• Milan Sweet Centre

  • (9)
    9
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Indian
Take-out

Vegetarian Indian sweets shop and restaurant. Offers some vegan savories and hot food including samosas, pakoras, chevda, curry, dohra. Open Mon-Sun 09:00-20:00.


Venue map for Milan Sweet Centre
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by jezhiggins

AndrewGrendale

Points +121

Vegetarian
23 Aug 2023

Good takeaway

Very reasonable prices for an excellent dhal, chilli paneer, chole tikki, rotis etc

Pros: Good prices, Authentic Indian cuisine

Advertisement

philwky

Points +2827

Vegan
22 Feb 2023

Great Food, Great Prices

Been meaning to eat from here for a long time, and called in earlier to pick up a variety of food and I was not disappointed! The portion sizes are incredibly generous for the prices. Such varying flavours, and recommend everything I tried.

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-22

NickHollingsworth

Points +27

Vegan
05 Apr 2022

Milan - Good food, Cheap Prices.

Milan is a smallish corner shop selling some very nice vegetarian sweets and savouries. Their range of sweets has all the usual suspects you expect to find in an asian sweet centre. Their savouries include a lot of things that you don't see on the menus of the many nearby balti houses such as Dahi Vada, a lentil dumpling in a yogurt sauce. Hot savouries such as samosa are cooked while you wait and not simply warmed up. They also sell a smaller range of premade curries.

From recent experience I recommend the Pani Puri. These are light hollow pastry shells that you fill with sauce. Milan sell it with a tamarind sauce that is quite excellent.

Don't be put off by the fact that Milan is called a sweet centre, their range of savouries and curries is wide enough to build a fair number of meals from.

Prices are very good. Milan is a shop and so noticeably cheaper than buying the same things as a take-away starter from a restaurant.

Finally, jezhiggins is correct when he says GUEST's review is a fake or a mistake. Milan is a shop not a restaurant and GUEST could not have eaten an 'old' meal there. I've bought a lot of food from them over many years and have never had cause to complain about the quality.

Updated from previous review on 2008-11-02

Pros: Sells nice stuff cheap

Cons: Sometimes very busy (because its good)

SiobhanSophia

Points +30

Vegan
17 Jan 2021

Amazing food. Lovely staff. So much vegan choice.

Great experience. Helpful and informative staff.

Pros: Lots of options, Amazing value for money

BroccoliLover

Points +16

Vegan
16 Aug 2020

My favourite Indian place!

Best samosas ever, very clean inside, lots of vegan savouries and curry options as well, favourite place for Indian takeaways!

Pros: Great value for money

SaulMathiesonBlake

Points +72

Vegan
19 Aug 2018

My favourite Indian food

Really nice authentic Indian curries and snacks. Not tried any of the sweet stuff as don’t think it’s vegan but the curries are amazing. The Manchurian is my favourite

Pros: Good value for money, Tastes lush

Cons: Not great on the plastic waste

shimself

Points +24

Mostly Veg
04 Sep 2013

super top number one

The Milan has been an institution, adored by everyone since they opened about 40 years ago.
It's called a sweet centre, but like most people I ignore that and go for the amazing selection of savories, pakora etc. I'll buy a bag of mixed pakora (do include the patra), which comes with sauces/dips, heated if you want. I do like dohra, which looks like a sponge cake but isn't. They have an extraordinay range of bombay mix kind of snacks.
The whole place is veggie, they understand vegan.

They've now installed a sort of breakfast bar with 4? stools so you can sort of eat in.

The map on this website isn't right, I've told happycow, but for now google maps/gps will show you correctly given the postcode.

If you have a chance, you owe it to yourself to go there.

iamere

Points +155

Vegan
10 Feb 2012

greatest somosas in town

Luckily for me, I live right around the corner from Milan, so have lots of opportunity to sample their delights of which it has plenty.
When ever at home and fancying a nice snack without having to cook, Milan makes a great stop. The somosas are amazingly nice, stuffed to the high heavens with veggies and fried to perfection.
Likewise, there are many other treats in store once you brows the counter.
The staff are well clued up on veganism and are happy to advise on all the dairy free options, of which there are a good number.
They also do mass take away too, so if you want a big box with a nice selection, it is easy to negotiate a price with them. They are happy to accommodate.

Pros: excellent food, informative, helpful staff, conviently located by my house

Cons: no parking, check opening hours

jezhiggins

Points +13

Vegetarian
17 Oct 2008

Top place

Milan's is primarily a sweet shop, but it also does a small but rather terrific menu of savouries. Their aubergine curry is particularly good, as is the chana. They had a pretty enormous range of samosas and pakoras too. The food is good, fresh, and extremely reasonably priced. It's the only takeaway place I use.

The other review here must about some other place - there is no eat-in at Milans.

Pros: Fresh, cheap, yummy

Cons: Queues can be long, Service can sometimes be a bit offhand




This page has been viewed 6832 times.