place - would have given 5 stars but Happy Cow doesn't let you give more than 4 for a non vegetarian place!

RachelPana

Points +152

Vegan
23 Jul 2017

So much food!

Amazing service with great English, so much food and a full understanding of what vegetarian is! The side dishes are great.

Pros: lots of food, cheap

Cons: check for fish sauce

MariaS

Points +24

Vegan
10 Apr 2017

Very good

Plenty of choices - including vegetarian and vegan options. In addition to the vegetarian menu, waiters are very attentive and helpful. I went there with a meat eating friend, told them I'm vegan and they recommended a dish from the main menu, offered to prepare all side / complimentary dishes without fish sauce and explained the ingedrients to us constantly.
Main dishes come with complimentary fresh herbs and salad, small portions of traditional vegetable curries and dessert. I loved it!

Choying

Points +42

Vegetarian
22 Oct 2016

Overbearing smell of fish sauce

They did have a vegetarian menu but most of the side dishes that came contained a lot of fish sauce. Avoid the spicy mushroom at all costs. For me the overwhelming smell of fish sauce in the whole restaurant was hugely off putting.

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Mandalay Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Mingalabar Myanmar Restaurant closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2509 times.