Get the HappyCow App

HappyCow mobile application
The App Stores #1 vegetarian and vegan restaurant guide
80,000+ listings across the globe
Featured on CNN, NY Times, and Wall Street Journal
Download the app

© HappyCow 2018

Midway Cafe and Coffee Bar

  • Veg-options Veg-options
    ( 8 reviews )
Contact
305-664-2622
Find

80499 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, Florida, USA, 33036

Serves meat, vegan options available. This Upper Florida Keys cafe offers veggie choices like a hummus wrap, veggie wrap, portabella mushroom sandwich, and breakfast items with eggs served all day. One vegan wrap. Serves fair trade coffee. Uses recyclable cups and plates.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, American, Take-out, Non-veg

8 Reviews

First Review by nancyisorganic

tippietoes40

Contributions +34

Vegetarian
30 Aug 2018

Great choices - Edit

We cycled up twice whilst on vacation, each time we had a great meal. Good choices for a variety of dietary needs. I had the mushroom sandwich which was delicious, and avocado toasts too.

Pros: Vegetarian choices, Vegans accommodated at request , Relaxed atmosphere

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

akweaver79

Contributions +98

Vegan
23 May 2018

Options on vacation! - Edit

Glad we stopped here on our way out the the Keys. We had a mushroom wrap and hummus wrap. Very good! Order at the counter and they will deliver to your table.

Pros: Quick service

Cons: Lots of plain white rice in mushroom wrap

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

keaneferretti

Contributions +20

Vegan
29 Aug 2017

Great spot with vegan options. - Edit

We had the portobello wrap and the vegan wrap. Great flavor. The coffee with almond milk wasn't sweet but so smooth, no sugar was needed.

Pros: Great but few options. Staff understood vegan "nee

Cons: More food options would be great.

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

MariahHughes

Contributions +30

Vegan
18 May 2017

Great steel cut oatmeal and lots of non dairy milk. - Edit

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

pheasance

Contributions +170

Vegan
01 Dec 2015

We Left Most of Our Meals on Our Plates - Edit

We were so excited to read about this option while en route out of the keys. Location was very convenient, and the decor is really cute and fun. Worth a visit for the gift shop alone. Staff were friendly and helpful. The vegan options were pretty limited without having to ask a lot of questions. I ordered the vegan wrap, which sounded delicious in the description but was so bland and disappointing. It was basically leaves, tomatoes, and a few chickpeas in vinegar and oil. I couldn't see or taste any herbs or spices in the "vinaigrette." We also had the portabello and rice wrap, which was similarly lacking in seasoning. Not sure if these are folks who think vegan food is supposed to be tasteless, but we don't share that view. The sides of pickle and garlic pita chips were delicious, in marked contrast.

Pros: Adorable surroundings, One of few options in the FL Keys, Great pita chips and pickles

Cons: Very few clearly labeled vegan options, Bland food

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

veggylvr

Contributions +131

Vegan
02 Nov 2015

Cute Cafe - Very Vegetarian-Friendly! - Edit

The Midway Café is an adorable café in Islamorada, FL, with a tropical, colorful atmosphere. Offers plenty of dishes for vegetarians and vegans. There is a delicious hummus wrap, hot veggie wrap, black bean burger, portabello sandwich, and much more. All wraps can also be made into sandwiches on their homemade bread. They serve breakfast all day and offer an array of sweet treats and various types of coffee. I live in the upper Keys, and I consider this one of the best places to eat, with the broadest selection of vegan and vegetarian options. My husband enjoys their non-veg dishes, so it's easy to please everyone here.

Pros: Great Selection, Nice atmosphere, Reasonable Prices

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

CRVeg

Contributions +71

Vegan
27 Jun 2013

Great find - Edit

Conveniently located halfway(literally) down the Keys. Has vegetarian (lacto and ovo only) options. A great place for breakfast. One of the few places were a vegetarian can eat comfortably on Marathon. A shout-out to the Sea Turtle hospital on Marathon http://www.turtlehospital.org/blog/.

Pros: Vegetarian Options, Fast Service, Open earlier than most

Cons: Not Vegan friendly

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

nancyisorganic

Contributions +73

Vegetarian
15 Mar 2010

Great little island find! - Edit

This colorful cafe was such a treasure to find along the Keys where there is not much veggie fare. They have great breakfast items but lots of wraps that can be made vegetarian for lunch. Great stop over for lunch if you're making the beautiful scenic drive from Miami to Key West.

Pros: atmosphere, location, eco-friendly

Cons: serves meat, a little small

Comment avatar

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Islamorada Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Midway Cafe and Coffee Bar closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2249 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support