• Mesob

  • (13)
    8
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Take-out
African, Ethiopian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Ethiopian restaurant with labeled vegan options and other options that can be made vegan upon request. Open Tue-Sun 5:30pm-10:00pm. Closed Mon.


Venue map for Mesob
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by Mellywelly

alexandradewinter

Points +64

Vegan
07 Nov 2023

Injera

We had the herbivore platter, the little curries speckled around were so good. The rolled up injera was delicious and worked well but the one underneath the food got a bit soggy and wasn't as much fun but it was great.

Pros: Food, Service

Cons: Very busy and noisy

Advertisement

hydomel

Points +338

Vegan
23 Aug 2023

Filling and healthy herbivore platter

Lovely staff who accommodated us without a booking. Food was fresh and healthy, which is exactly what I felt like. It would have been great to see some vegan Ethiopian cocktails on the menu!

StephF

Points +38

Vegan
16 Jul 2023

Great value

Large selection of vegan options. I had the herbivore share platter with a friend and asked if it could be made vegan, which it was (I believe only one of the vegetarian options wasn’t vegan, the rest were). Vegan wines clearly labelled on the wine list. A lot of delicious food for a very reasonable price.

Pros: Variety, Value for money, Lovely wait staff

jazzy.g

Points +368

Vegan
13 May 2023

Lovely!

Had a great experience! The waitress explained the dishes and the traditional way to eat them. Lovely food too!

Updated from previous review on 2020-11-14

Pros: Friendly and knowledgeable staff, Good GF option

Jessie_H

Points +205

Vegan
26 Apr 2023

Amazing!!!

Oh man, that herbivore platter is divine. Huge serving for two people, with all 7 vegan fillings added to it. Absolutely recommend ordering that! Lovely vibe, decor and friendly service. Mesob doesn't get 5 stars as not vegan, however the vegan food itself definitely gets 5 stars!

maemaea

Points +95

Vegan
26 Jun 2020

Traditional food was nice

I was really excited for this place and the traditional Ethiopian food was delicious and awesome to try!

But our entree was raw capsicum with onion in the middle, on top of a mixed lettuce salad that looked like it was from the packet.

We also got the 3 dips that were nice with the traditional bread toasted as crackers, but when I walked past the kitchen I saw a Coles dip container - this was really disappointing as I wanted to believe the dips were homemade.

The traditional food was really tasty and a great experience, but they really need to redesign their entrees. The both we had we could have made at home.

I don’t want to say not to try it as I believe the mains deserve a go, but steer clear of the entrees to avoid disappointment.

Pros: Traditional food was delicious, Nice atmosphere

Cons: Entrees extremely disappointing

Nicked

Points +35

Vegan
11 Aug 2019

Delicious

Lovely, dimly lit, cosy restaurant. We shared the herbivore platter. Was plenty of food for us and we went in very hungry. They have a great selection of vegan wines. It was very busy but food came quickly. We booked a table that morning. A little squishy on space.

Pros: Tasty food, Cosy

Cons: Little pricey

hungryvegan23

Points +730

Vegan
29 Jun 2019

Love this place!

Love the vegetarian/vegan banquet here - reliably delicious every time! Plus really lovely staff :)

backtoback

Points +291

Vegan
21 Dec 2018

Lovely Ethiopian food

We had the plater to share and the food was delicious. Great flavours and yummy injera!

Eden11

Points +40

Vegan
19 Jul 2018

Underwhelming

My partner and I were excited to try this place out but were very disappointed. The food was not good, potatoes were not cooked properly and some bits were raw. The injera was also very doughy. It was a real shame as we had high hopes for this restaurant.

NinjaRamenGirl

Points +81

Vegetarian
25 Jun 2018

Delicious, huge serves

I never leave hungry & the food is excellent. Lovely service. Get the banquet!

Pros: Full veggie banquet , Great booze menu, Great for sharing

Cons: So much food! Takeaway what you don’t eat!

Oliveaolive

Points +32

Vegan
25 May 2018

Best food in Northcote

This place deserves 5 stars! The staff are super friendly, the atmosphere is great and the food is always very delicious. You have to book as they're often full, but it is definitely worth it. I recommend the herbivore banquet so you can try a little bit of everything.

Mellywelly

Points +484

Vegan
15 Apr 2018

AMAZE

My new fave Ethiopian place in Melb. My favourite cuisine and went to this restaurant as was in the area and much much nicer! Also amazingly nice and friendly staff. Went on a Tuesday night and was chockers - be prepared to wait for a table! But worth the wait




This page has been viewed 3324 times.