Vegan-friendly
Lacto
American
Mexican
Fusion
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Mexican tapas style street food and cocktails with labeled vegan choices. Has seitan, tofu, and vegan cheese. Vegan dishes include Mexican classics such as nachos and soft tacos, and cauliflower wings. Closing February 24th. Open Tue-Thu 17:00-22:00, Fri 12:00-23:00, Sat 12:00-00:00.


Venue map for Mexico 70
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by Nicola.W

MellyFratelli

Points +355

Vegan
08 Feb 2024

#tacosandmargs

In memoriam. Arguably one of my top 3 places to eat between Sunderland and Durham. But what the taco gods giveth, the taco gods taketh away. Is there a single other taco place south of Newcastle that does any tacos, let alone vegan tacos? I don't think so. Rest in Peace M70, you were a real one.

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-01

Advertisement

EddyMaya

Points +577

Vegan
29 Jan 2024

Fusion tacos

We visited Mexico 70 one evening before heading to the football at the Stadium of Light. It is a nice little place but doesn't have too many covers so I'd recommend booking. What it does have is lots of vegan options - half of the tacos are vegan, as are three-quarters of the side dishes. A rare find in meat-friendly Sunderland!

The menu has been updated recently, so not everything mentioned in some of the older reviews is currently available. So sadly no more loaded fries....but there are some good options nonetheless. Don't expect authentic Mexican fayre as the taco fillings draw on other cuisines too - for example, there are onion bhaji tacos, Korean-inspired tacos and BBQ jackfruit tacos. My favourites were the buffalo cauliflower tacos - delicious!

Although I really enjoyed it, I did feel it was a bit pricey with each individual taco costing around £6. Expect to spend £50 or so for two people (excluding drinks) given that you'll need three tacos each & at least a couple of sides to share to fill you up.

UPDATE: Just heard that they'll be closing next month. Last day will be 24 February. Enjoy those tacos while you still can!

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-20

Pros: Lots of vegan choices , Friendly staff, Tasty tacos

Cons: A bit over-priced

Nicola.W

Points +111

Vegan
18 Nov 2023

The food is very good!

I’ve eaten here a number of times over the years, most recently a couple of nights ago. The food was great as were the cocktails. We visited as a couple and had 4 tacos, the vegan fries option and two sides between us.

I totally recommend Mexico 70 for vegan options. There’s a good range of choice, it’s in the city centre and it’s not too expensive. So a mega win! I do recommend booking as if there’s something on at the theatre nearby it can get very busy.

Updated from previous review on 2018-07-07

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Fresh tapas style food

Viviennewonderland

Points +70

Vegan
06 Aug 2023

THE best vegan food in Sunderland

I have been to Mexico 70 more times than I can count. The food is incredible. Tacos and Loaded Fries plus the sides are amazing. I can’t recommend it enough. I would give it 5 stars if I could but it’s not fully vegan so it won’t let me hahaha
This is a Taco restaurant FYI, not a Mexican restaurant

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-06

Pros: Food, Service , Vibes

Cons: Wish it was fully vegan

jojo1404

Points +16

Vegan
22 Aug 2022

Tacos

Fab vegan options, good price

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Nice cocktails

Cons: Lacks seasoning at times

Coeliacsquirrel

Points +170

Vegan
30 Jul 2022

Well worth a visit

Although not a veggie restaurant, there are always 6 vegan tacos to choose from &, for once, as much thought & imagination has gone into these as the non veggie options. And, if you go on a Monday, all veggie/vegan tacos are half price. Been here several times & never been disappointed.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Great setting & vibe , Fantastic cocktails

CarlyDorothy

Points +48

Vegan
08 Jul 2019

Delicious!

The tacos are beautiful, very tasty and one of them (I think it was the Teriyaki) was very similar to meat, it may put some off but it was amazing! The hot wings were also very tasty and the waitress was lovely and friendly!

xobman

Points +39

Vegetarian
08 Jun 2019

Laid back Mexican dining and cocktails

Great atmosphere, friendly staff and laid back setting. A good selection of veggie and vegan options. Food is authentic and cocktails are sublime.

Pros: Great food and a bit different., Good vegan and veggie selection., Cocktails!

hack_man

Points +23068

Vegan
13 May 2019

Guadalajara Times

A great choice for some pre-match beers and vegan food. 4 bottles of Corona for a tenner was an instant winner, the only one of the day unfortunately. My Happy Cow colleague Dead Pledge and I ploughed through two lots of utterly delicious cauliflower wings coated in a spicy BBQ sauce, four tacos from the vegan menu as well as some fries contributed by our meat eating compadres. I had the baja tofu taco which was a battered chunk of tofu served with seaweed and salsa and a soy chorizo taco with pineapple salsa, crispy potato and guacamole. I was very impressed indeed, left some Happy Cow stickers and walked out with a smile on my face. I think I may have found my favourite veg friendly venue in Sunderland.

Pros: Vegan menu, Cool interior , Great retro vibes

Cons: Meat of course

deadpledge

Points +11354

Vegan
28 Apr 2019

Hack_man and I

Who would have thought it, Mexican tacos pre-match, but that's exactly what I experienced with my happy cow vegan comrade hack_man. The menu was appetising and after much deliberation four tacos, two bbq cauliflower wings and a round of coronas were ordered for just over £11 each. The cauliflower wings with spicy bbq sauce were sublime, whilst the marinated lime and garlic jackfruit carnitas with pink onions and coriander were both refreshing and very tasty. My final Korean taco with avocado puree and hot sriracha sauce was also flavoursome. Nice staff, nice atmosphere. I would definitely return again.

Pros: Great food, Nice vibe and staff, Inexpensive

Cons: Serves meat

tofu_panda

Points +430

Vegan
24 Nov 2018

Has vivbes but no flavour

Came here after hearing about the place on Facebook. Good location opposite the theatre. The place has a nice vibe, but does not accept reservations. Most of the menu is "tapas" snack style from various tortillas or loaded nachos or fries. As we were after something different we ordered a few vegan choices. They were all garnished nicely but just luke warm and the tofu was too chewy. We found a lack of flavor all round and the padron peppers was a joke - not oil drizzle and zero flavor. We were still hungry despite ordering quite a few dishes.

Pros: good location

Cons: Not hot food, small snacks, lacks flavour

crashingwaves

Points +142

Vegan
28 Aug 2018

Vegan nachos

The vegan nachos were great. The used a tomatillo based salsa which I never see around here. I was also impressed that they did not use a bought in vegan cheese, it appeared to be some kind of potato or cashew based cheese. Didn’t care for the vegan chorizo on the nachos though.

MouthyMackem

Points +638

Vegan
07 Aug 2018

The cauliflower buffalo wings are really nice but very spicy.

The tacos are smaller than I expected. It would be nice to see a vegan burrito on the menu.

Pros: Vegan options

Cons: Small portions




This page has been viewed 10541 times.