Lacto
Ovo
Beer/Wine
Mexican
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Mexican restaurant and tequila bar. Ask for the separate vegan menu. Open Mon-Thu 12:00-23:00, Fri-Sat 12:00-23:30, Sun 12:00-16:00, 17:00-22:00.


Venue map for Mestizo
漏 OpenStreetMap contributors

22 Reviews

First Review by beenie

Shanti2016

Points +599

Vegan
11 Sep 2023

Authentic Mexican worth a visit

A couple of reviews on here about a separate vegan menu, which they sadly don't offer anymore but vegan options are clearly marked. Personally, I'm not keen on having to read through non vegan options.
I think this is family run (and they have a Mexican food and gift shop next door if you want the full experience!)
Menu is simple - everything either is in a tortilla or taco shell.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-11

Pros: To be served by a vegan waitress, The food arrives very quick

Cons: Would prefer a vegan menu

Advertisement

Guy_Incognito

Points +267

Vegan
10 Jun 2023

Good food

Had the vegan enchiladas (red sauce) and they were absolutely delicious. Food is reasonably priced but the cocktails are not

zahraahmed

Points +533

Vegan
31 Jan 2023

Good food and vibe

Went for dinner. Had vegan enchiladas (green) , good food but nothing that special really #Veganuary

Pros: Good vegan options , Authentic, Good vibe

Cons: Nothing exceptional

Jenster

Points +796

Vegan
20 Oct 2021

Great restaurant

Excellent separate vegan menu. I had the cactus leaf salad followed by the marinated vegetables with beans, rice and corn tortillas. And a cocktail. Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely mid week treat.

Updated from previous review on 2021-10-20

路X路

Points +17199

Vegan
04 Sep 2021

Mestizo

If you are a North American missing authentic Mexican food, THIS IS YOUR PLACE!

Loads of vegan options are available whether clearly marked or not. They will adapt dishes to work for vegans. My favorite dish is the vegan enchiladas...but I always order these as a "divorce" because I can't seem to make up my mind between the red and green sauces, both are delish!

They also have a Mexican store next door that is INCREDIBLE. I stop by pretty regularly to pick up the orange and green salsas, which remind me of the same quality of the salsa bars from the Mission District in San Francisco (which is an area that inspired the Chipotle chain...).

5 STARS *****

BarbaraG.Baz

Points +1715

Vegan
03 Aug 2020

Amazing mexican food

Great vegan options. They have a vegan/ vegetarian menu, ask the staff for it and the owner and waiters are very accommodating to adapt food. Their shop is also amazing.

MagaliEledhwen

Points +1979

Vegan
15 Feb 2020

Amazing Mexican restaurant

Amazing Mexican food!
Ask for their vegan menu, plenty of vegan options available

SamanthaAnne

Points +20

Vegan
27 May 2019

Oh. My. Wow.

Absolutely the best Mexican meal I've EVER eaten. Those black beans... Unbelievable. And the mole... Out of this world. Oh goodness and the margaritas!!! The staff were so helpful, from helping me get my wheelchair into the restaurant (thank you so much Carlos) to serving us extra quickly as we had a train to catch. Completely wonderful from start to finish. I will return every time I am in London!

Pros: Delicious food. , Really helpful staff. , Gorgeous environment.

Cons: None.

beckylyk

Points +102

Vegan
01 Mar 2019

Authentic vegan Mexican

Love this place. Really good vegan menu with traditional Mexican classics like flautas, tamales, empanadas etc. Amazing cocktails too! Highly recommended.

mollyc235

Points +29

Vegetarian
31 Jul 2018

Mexican food in the UK

There are a tonne of vegetarian options (and a vegan menu as well, though I haven鈥檛 tried it). Their enchiladas, both with salsa roja and verde are very good. My vegetarian boyfriend ordered enchiladas with mole sauce and our waiter asked if he wanted to try a bit of the sauce before confirming the order since it鈥檚 not something he had ever heard of before (he loved it). The margaritas are great. The only drawback is the price. For the quality of the food it is worth it but still means that it鈥檚 not somewhere I could go regularly. It is also usually fairly busy so you should book in advance. But definitely the best Mexican food I have had in the UK

Pros: Many vegetarian and vegan options , Friendly staff , Great drinks

Cons: Expensive

xini

Points +40

Vegan
18 Feb 2018

Handy location

Very disappointing experience on a Thursday lunchtime. Decided to risk it as 90% of the reviews were so positive, but our experience was that of the other 10%. The food was completely flavourless - it was nothing more than overcooked (tasted like boiled) vegetables in green mush. That was the house speciality costing about 拢30 for two. The pickled jalapenos were the only thing that made it palatable. Oh and we had ordered the red sauce but they brought the green. We asked for lots & lots of lemon to go with the mineral water and they brought one slice of lime each. Whist we were waiting for our table we requested a look at the vegan menu and were quite rudely asked whether we had a table. After that the rudeness disappeared and the staff were friendly - but we would not have left a tip had the service charge not already been added to the bill. We did not say anything at the time because we only had a few hours to spend together and we didn't want it to be taken up with complaints. Sorry but I can not recommend this place.

Helly_bee

Points +36

Vegan
05 Feb 2018

Friendly casual restaurant with separate vegan menu

I was pleasantly surprised by this restaurant - I was looking for something near Euston that would be good for me and my two non-veg friends. The vegan menu is very extensive. I had some vegetable empanadas to start, which were gorgeous, and the soya tacos. Everything tasted very fresh. My friends were happy with their options too. Nice crowd pleaser, and not too expensive either!

Pros: Good sized portions, Great vegan menu with lots of options, Reasonable prices

Cons: None

jayhay23

Points +218

Vegan
22 Sep 2017

Lovely place that looks after vegans

Great authentic Mexican with regional specialties. They have a separate vegan menu and lots of stuff on the main menu can be veganised. Great Margheritas!

silven

Points +60

Vegan
25 Jul 2017

good mexican foods and drinks

Really nice atmosfer. A good place to good with your none vegan and family. Ask for the vegan menu and you enjoy this place alot :)

Pros: Lots of vegan options in the vegan menu

Cons: Mildly pricey

Greyskies

Points +243

Vegan
22 Jul 2016

Good range of choices for vegans

Nice restaurant with a separate menu for vegans which seemed to carry most of the options from the main menu but veganised.

Pros: Seemed like a lot of choice for vegans

Cons: Expensive

Jayneisastarr

Points +283

Vegan
07 Feb 2015

Excellent

Mestizo was simply excellent. Very good quality Mexican fare that makes the likes of Wahaca seem like Macdonalds by comparison. The separate vegan menu had plenty of options to choose from. The entrada and main I chose was delicious. The restaurant itself is vibrant bordering on noisy. Will definitely be going back again.

Pros: Vegan menu, Excellent quality food, Good service

Cons: Fairly noisy

pefff

Points +83

Vegan
03 Sep 2013

So good I went back the same week!

Went to Mestizo for a birthday party on the Saturday, returned on the Wednesday for more.
Great to see a separate vegan menu and the staff were willing to remove cheese or other non-vegan ingredients from other dishes on the normal menu. Very helpful staff and very attentive.

First time around I had the enchiladas de papa with rojas sauce. Delicious! A little spicy for me but the black beans and the rice really helped me with that!
Second time around I had the guacamole then the vegetables slow cooked in a banana leaf. DELICIOUS. We also had a cactus (!) salad on the side which they made vegan for me. Cactus is amazing tasting!

Very happy to be able to get hibiscus tea in London as well. All round a great experience and delicious food.

Pros: Delicious, Awesome staff, Authentic

MuK-UK

Points +262

Vegan
27 Jan 2013

Disappointing.

I was initially wary after spotting at least one dish on the 'vegan' menu that had sour cream listed as an ingredient. I ordered a mixed vegetable taco, and received a few large chunks of boiled vegtables on a tired soft corn taco, with a warm thin spicy tomato sauce on the side. I'm no great cook, but I would be embarrassed to serve this at home. To top it off, the staff added an extra item to our 3 item bill. Oh well.

Pros: Nice venue

Cons: Expensive, Staff speak limited English, Disappointing food

bencamps

Points +580

Vegan
17 Nov 2012

Viva Mexico

Visited on 12th November 2012. I had been looking forward to visiting Mestizo since finding out about the separate vegan menu. As it's a bit over my normal budget I had been waiting for a good excuse to go. My partners sister being in town gave me that excuse so we went with another friend last Monday night. Although the vegan menu is smallish it is very authentic and I've been missing decent Mexican food since I visited there earlier this year. I really wasn't disappointed, I had the Enchiladas De Papa with tomatillo sauce, it was great. The huge drinks menu impressed me, it was great to have a Negra Modello with the meal and a fine tequila afterwards. The staff were friendly and I can only guess that the last reviewer went on a super 'off' night or is really fussy? If you like Mexican food this is a great choice, especially if you are with non-vegan friends. My only criticism is that its a bit on the pricey side.

Pros: Seperate vegan menu!!, Authentic, Great drinks menu

Cons: Quite expensive

SojaEichhoernchen

Points +75

Vegan
27 Jun 2012

also for vegans

The restaurant has a vegan menu with a lot of vegan dishes.

Pros: vegan menu, beautiful location

Cons: serves meat , service rarely speaks english

kwanza

Points +293

Vegan
16 Apr 2012

Vegan menu available

Mestizo is a Mexican restaurant and bar, a short walk away from Euston, Euston Square, Warren Street and Mornington Crescent stations. It is a non-vegetarian restaurant which offers a fully vegan menu. The vegan menu is not advertised (I can't find any mention of it on their website) but the waiting staff are happy to oblige.

Wide variety of starters (拢4-7), soups and salads (拢5-8), and main courses such as enchiladas (拢9-13). Sorbet available for dessert (拢3.50). Most of the vegan items seem to be the vegetarian items from the full menu minus cheese/soured cream, but it's still nice to be thought of.

I particularly enjoyed the taco nopales (tortillas topped with pickled cactus leaf). My non-vegetarian girlfriend had a fully vegan dinner and enjoyed everything she ate, which is a good sign!

The drinks menu is extensive with lots of cocktails.

Pros: lots of vegan items, good food, extensive drinks menu

Cons: serves meat, may need to reserve

beenie

Points +131

Vegan
08 Aug 2011

vegan menu !

We discovered Mestizo when my brother fancied a Mexican restaurant for his birthday. Bit of a funny location as there's not much around it but the restaurant itself is pretty nice. I wasn't overwhelmed by the two veg options on the menu but when I asked if they could make anything vegan they whipped out a vegan menu ! With three or four starters and as many mains there was enough to choose from. Unfortunately they only do burritos at lunch but the enchiladas I got were really good and everyone else was happy too. The service was friendly and attentive so all in all I recommend this if you've got some carnivores in tow ! It ain't cheap but not ridiculously expensive either. Oh and they've got a large margarita menu too...

Pros: freindly staff, good food, large drinks menu

Cons: odd location, serves meat




This page has been viewed 6175 times.