11
  • Mid City Grill

  • (28)
    12
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
American
Fast food
Delivery
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Standard American food but with separate vegan menu including dishes like grilled tofu sandwich, veggie burger, and pizza. Open Tue-Sat 11:00am-3:00pm, Tue-Wed 5:00pm-4:00am, Thu-Sat 5:00pm-5:00am.


Venue map for Mid City Grill
© OpenStreetMap contributors

28 Reviews

First Review by Guy Dude Man

lovebug7290

Points +31

Vegan
09 Aug 2023

AAA FANTASTIC

We eat here weekly. A new vegan sandwich offered every week always awesome 👏

Advertisement

SamBarlow

Points +48

Vegan
16 Jun 2023

Vegan haven!

THE best place in JC for vegan dining! A full vegan menu that includes appetizers, burgers, sandwiches, and dessert! Their vegan fried "chicken" sandwich is amazing. And if you are blessed enough to encounter their pina coloda cupcake...get it!

The vibe here is cool and the staff is awesome. My husband and I visit everytime we are in the area! Wish I could give 5 stars!

Pros: Full vegan menu, Cool vibe , Dessert!!!

rKeeling75

Points +43

Vegan
24 Mar 2023

Great little dive

Laid back, friendly staff and options for me (vegan) and my wife (vegan-friendly).

Pros: Best vegan burger in the area, Lots of food

Cons: Lots of food

DustinM

Points +100

Vegan
11 Mar 2022

Vegan menu

They have a whole vegan menu here. This place is my favorite option in Johnson City…maybe the world!

Pros: It’s amazing

WfoodVegan

Points +20

Vegan
22 Dec 2021

Great Vegan Menu

Mid City Grill is known for it great burgers, but for us who don't eat animal products, they have a whole menu devoted vegan food! I had thr portobello sandwich on a vegan pretzel bun. It was the best sandwich I have had! Service was not just excellent, but our waiter made it fun!

Pros: Vegan menu

Cons: The area can be a little sketchy at night

JSteen

Points +70

Vegan
15 Sep 2021

We loved it!

Hallelujah for a full vegan menu!!!!!!!!!

bamabirders

Points +16

Vegan
26 Jun 2021

We concur…highly recommend!

My husband and I ordered takeout on our way to Roan Mountain to do some hiking and birding. We both got the Philly cheesesteak and fries. (We skipped the vegan mayo.) Both were hot and fresh and delicious. We don’t eat fries often so when we splurge we want them to be fresh cut and fried right. These did not disappoint. Double fried and crispy. We would definitely stop here again if we are anywhere near Johnson City.

Pros: Fresh cooked, Friendly staff, Fries were craveworthy

AditiSurma

Points +24

Vegan
26 Mar 2021

One of our favorites in tri cities region

A restaurant with a full vegan menu! I've been going here for couple of years now and have noticed their vegan game taken up a notch. Besides having a full vegan menu, they have a weekly vegan special. Here are some of our family special - vegan fried chicken sandwich, vegan Philly cheese steak, garbage fries for sides and gravity burger.

Pros: A full vegan menu, weekly vegan special, Vegan desert available often

Cons: Service hours

fortheanimals99

Points +28

Vegan
24 Dec 2020

im from up north and...

Their vegan menu is of a decent size and that's a blessing in this area. I was skeptical about getting a Philly cheesesteak because prior to going vegan I'd had "philly" cheesesteaks around here and they're usually not good. That being said, the seitan philly cheesesteak I got was better than any cruelty based cheesesteak I've ever had in my life. Everything about it was delicious! The mayo was amazing, the cheese absolutely blew me away in terms of flavor and consistency but, of course the seitan was the star of the show. It's taste and texture is exactly like shaved beef minus that unpleasant chewing you'll get with pieces of gristle. The fried banana peppers were so good- you have to try them and the ranch they come with is stellar. Their fries are also very tasty and my brother and fiance said their burgers were incredible and the best burgers they'd had in a really long time. I specifically heard the words "better than beef". The prices aren't bad at all imo and they deliver. Both the patient representative on the phone and my driver were very nice as well. Was delivered in a very timely fashion despite the pandemic and it being Christmas time. Basically, they're awesome and I can't recommend them enough.

Pros: plenty of vegan options, reasonable delivery times, delicious food

mrsbelva

Points +276

Vegan
07 Oct 2020

great vegan grub available

We are so grateful to have Mid-City in town. Delicious vegan menu items including desserts!!!

Pros: wide variety of vegan options, Dedicated vegan menu, Creative food with weekly specials

veganhubby

Points +1022

Vegan
10 Jan 2020

Vegan Comfort Food

What a great place in an area with little choices. A whole vegan menu. Had the fried pickles. So good. Make sure you get the vegan ranch for dipping. They goofed on mine at first but corrected it. Had the Philly Cheesesteak and it was yummy. Cheesy. Messy. And tender. Just like it should be. Had the garbage fries. It’s a must. Messy and cheesy. Like it should be. Would come again if I was in the area. Highly recommend!!!

Pros: Price, Menu selection, Taste

Cons: None

sluther

Points +17

Mostly Veg
02 Dec 2019

Good selection

Really good food with lots of choices

Pros: Lots of options, Great location

starkitten

Points +64

Vegan
11 Sep 2019

My go to place for vegan food

I love Mid-City! They have a separate vegan menu which is awesome. Their saucy sauce and homemade ranch is out of this world! They do have beyond burgers if you prefer that but I like their homemade vegan burgers better. The panko breaded portobello is a the appetizer I usually go for. Definitely a must if you’re visiting JC!

Pros: Several vegan options, Friendly Staff, Excellent food

Nikki123

Points +32

Vegan
15 Jul 2019

Wonderful

I wish I could give it 5 stars! They have a separate vegan menu which is awesome. I love the vegan grilled cheese and fries with vegan ranch! It’s the best!

PixieMel

Points +740

Vegan
14 Jul 2019

5 stars!

I'd definitely give this restaurant 5 stars if that were an option (only vegan restaurants can be rated 5 stars on HC).

It's a small, cutesy diner and I loved that about it. They were playing awesome 80s music. My husband and I really enjoyed that.

We ordered unsweet tea (which was very well made) and started with an app of vegan garbage fries. These were the best vegan chili cheese fries I've had in my 10 years of vegan food. And the ranch is good enough to eat all on its own.

My husband ordered the vegan big sexy with a Beyond patty and it was delicious. He also got a side of fried banana peppers and they were quite a treat.

I ordered a salad and it was good but I probably won't get it again. There wasn't much to it. I would have been happier with a sandwich or burger and a side salad. Regardless, I'm still very happy with our experience.

Pros: Great service!, Separate vegan menu, Amazing vegan ranch!

jsevern

Points +40

Vegetarian
07 Jul 2019

Best vegan burgers ever!

An entire vegan menu is more than most vegans dream of getting in most omnivore restaurants, but this restaurant goes beyond just having more than a few vegan options to prepare amazing tasty vegan options that match or exceed the offerings of hi-end vegan offerings. The food isn’t fancy—it’s mostly vegan burgers with various additions to make a wide array of flavors—but everything is cooked nicely and served up with a variety of sides (fries, sweet potato fries, salads, and more. The space is simple and homey where families, singles, and couples all dined together companionably. The great thing about a restaurant where everyone can eat together and well regardless of diets is what we need more of if we are going to convince others that vegan isn’t weird or strange or foreign. In a perfect world there would just be vegan restaurants, but until that day restaurants like this one gives us all a great place to eat together.

Mary06

Points +122

Vegan
28 Jun 2019

Amazing!

Amazing food that comes with a separate vegan menu. The burgers are out of this world and the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. The prices are also fair and you get a lot for what you buy. Highly recommend going and trying the garbage fries if your in town!

Pros: Lots of Vegan Options , Separate Menu, Knowledgeable/Friendly Staff

Scottvegan

Points +16

Vegan
09 May 2019

So worth it!!!

On a business trip found them here on the app. I highly recommend the garbage vegan fries! I got the Caliente Burger and I will just warn you now if you're not ready for spicy don't go that route! Overall there the food was excellent and Whitney my server was great!

Pros: Full vegan menu lots of options

Cons: Honestly none

cc7038

Points +52

Vegan
24 Jul 2018

Great Vegan Menu

Has a completely separate vegan menu. Portions are huge. The garbage fries are life changing. Great place for vegans and their non vegan friends.

Pros: lots of vegan options , huge portions , great prices

supertonya

Points +150

Vegan
29 May 2018

Perfect vegan food right off The A.T.

Wow I can’t believe I just ate delicious vegan chili fries in Johnson City Tennessee! I highly recommend Mid City Grill, great food and many vegan options in a small town.

Pros: Location, Variety , Great Taste

Cons: None, None , None

Chellecann

Points +15

Vegetarian
26 May 2018

Love the options

Love this place! So nice to have a whole vegan menu and a good selection of options.

ldifiore

Points +218

Vegan
22 Jan 2018

Finally!

So glad I finally checked this place out - it's so nice to have a whole menu just for vegans! The place is pretty cool - BYOB & Johnny Cash/Patsy Cline playing in the background. Food is very good - not super healthy but c'mon. We all need vegan garbage fries every now & then! Service was great & the Oreo cheesecake was delicious. I will be back!

Pros: One whole menu for vegans, good prices, tasty food

TiffanyBinikos

Points +78

Vegan
01 Oct 2016

TO Die FOR

Mid-City Grill is awesome! First of all, really grateful to have a place in Johnson City where I can get amazing vegan options on a regular basis. The grilled tofu sandwich is my favorite, I could literally eat it everyday. Super large portions (especially the hand-cut fries!) so definitely worth the price. This is not a chain restaurant, but they have all the perks of one including online ordering. The only thing I hate is that they only open evenings to early morning so I have to go somewhere else for a lunch option. Staff is super friendly and I always get great service for both dine in and take out. If you are a vegan in the Tri-Cities, Mid-City Grill is a MUST!

Pros: Friendly Staff, Generous Portions, Food is amazing!

Cons: Odd Hours, Wish they made vegan dessert too!

TiffanyBinikos

27 Jul 2017

UPDATE: Mid-City is adding limited time additional vegan dishes on rotation including a Memphis smokehouse vegan burger, vegan Aztec burger with green chile, and a vegan Philly cheesesteak. Plus, new vegan desserts including cheesecake, fried apple pie, and cookie balls. Check out their facebook to see the dishes available on rotation.

RedheadedR

Points +233

Vegan
07 Aug 2015

late night vegan option

I've had both the marinated tofu sandwich and the Unburger- both were good! The Unburger was served with a pita and a bit hard to eat as it didn't hold together very well. The tofu sandwich had tons of great things on it- avocado, sprouts,lettuce and tomato. Tons of fries with both. Not a fancy place in the least- friendly staff. Lots of fried bar food- most of menu is meat also- but not bad to have 2 vegan sandwiches and a tofu salad in this area!

Jenthevegan13

Points +39

Vegan
01 Mar 2014

Love this local spot! Lots of veg options!

As a vegan, I am so thankful to have Mid City in my hometown. They are one of the only locally owned restaurants that offer vegetarian and vegan options.

We also get the tofu sandwich and fries. They fry all the vegetarian and vegan food separate from the meat to respect everyone's dietary needs. The tofu is seasoned and cooked to perfection and the tomato bun in always amazing. The house sauce is vegan and delicious. They have a maybe one other vegan options and several other vegetarian options... Lots of vegan starters like fried pickles, banana peppers and my fav-- the fried mushrooms.

Every now and then they even offer a vegan dessert. Hoping they bring that back or make it a regular staple.

It's a very casual spot more focused on late-night dining.. You can bring your own alcohol. Staff is always friendly and fun. Good value- large portions. Would definitely recommend stopping in or getting take out. They also deliver.

Pros: Vegan & vegetarian options, Fry and cook meat away from veg food, Local, independently owned

Cons: Needs more vegan options, Needs a vegan dessert every night, Atmosphere is just okay

Farmaroundthebend

Points +211

Vegan
09 Nov 2013

Vegan options, locally owned & BYOB

Love this place! First of all it's not a chain, it is BYOB and they have some vegan options. My husband and I get the potabello fingers & the get-saucy sauce which is house-made and fabulously tangy. We split the tofu sandwich and the un-burger. They also have vegan cheesecake on occasion, albeit rare. This isn't the healthiest place but it's great when you wanna go eat some great tasting food! It's budget friendly as it's BYOB. It's open super-late (like 4a.m. Or so). Also has delivery to immediate area.

Pros: BYOB , Vegan friendly , Budget friendly

Cons: Greasy, noisy/crowded when folks leave local bar, Not the healthiest place- but delicious!

Frannie M.

Points +20

Vegan
28 Oct 2011

Vegan and Vegetarian Friendly!!!

The grilled tofu sandwich at Mid-City Grill is always fantastic. MId City is THE most vegan friendly restaurant in Johnson City, TN. The various flavors of hummus available, the aforementioned grilled tofu sandwich, the un-burger, and the portabello mushroom fingers are all great choices. They also will do vegan fried pickles, and banana peppers!! Occasionally they even have vegan desserts! The hours of operation are great too-- open into the wee hours of the morning. It is a great place to take a group, and byob!! Good and delicious times!!

Pros: great vegan choices, you can bring your own alcoholic beverag, open all night!




This page has been viewed 7523 times.