Vegan
Pizza
Organic
Beer/Wine
Middle Eastern
Gluten-free
Breakfast
Israeli

Sit-down restaurant offering an organic vegan menu, in Hebrew and English, with gluten-free options marked. Sample dishes such as big breakfast, pancakes, vegan pizza, Indian thali, roasted cauliflower salad, green smoothie, and strawberry crumble dessert. Sit in the main room, the bar area, or at the back patio. Reservation is advised for Friday evening and Saturday. On Sunday evening there's a fixed price vegan menu. Est. 2013 and became fully vegan since 2018. Open Mon-Thu 6:00pm-11:00pm, Fri 12:00pm-12:00am, Sat 12:00pm-11:00pm, Sun 6:00pm-11:00pm.


Venue map for Meshek Barzilay
© OpenStreetMap contributors

106 Reviews

First Review by Epstein

bee83

Points +88

Non Veg
01 Oct 2023

Amazing vegan gem

Loved the outdoor vibe, variety of food, great seasonal menu. We had the pumpkin sashimi Appetizer that came Roth piping hot delicious bread, the herb salad, spiraliser and lemon aqua fava desert, delicious!

Advertisement

Clemonahuis

Points +33

Vegan
01 Oct 2023

Delicious food in relaxed environment

the menu has a great variety of dishes, all are genuinely vegan creations and not just vegan version of ‘normally’ non vegan dishes. the dishes are tasty, very well thought through and in general generous portions. the staff was super helpful, and despite it having been busy the service was fast and spot on. one of the best vegan restaurants we’ve been to.

Pros: great tasting dishes, fast & knowledgable service, relaxed environment

Cons: none

RachelEfrat92

Points +18

Vegan
07 Aug 2023

Casual healthy food

There is a menu you can order from or a bar with different hot foods and salads. I got a big plate for 60 shekels and it was fantastic. Had a mix of dishes and salads, super healthy and very filling. Good value! Lovely staff, will definitely be back! Highly recommend for something casual with healthy options available.

Pros: Healthy options, Casual

nomgerdev

Points +20

Vegan
02 Aug 2023

Special

It was really tasty very recommend there are a lot of special things a little bit expensive

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-02

Pros: Food

Cons: Little expensive

Caleexcoo

Points +72

Vegan
03 Jul 2023

Delicious vegan food

One of the best finds in Tel Aviv, food is delicious, service is really good.

BrianDove

Points +214

Vegan
10 Jun 2023

Excellent Flavor Combination

The food is excellent with generous portions. I tried to save room for dessert, but an appetizer and a pizza was very filling. For a tourist, the location is a bit out of the way, but totally worth the walk.

Pros: Flavor Combinations, Generous Portions

Cons: A bit expensive (but worth it)

plantdude

Points +192

Vegan
03 Jun 2023

Wholesome prep, excellent quality

Meshek seems to re-invent itself every couple of years, and the current version is excellent. The atmosphere is “relaxed cozy”, the service is timely, food prep is excellent, and food quality is good.

It’s worth the trip for the pumpkin seed bacon alone.

Pros: Nice atmosphere, Good choices, Strong prep

Cons: Portion size can be a bit small, Desert selection and quality is weak

Leah_Rzn

Points +6528

Vegan
19 May 2023

Worth a visit

Update:
Visited again in May 2023.
Service still could be friendlier but the food was really good. Highly recommend to get cheese platter with homemade brie. Lemon aquafaba dessert was definitely something new and interesting to try.
Will visit again!
===========
Nice restaurant
The service was a bit unfriendly but the food was ok. We took a mushroom dish and a lasagna — can’t say I was amazed by flavor but it was tasty overall. But honestly it didn’t feel 40% tastier yet was 40% more expensive than vegan food in most of the local restaurants.
Definitely won’t become my favorite restaurant but worth a visit anyway.
Little tip: if you order here you get a 10% discount for order in Meshek Barzilay Deli located next door.

Updated from previous review on 2020-08-01

Pros: 100% vegan , Food is ok, Nice design

Cons: Pricey , Service , Food is ok and not better than that

marrymps

Points +70

Vegan
19 May 2023

One of the best, ever..

So, after having lunch here in 2019 (which was good), we returned here for dinner. I don't know about any staff changes, but they sure levelled up, foodwise! Our waitress definitely knew how to sway guests, a rare art nowadays, and even gave us shots and tea (not at the same time) on the house. We had four starters, each worth 5 stars, especially the grilled lionsmane. We had 2 in betweens, excellent salads (tip: add the seared tempeh to the caesar salad).
The veggieburger was partially made of 'redefine meat', an Israeli company that prints plantbased meat, giving it a real meatlike texture. Great flavors. The beet tortellini took a little getting used to, but what a great sauce that comes with it.
We concluded our experience with homemade (cashew)labneh semifreddo and the lemon cream aquafaba merengue, which took our tastebuds to vegan dessert heaven.
When in Tel Aviv, be sure to add this experience on the to-do-list, you will not regret it..

Pros: Next level vegan cooking, Unique flavor combinations, Perfect portions, extra plates to share everything

Cons: None

AviaF

Points +75

Vegan
05 May 2023

Innovative and delicious food

Best vegan restaurant in Tel Aviv. The cheese plate was mind blowing.

viennese.vegan

Points +18

Vegan
11 Apr 2023

Gesund & viel

Nettes Personal. Gute Auswahl an warmen Speisen, Salaten & Desserts. In einer ruhigen Straße, wo man draußen sitzen kann. Essen ist eher gesund, aber sehr lecker. Selten so gute Salate gegessen

Pros: Alles vegan, Große Portionen , Top Preis-Leistungsverhältnis

rosaemmchen

Points +625

Vegan
21 Mar 2023

Sehr gut

Sehr leckeres Essen, eher höhere Preise
Nicht unbedingt besonders

ronitw

Points +675

Vegan
17 Mar 2023

Great Dinner

This restaurant was recommended by two friends. A reservation is recommended.
We shared the gnocchi and a Caesar salad. Both were wonderful!

Pros: Great vegan food

888shmone

Points +36

Vegan
13 Mar 2023

Favorite restaurant in TLV

Amazing restaurant!!! I have a lot to say.
For a long time I only knew about the cafe part with the hot food and salad cafeteria-style situation. I go on Saturdays with my boyfriend and we get a plate of hot food and they really let you pack as much as possible on the plate. For like 50 shekels total we both end up stuffed!!
The WOLT menu is also from the cafe and Meshek is my favorite place to Wolt from bc the packaging is really amazing.
Finally went to the actual restaurant and it was also delicious and honestly pretty big portions as far as vegan restaurants go in TLV. The only complaint is the cheese-to-cracker ratio on the cheeseboard.. how is anyone supposed to eat that much cheese with like 2 crackers????? But now I’m just nit-picking. Best vegan restaurant in TLV!!

Try the ceviche!!

monicalarsen01

Points +134

Vegan
10 Jan 2023

Amazing

Wish I was staying longer in Tel Aviv to try everything on the menu. The avocado, beet ravioli, and bread were delicious. The atmosphere is intimate and warm.

Libra77

Points +2799

Vegan
09 Jan 2023

Meshek Barzilay

Treated myself to lunch here for my last meal in the city and was not disappointed. I love everything about this place. The venue is lovely, the food is something special and the ambience really warm and welcoming. I had the cheeseboard and the tiramisu, both were delicious. Staff were really attentive and the service is spot on. The prices here are high, but not unfairly so for the quality of the food and it is an upmarket venue.

NickSchaferMedia

Points +239

Vegan
23 Dec 2022

Excellent vegan food and GF options

This place was absolutely incredible! My partner and I had the curry dosa and the risotto and both were a blast to the tastebuds. My mother in law had the pesto gnocchi and our friends had the soup and the lions main mushroom special. The portion sizes were not huge but not small either, I'd say they were perfect for a meal and we didn't feel stuffed or hungry afterword's. The atmosphere of this place is also super cute and romantic and is the perfect place for a date night. I would 100% recommend this place to anyone, vegan or not who is looking for a great place to eat.

Pros: Fully vegan, Romantic and cute atmosphere, Great location

Cons: A little pricy but worth it

DTS

Points +784

Vegan
21 Dec 2022

Wonderful place!!

I loved the food and the service was excellent. We had a cheese platter, black bean pate, and a lovely cocktail (gin and thyme based), Dosa was out of this world.

Updated from previous review on 2022-12-21

Pros: Beautiful presentation , Nice atmosphere , Friendly servers

NathalieLugo

Points +227

Vegan
03 Dec 2022

Marvelous

Really good food, gluten free options, healthy, big portions, nice place and nice staff

Pros: Healthy, Delicious, Gluten free

JasonMarks

Points +85

Vegan
13 Nov 2022

Amazing (almost) hidden gem

My wife and I had spent the week at a top rated 5 star resort and to our surprise this place (I made a reservation from the US) surpassed the food of the prior week in quality, creativity and taste. I almost never get the vegan burger, but it came highly recommended by our server. I have no idea what what use to make it but it was fantastic. The beet based bun was also terrific. My wife had the gnocchi and should could not stop raving about it. The cheeses made me question multiple times if they were in fact vegan. The pepper and eggplant terrine was amazing I was really a wonderful surprise and fantastic meal (at not a ridiculous price at US comparisons). We had another great experience earlier in the week at a top local vegan restaurant and I think this one was even better.

Pros: All vegan , Relaxed and nice vibe, Good service

Cons: Too many options to choose from

srf

Points +291

Vegan
22 Oct 2022

Good not great

Really nice atmosphere, and food was pretty good. We shared 2 starters and 2 entrees. The starters were great (highly recommend the Caesar salad, and we also had the pumpkin sashimi special), but the entrees (mushroom risotto and beet tortellini) were just OK. Nice outdoor atmosphere and good cocktails.

Michal.Rapoport

Points +26

Vegan
21 Oct 2022

Amazing

Excellent food, would recommend

Pros: All vegan!!, Lovely view, Lots of plants

ShelA

Points +475

Vegan
28 Aug 2022

Definitely one to eat at

Food was delicious, and the variety of options was good. The location tucked in a lane way amongst the greenery was lovely.
The food was amazing, it would have been good if a few more of their dishes were offered in two sizes, for those wanting to indulge in both a main and a desert.
The service was very inattentive, for the price tag.

Pros: Variety of dishes, Location, Ambiance

Cons: Service not very attentive

Mika1975

Points +231

Vegan
20 Aug 2022

Great restaurant!!

I took my omnivore family and they loved the food, as did we vegans.

Pros: Creative , Delicious , Great atmosphere

IgalCohen

Points +22

Vegan
13 Aug 2022

מספר אחת

המסעדה מספר אחת בתחום בלי תחרות. מנות מדהימות טעימות ומגוונות. חוזר לשם לפחות פעם ב-3 חודשים.

BerniceFleischKeren

Points +26

Vegan
03 Aug 2022

Creative menu

The dishes were presented beautifully, the service was great, loved the ambiance.

LisaKathrin

Points +144

Vegan
17 Jul 2022

Delicious

Very friendly staff, nice seating, something for every taste. We tried the faux meat and the gnocchis after we had the incredible cheese starter.
Portions are quiet big. Also the mousse au chocolate was very good.
Deli next door where you can buy some of the self made products.

Pros: Something for everyone , Cheese plate




This page has been viewed 22592 times.